We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spring Training”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is one of our favorite vacation properties anywhere. Stayed in a Valencia Casita this time. Kept the French doors to our patio open most of the time looking out at the intimate lawn & orange grove area with Camelback mountain just over the adobe wall. Loved the ambiance of the property and the sweet smell of orange blossoms in the air. Excellent Spa. Very relaxing and enticing pool area. My wife and I wandered throughout the enchanting property everyday and every night. T. Cook's new chef and menu upgrade are another big plus. Mona Mellegard, the Concierge, is awesome; she always makes us feel at home and she is extremely knowledgable and well-connected in the Valley of the Sun. The entire staff is always gracious and eager to accomodate. Hated to leave, but already looking forward to our next stay at Royal Palms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    233
    91
    44
    17
See reviews for
202
735
69
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Perfect size hotel, with world class service, food, rooms, and atmosphere. All the staff is happy and so helpful. It is by far the best in Phoenix , and is our favorite among all hotels in the US. The designer casitas are wonderful, and the spa is world class. New menu is a step forward for T. Cooks Resturant .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Richard,
Thank you for your review! As a longstanding repeat guest of Royal Palms, we are so happy that you consistently have an exceptional experience at our property. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the new menu at T.Cook's - I will be sure to share your comments with Chef Paul McCabe! Thank you again and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Booked at the last minute on Valentine's weekend so we probably took one of the very last rooms which was located in the center of the property and had walkways on three sides so it did not feel very private. It was adequate. The restaurant served an excellent meal on Valentine's Day. Spa was relaxing and had nice facilities for shower and outdoor hot tub. My husband left a day before me so as a single woman I did not like the property as much. It is located on a busy road with limited running and walking areas nearby that felt safe to me. If you want walking and running trails, you would be happier up the road at the large resort nearby. The fitness facility at Royal Palms felt very small and crammed into a lower level room as if it is an afterthought rather than a feature which is a bit surprising for a "resort." One comment I made to the front desk is that this hotel does not have the door latches that latch from the inside so if you are in the room, you can secure the door. Twice I have stayed at hotels where if my door had not been latched from the inside, someone attempted to open the door and would have been able to enter. As a woman travelling alone, I absolutely feel that every hotel should offer this feature. I mentioned it to the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room removed from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Familytraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the Old World charm of Royal Palms. As you mentioned, Alvadora Spa is a relaxing retreat for our guests and we recently added a second floor to the fitness center so be sure to visit when you return. We also have walking trails throughout the Arcadia neighborhood and up to Camelback Mountain. Walking maps are available at our concierge desk and they are happy to assist in recommending additional walking areas. Also, the guest room doors do have a privacy lock which prohibits anyone from the outside to enter the room if secured. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact the Manager on Duty. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and stayed in the designer casitas for 4 nights. This was well worth the extra cost. The personal service from the valet to the pool service was top notch. We are in our mid 40s and the crowd was mixed adults. Mostly 30-70 in age. No kids during our stay as other hotels would be better choices but I'm sure they would be welcome. T. Cooks for dinner was good too. Hated going back to Midwest snow.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosierfamily05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent three nights there in March. Concierge Mona was very helpful and we appreciated the cocktail reception organized for the leisure guests by Greg Miller. The pool is blissful and quiet and there is excellent pool side service. Indeed, the service was excellent overall. We stayed in a Montavista room which was very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This small historic property is an oasis in Phoenix! The grounds are breathtakingly gorgeous and the scent of orange flower is all over and so pleasant! T.Cooks restaurant is fabulous - the Lamb and Beet salad a must! Brian the "mixologist" is so talented in making you your own signature cocktail - a visit with him will change your pallet! My favorite in Phoenix for sure!

Green Features: Yes they have in place destination earth it is a very good program
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Lynn,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We do like to think of our property as an "Oasis in the Desert"! We will pass along your kind comments to Brian in the Mix Up Bar and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a beautiful manicured property with outstanding staff.
Special attention to details, gorgeous suite complete with a kiva.
Meals at T. Cook's simply an experience you must not miss!
Being resort owners ourselves this was special treat!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing