We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
480 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Charming and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I just spent 3 days there with my wife and I must admit the resort is absolutely magnificent. All elements we wanted were there for a romantic getaway. The room was well appointed, quiet and comfortable. The resort was stunningly beautiful, with flowers everywhere. The service was attentive, discreet and courteous. As perfect example of the great service was at the pool, where the staff would change the towels for you and ensure you had cleanly made chairs. As for the food, excellent, as expected in a high-end resort. What was somewhat surprising is that the food and wine price was quite reasonable, again for a 5* resort.

Finally, the resort is very well located, 5 minutes by car from Old Scottsdale and right by the Camel Back mountain, which is a great place for a hike if you want a beautiful view of the city (note: this is a tough hike, especially in the summer).

Room Tip: From what I saw, all rooms are pretty quiet. Most of them (if not all) are like private villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    229
    89
    40
    16
See reviews for
201
726
68
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a great long weekend we had at Royal Palms .... service was excellent and we stayed on site the entire weekend ...lot's a hours at the pool and long dinners every evening great memories created here... we'll return

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is 15 minutes from Phoenix airport and very private. It has a beautiful garden and a great restaurant. Service was very good and staff are very friendly. The rooms are functional but slightly dark. The cozy terrace makes up for it though. The swimming pool is not 5 star but adequate for good relaxation. There are selectively mountain views but these would not be a reason to come to the hotel. Overall a very nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 668frankh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Excellent service by attentive staff. No tip policy unusual but works for this location. Not your usual minimum way but rather long term staff with benefits happy in their work. Great location 20 minutes from the airport. Our room needed updating which they are doing. TJ Cooks excellent gourmet and allows to eat on the adventure side of life.

Room Tip: Request the updated rooms
See more room tips
Green Features: Do their best in this area. Noticed they went out of their way to recycle. Food was for the most part local and organic.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TUCSON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great resort with all the ammenities - restaurant, pool, spa, bar and wonderful rooms. The staff is very helpful and energized. A great getaway especially if you live in Arizona and want some R&R!!
We have been here 10 times and it is hard to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view ask for it. All the rooms are beautiful. There are also private cas...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everyone is excited to help you and work hard to make it a romantic getaway. Great staff and management.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAMBIBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Royal Palms is a luxurious resort that was the perfect end to my new wife and I's wedding night. We could not be happier that we chose to stay here in celebration of our new marriage. The service was superb and every worker was extremely friendly and made us feel welcome. T. Cook's breakfast was also superb and we enjoyed every meal that we ate there. My wife and I loved staying in our Alvadora Spa Suite King Bed room. It was very spacious, extremely clean and luxurious to stay the least. The standup glass shower and spacious bathroom was romantic as well. We also enjoyed the fantastic view of Camelback Mountain while we were at the resort. The Royal Palms Resort is truly a little pocket of paradise in Arizona. The landscape and buildings are beautifully built and kept clean and appeasing. From the moment we pulled in to the historic entrance until the moment we left we were impressed. This resort offers Spanish charm, excellent food, unparalleled service, and an ambiance unlike any resort I have been to. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who wishes to stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cag292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights here and thought this place was truly outstanding. The quality of the resort really is amazing. Service from everyone was really great. The quality of food in the bar and restaurant were superb. Would recommend and hopefully will return one day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing