We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Royal Palms.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is the fifth year my now husband and I have stayed at the Royal Palms. We come from the east coast and love hiking and enjoying the Sonoran desert. We were not disappointed this year as the resort was beautiful, staff was diligent, kind and on top of things. We had not eaten in Tcooks the last few years for dinner (breakfast and lunch but not dinner) because we were not thrilled with it and I was nervous about the renovation after reading a few reviews. We decided to give it another try and we were really impressed. The food was good, the service excellent and we really liked the improvements/ updates (primarily cosmetic) the the mix up bar and the interior of the restaurant.

Also, in the past we always stayed in the montavista terraces and this time decided to try a casita. I went with the new renovated casitas on the side the pool is located. Again, I was nervous as we always loved our view of camelback from the terrace room and I had read negative reviews of the casitas. I called a week prior asking for as much of a view as possible and then when we arrived (in the morning) I again said that we would rather wait poolside for a room with a nice open terrace/ balcony than take something earlier. There was one available (early) but she understood my wants and decided it was better for us to wait.

We enjoyed the morning and early afternoon at the pool and received our room about 2:30pm (still ahead of official check-in). The room was lovely with a fireplace, better lay out (we thought) than Montavista terrace) and renovated bathroom etc. The patio out the French doors was lovely but faced away from camelback. I called and asked about a change (even for the next day) however, I realized the room we were in was really nice and we opted very happily to stay. We enjoyed the patio immensely and the room. We hike everyday and eat at restaurants with views so we didn't feel "short changed". We enjoyed each day at the pool and I had the best massage of my life at the spa (a woman from Romania- Natalie? can't remember) She was truly exceptional and I am hoping they have her name in my records for when I visit next year!

We go for a week and the times just slips by wonderfully but WAY to quickly-- until next year Royal Palms!

Room Tip: One note about the rooms: I have overheard or talked directly myself to quite a few guests who get u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you're looking for somewhere with that personal touch, this is it. Everything you could want is there: sunshine, pools, a spa, a great restaurant and gorgeous grounds of lush vegetation. The scenery is so relaxing you may just want to sit outside your casita and read a book. Apart from the accommodations, the hotel is centrally located to Phoenix & Scottsdale.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, but let your pocketbook be your guide. Winter prices are much higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucketlistcountdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very nice boutique hotel, great spa. However, I was very disappointed in my experience with the pool. Had one day to spend there (less than 24 hours). Wanted to lounge at pool, had two spa services booked (500.00). Got a place at pool at 10:30 am, hung out until spa appt at noon, tool spa associate to let pool manager know i would be back in one hour. Regardless, came back to my pool area, my book and tote back were gone, someone else in my lounge chair. My belongings were just thrown on a cart in food service. Got them back and got a new chair at pool, but I have never been treated this way at any hotel (including high end four seasons, pennisula, ritz and even lower end!). I spend 1000.00 there for less than 24 hour stay and this was my how the hotel thanked me. It just put a negative spin on my stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the resort and Alvadora Spa. We are extremely disappointed and sorry to read about your experience at the pool. This certainly does not sound like the standards we maintain and we have already followed up with the pool staff to avoid recurrence for the future. Please feel free to contact the manager on duty if you would like to discuss further. Otherwise, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This place is off the charts spectacular..
The entire staff, the setting, the feel, it's all there.
Close to everything either way you want to go on Camelback.
Phoenix friends told me 'that's where the Presidents stay when they come to town..'

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bivo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our week long stay at the Royal Palms Resort and Spa. We booked the Valencia suite for the week, which was spacious, included a private outside seating patio, fire place, and modern bathroom. The staff were excellent (especially the Valet staff) and very welcoming. Staying there was like staying in paradise with romantic nooks, beautiful greenery, and a feeling throughout of peace and tranquility. We used the pool area several times and found the staff very attentive, the pool was clean and kept at around 75/ 80 degrees and a hot tub for use. Guest could also use the spa facilities such as the steam room which my husband enjoyed. TD Cooks was wonderful for breakfast but the one time we tried to go for dinner we were denied because it was completely booked. I would recommend making recommendations ahead of time. The location was perfect and close to many interesting activities in Phoenix. We found the spa good but not the best in the area. My only complaint is that the maid staff sometimes faced the shower head pointed towards the shower door, so a few times we got an unexpected spray of cold water in our face when we turned the shower on! On a whole I would highly recommend this property especially if you're on a romantic vacation. Oh! The concierge was also excellent and if you want deals on golf courses book through her!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We are delighted that you had a romantic getaway and babymoon. Congratulations! Thank you for your feedback about the shower placement when cleaned. We have passed along your comments to our housekeeping team to avoid this for the future. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I spent a long weekend here to rejuvenate after a grueling three months of work. The Royal Palms delivered on all points. The room was lovely, the pool was refreshing, the service was spot on, the landscaping is the finest I've ever seen, and the staff is very accommodating. T. Cook's, the restaurant on site, has a condensed but wonderful menu. There is a full-service spa there, too, for those guests who enjoy massages and facials. Don't miss the bar which has been recently remodeled. I can't wait to return next year.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you were able to simply relax and unwind at Royal Palms. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I loved every minute of our stay here. The resort is situated in a fabulous location, the buildings and gardens are just magnificent and very well maintained, my room was gorgeous with a balcony overlooking a pool and the bed was so comfortable I felt I was floating on a cloud! I did not want to go anywhere else for the three days we were here because it was such a delightful place to be. So relaxing and so beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisP06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,749 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £224 - £616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing