We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“I loved it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just beautiful!!! The entire property is very well taken care of and there is so much attention to detail. The service was great all around. It is a bit pricey, but you get the high end service and ambiance. I loved the Mix Up bar it was a great place to lounge with friends and the pool area was amazing. I highly recommend staying here!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    227
    88
    40
    16
See reviews for
200
723
68
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peaslake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Even with a crop of reviews like Royal Palms on TripAdvisor, entrusting a hotel with your invaluable holiday time is a big decision. Royal Palms delivered on every score.
The hotel is very well designed so that users wanting different things from it are well segregated. For example, you don't want to wander into a group of earnest conference delegates in your swimsuit and flip-flops and you don't; you might want peace and quiet outside during the day and you can find a lovely place to sit around the site away from the pool, even when the hotel is full as it was for most of our stay. The rooms are separate from the pool, many overlooking a separate spa pool complete with open fires in the 'winter'.
The pool is a bit crammed but the staff there are brilliant, keeping everyone topped up with iced water and bringing the margaritas with a great sense of humour. I've reviewed T Cook's, the main restaurant separately. Even for a committed foodie like me, it is great and there are many good alternative places to eat within a short cab ride of the hotel. It's on a major road but apart from the swish of cars audible from the pool and the occasional siren, it is not an issue. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms are very different sizes - check with the excellent reservations people what size you're g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radiocrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

There was some confusion during the check in process. We arrived in Phoenix later than expected the night before and checked into another hotel close to the airport.We realized the next morning that our reservation was for the previous night. I called the hotel front desk to ask what time check in was. They were very nice and told me that I could check my bags and that check in was at 4 but they would try to get me into my room sooner. I then received an email telling me my reservation was cancelled for the rest of the weekend. I then called the reservations number and was informed that my reservation was cancelled because we did not show up the previous night.I told them I was there for a destination wedding at their hotel and I had just talked with the front desk and they confirmed my reservation for arrival that day. The reservations person told me there was miscommunication with the front desk and that they were sold out. I told them I understood I would have to pay for the previous night's stay regardless but where was I supposed to stay for the wedding I was attending. She asked me to hold and then told me my reservation was reconfirmed. She said I could go to the hotel anytime to check in since it was the morning and I had paid for the previous night. I then went to the hotel. The very pleasant front desk personnel told me that there were no rooms ready and that I would have to wait until the 4 pm check in time.I told her that reservations had just told me to go over to the resort and I could check in right away since I had already paid for the previous night. At that point I told then that I would like the manager to call me .They assured me the manager would call me when my room was ready.I then waited a couple hours and the went back to the front desk. They then told me my room was ready. I asked once again for the manager to call me . Finally after checking in, I was brought to the room. The room and resort were gorgeous. The bar was a fun place to unwind with live music.The wedding was a perfect place for a destination wedding. The service was outstanding, food excellent and outdoor grounds beautiful.The spa is top notch. I checked out with the same friendly front desk person that greeted me initially. I told her that the manager never called me. She apologized. I think this situation was handled poorly.

Room Tip: upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minneapolisgal0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your time at the wedding on property and please accept my sincere apology for the challenges you experienced prior to checking in. I have reviewed your comments with our front desk and reservations teams and feel appropriate actions have been taken to avoid recurrence. I have also reached out to you personally and look forward to speaking with you in more detail. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had a fantastic three day stay at the Royal Palms - one of the finest boutique properties we have stayed at around the world. We definitely loved the staff, the F&B and the facility and will definitely be staying at the Royal Palms again in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be excellent - ours was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimJim1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Picture beautiful fragrant flowers, towering palm trees, lush foliage and lovely water features set to a backdrop of rocky hardscape and blue sky and you are imagining Royal Palms Hotel in Scottsdale.

This Spanish mission style hacienda built in the 1920's is perfect in every detail. The casita's are private and quiet, with a gas fireplace for those romantic nights, while the pool invites you with its cool water and bar/ lounge area.
The on site restaurant T Cook is great. The bar has a wonderful wine list, And you can always find a place to relax that is private and comfortable on the lovely grounds. Service is top notch! Very attentive staff commiserate with the top star rating given.
The vibe is very laid back. You will be too as soon as you enter through the wood doors of the Royal Palms Resort and Spa!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpn7330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Amazing staff, beautiful rooms. This would be a five star review if the pool area was not so inadequate. Scrounging for pool chairs in 80 degree weather is not my idea of a luxury resort experience. I understand there was literally a fist fight over a lounger a few weeks ago. Am I really supposed to go all Mortal Kombat on my luxury vacation in order to get a seat at the pool? The worst part is that the management is fully cognizant of the problem and steadfastly refuses to do anything about it. There are easy landscaping fixes that could be made and also plenty of room in the resort for an adults only pool which would be a great improvement as I sit here listening to two screaming children. God bless them but we are here for a romantic getaway. This problem is made even worse now that the day spa patrons are able to use the pool as well. Remind me again.....why did I spend all of this money to stay at a "luxury" resort?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our dedicated staff and luxurious guestrooms. We are very sorry that you had challenges at the resort’s pool. Please know that we do not have any reports of aggressive behavior taking place on property, nor do we tolerate it. As we are a boutique property, we do offer an intimate pool area with outstanding service provided through the Cabana Café. We will certainly review your invaluable comments to see what possible changes can be made. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is one of our favorite vacation properties anywhere. Stayed in a Valencia Casita this time. Kept the French doors to our patio open most of the time looking out at the intimate lawn & orange grove area with Camelback mountain just over the adobe wall. Loved the ambiance of the property and the sweet smell of orange blossoms in the air. Excellent Spa. Very relaxing and enticing pool area. My wife and I wandered throughout the enchanting property everyday and every night. T. Cook's new chef and menu upgrade are another big plus. Mona Mellegard, the Concierge, is awesome; she always makes us feel at home and she is extremely knowledgable and well-connected in the Valley of the Sun. The entire staff is always gracious and eager to accomodate. Hated to leave, but already looking forward to our next stay at Royal Palms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing