We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
353 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 569 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Royal Palms is a beautiful property and makes you feel like you are in a tropical setting instead of the Arizona desert. Upon arrival the valet and bell service was extremely accommodating. Our bellman was probably the best we have ever had, so after hauling our luggage in the summer heat, we felt obligated to tip. If this was truly a non tipping environment, our tip should have been refused but it was not. We stayed in a Valencia casita located among one of the many winding paths with beautiful fountains and landscaping. While we liked our room, it was somewhat small with poor lighting and a squeaky bed. The spa was also small and oddly only had chairs in the relaxation room. It would have been nice to lay down after a relaxing steam bath. The resort also only has one pool, so unless you arrive early, be prepared to stand because lounges are limited. This became very irritating when other guests arrived early and left their belongings to claim a spot only to disappear for hours in order to return later in the day to a prime location. We asked the staff if we could please sit in any of the unoccupied lounges but they did not want to move other guests belongings because it might make them upset. We also noticed a double resort fee charge on our bill that was corrected when it was brought to the attention of the front desk, so be sure to check your folio. While this is a nice property, there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreatTraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Our resort fee does include all gratuities for the valet and bellman so we apologize if you felt obligated to tip on top of this. Please know this has already been addressed to avoid recurrence in the future. Also, we have already made improvements to the pool area which you will notice on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    219
    83
    39
    15
See reviews for
195
709
67
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a 2-night deal in the Alvadora suite which was roomy, clean and spacious. The layout is a bit odd with the bathroom in the middle but it works. Nice balcony also. Food at the bar was awesome and bar staff excellent. Actually staff everywhere were great including the guy who ran around in the pouring monsoon rain offering towels to guests. We lost power for an hour or so but were kept well informed whilst it was being restored.

Only area of improvement was the archaic TV system. No HD channels and terrible analog reception. This needs desperately to be updated.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ZiggyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I just spent our two year anniversary at the royal palms, in one of the Valencia casita. The rooms were beautiful, and the surrounding gardens are very pretty. The food was expectional, and the service from all areas (spa, room service, front desk, valet, and pool side) was excellent as well. We would definitely stay here again, and again. The only thing that I would mention is that the air conditioning in our room would not get as cool as we would have liked. The thermostat reads "60" but it feels like 74. Great place overall!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natecoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We are thrilled to read about your "staycation" to Royal Palms! Your amazing comments about our guestrooms, property landscaping, dining options and spa facilities are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

First class service all the way. We enjoyed our experience at the Royal Palms Resort. We had an issue with the WiFi in room 109. The front office staff attempted to remedy the issue but were unable to due to the router location. Love the no-tipping environment which made digging for the wallet non existent. The fitness equipment was top notch as was the restaurant. Love the location of this place - easy to get to great shopping. Also enjoyed Sunday morning yoga with Christy in the outdoor courtyard...We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We loved room 109 except for the sketchy wifi
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle and conserve water where they can. I enjoyed this.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimsbarkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review! We appreciate your kind comments about dining in T.Cook's and the great location of the property. We are also very happy that you enjoyed the complimentary yoga class with Christy! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The casita was dated and had a discarded patio ottoman and buckets stored outside the back of the casita. The grounds didn't appear as well groomed as in year's past. The pool tile is cracking and in need of repair. Overall the property is looking tired and in need of maintenance and an update. The iron bed was squeaky and the bathroom vanity lacked adequate lighting. The 30.00 resort fee and $15.00 parking fee are supposed to take care of tipping; however the bellman and valet all expected and accepted tips. If this is truly a " no tipping" property then all staff should be on the same page. It creates an awkward moment when receiving service and not sure of the expectation. This used to be a beautiful property and this time I was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had at Royal Palms. We have addressed your invaluable comments with our management team and already have made improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back and providing you with an exceptional visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
275 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Summer in Phoenix Metro is great because of the dirt cheap hotel and resort prices. We were on our second staycay of this summer and this weekend spent two nights at The Royal Palms. Never had stayed there before.

The first think I can say is how amazingly friendly and talkative that the bell/valet staff are. Each time we interacted with them they were all very much that way. To us, we figured that is a sign of people who like there jobs and like working at The Royal Palms.

We had a separate casita and the room was very spacious. Plenty of room to get around and a nice view out of the back french doors of Camelback Mountain. The bed was quite comfortable.

We got spa credits with the room rate and took advantage of it. We both had body scrubs followed by a pedicure. The facilities are very modern and up to date. The spa experience was very positive.

We met a friend at the bar during happy hour and it was very popular. The make their own tonic and it was great. The appetizers are very good, except the Poutine, it was neither great nor authentic. Certainly not Trois Rivieres style.

The pool is small, but it was not all that crowded. There were adequate number of lounge chairs. The is a good menu of drinks at the pool, and contrary to a previous reviewers statement, all of the drinks are not $20,

All in all, a great staycay. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgregb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The resort is beyond beautiful! The staff are top notch --- anything you need they are happy to assist. My room was spacious and relaxing! I traveled for business and could not ask for a better stay and conference location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing