We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax and enjoy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and enjoy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We visited this property with another couple. The guys spent the days golfing, the girls spent the days at the spa. We all had a fantastic time. The hotel is very relaxed and accommodating. There are lots of golf courses nearby. There are also lots of good restaurants nearby. But the food at the hotel is outstanding.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ddarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    229
    89
    40
    16
See reviews for
201
726
68
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I met a girlfriend at the Royal Palms for a short weekend reunion. It was a great place to relax and catch up without our kids or husbands to look after. The facilities are beautiful and the weather was fabulous. We enjoyed the spa steam room, hot tubs, massages & lounges as well as the outdoor pool. Sunday brunch was excellent. The dinner was a bit over rated but it was great that we didn't have to leave the property. Definitely hike up Camelback summit early in the morning if you want a challenge and gorgeous view!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I started staying at this property in 2008, and visited 5-6 times over the last 5 years. While it remains a beautiful and intimate property, Oh, don't I miss the old luxuries they used to have - fruits in the room, spa quality bathroom amenities (directly from the spa on premise), relaxing music upon arrival, French press coffee maker...
But that was then, and most of the hospitality business in AZ fell on hard times since 2008 and there has to be some compromises. The big issue with my recent stay was that I was given a downstairs room, and the foot steps upstairs were unbearable. The second day, I was accomodated with a second floor room, and got to fully appreciate the foot step noise. The floor under the carpet was so frail that any weight would generate cracking sound, even if you tiptoe around it. So unless you get a second floor room, you are truly at the mercy of your neighbor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmw245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear of your concerns and have reviewed your comments with our management team. We are committed to ensuring you have an exceptional experience the next time you visit. As a valued guest, we would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in more detail. Please feel free to contact our Manager on Duty and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I needed to escape the frigid Colorado weather and only had four days. I wanted peace and quiet, no kids, warm weather, beautiful scenery, a unique room, good food and a flight that was less than two hours away. Royal Palms fit the bill perfectly. My spa room on the second floor had a great view of Camelback mountain, the pool had plenty of seating, the whole resort was extremely quiet, at night, the court yards are lit up with colors from the colored fountains and fire pits, the orange grove offered some great photo opportunities, and I was just very impressed. The food was awesome and healthy. The resort lost a star because, for the price, little things were ignored: it appeared the sofa cover and pillows in my room on the day bed had not been cleaned in a year; little things were ignored making the resort seem old--the book in the room with the amenities had not been replaced in a very long time and all the tabs were bent and the pages were dirty. Even though the rooms are expensive and it is the desert, not even one free bottle of water is provided. Having said that, I will definitely go back when they have special pricing.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist because he helped me. Some rooms are better for couples and some are better fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Erin,

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Royal Palms and found your stay be very relaxing. Our Spa Suites are a perfect choice for a quiet, luxurious room with breathtaking views of Camelback Mountain. Thank you for your candid feedback about the small details in your room. We have already fixed all issues that you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Friends had come in from Atlanta and we wanted to have a cocktail before going to another restaurant off property. Walked into the bar and my friend ordered an American Mule. Everyone has heard of a Moscow Mule but the cup that it's served in is unique. Her drink comes and it's in a glass tumbler? I said where's the mug and I was told that if I gave a credit card they would put it in the MUG. What? The drink was $15@ and there were 6 of us and we were insulted that they would think that we'd even want to steal it. We will never go back. Really tacky for such a upscale place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maga48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We re-opened the Mix Up Bar in September 2014 and since then have received nothing but amazing feedback. I am very surprised to read your post and truly apologize for the miscommunication from our staff. We do not have a policy in place that you will receive a mug if you provide a credit card. Again, I am sorry for the confusion and would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you in more detail. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Spent two wonderful nights in the resort with a large group of academic physicians. Service, food, and facilities were excellent. Spacious well-equipped room with every amenity. Many very experienced(and demanding) travelers in this group. Overwhelming sentiment to return there in 3 years when the meeting cycle calls for a location in the Southwest.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ray g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Did not arrive yet (1/7/2014) but surprised to receive an email from the Hotel prior to my arrival stating that on top of the $600/night room charge they plan on charging us $15/night to park our car!!!!! When will these places learn? Charge what you want to get for your rooms...stop this nickle and dime stuff. Just pisses people off.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
24 Thank Matrixinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We are truly sorry you felt this way. Our resort, along with many resorts in the area, is limited in the parking spaces available. We consistently notify our guests about the small parking fee at the time of booking. We hope that you were able to enjoy your time at our beautiful property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing