We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation Paradise with Incredible Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staycation Paradise with Incredible Service!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

As a local I frequent hotels every year for "staycations" and this property did not disappoint! It would be 5 star with better vegan/vegetarian options. I can't wait to go back, ideally for a romantic stay! My mom and I have stayed at 5 star huge resorts and never gotten this kind of friendly, helpful service. It was extraordinary and above and beyond which started with Michael S. in Valet. He happily took us to our room, showed us property, etc. Robert and Matt at the pool area never let us go without water or towels and were always available. We were on a VERY tight budget trip so the resort fee that covered tips really helped, but next time I'll tip extra. Service alone has my repeat business. My ONLY complaint was a lot of room service dishes on the property not picked up despite frequent employees walking by.

The Casitas were gorgeous. We stayed in #152, no tub but in a gorgeous courtyard. Room was comfy, bed was great and we had everything we needed. Spacious bathrooms, robes, slippers, coffee in room, nice shower, separate dressing area... great! Gorgeous landscaping, flowers and nooks and crannies with fountains, chairs - Tuscan and romantic!

The pool is small and COLD!! But I'm a local and 100 degree weather is cool for me so I like warm pools. On a busy day you might not get seats, but towels great, easy access and mellow. Go early and get a chair! Hot tub was too hot first day and second day in repair but large and accessible.

Service at Mix Up Bar great, food good. Lobster corn dogs very uneventful but salad and flat bread good and worth using up a $25 credit. The most DELICIOUS "un-oaked" Chardonnay I've ever tasted! I'll be back for that. TJ Cooks has fabulous reputation and smelled incredible, but not enough options for a vegan/vegetarian or budget conscious.

We did 8:30 am Yoga with Christy and she was phenomenal! The ballroom wasn't my ideal location but when the bugs aren't biting in humid weather she does this out in the garden. Great class and comes all inclusive. We weren't able to do Spa services but used steam room, showers and luxuries after a day at the pool. It was small and low key, but very nice and amenities plentiful.

Self parking close and easy and they charge $15 for a vehicle, but you get to go in and out. This is a GREAT older resort in the middle of town for easy access to all. We actually went and ate at the Henry down the streets and it was perfect. I'd recommend this to locals and anyone wanting a smaller, intimate, one on one experience of luxurious romance, gardens and fountains in a Tuscan-Spanish feeling environment!

Room Tip: Casita's have quaint patios! Check for bathtub.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly and could improve with vegan/vegetarian options.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriEbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    245
    95
    48
    20
See reviews for
215
776
72
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Excellent, friendly service (no tipping policy- tips included in resort fee)
Beautiful grounds. Did not eat at restaurant or bar but they were very busy
Nice fitness room. Pool is a bit small and pool patio is a bit tight. Wifi was a bit spotty.
Overall a nice place for a short stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50sNewEnglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our outstanding service and lush grounds! We hope you enjoy T.Cook's and the Mix Up Bar the next time you visit Royal Palms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a "designer casita" #109. Lovely room with super comfy bed and pillows. Front open patio with sitting area, back private patio with no view. Bathtub is a little small. Love the decor throughout the resort. Many places to get lost in love. Cute little nooks with water features throughout. Great room service. Stellar breakfast at T Cooks. Delicious food. Valet parking only ($15/day). I would stay again but get a room with a view of the mountain!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for your review! We certainly have many room types that offer great views of Camelback Mountain so we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I recently had a staycation at the Royal Palms, which I try to do annually. It's always a great experience. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The staff is amazing...they seem to always remember my name and my preferences. What's more, the staff's efficiency seems effortless...they are just naturally pleasant and capable. While I'm sure people could find fault, if they looked hard enough, but don't bother. I've always found the Royal Palms to be pleasant and relaxing.

Room Tip: Splurge on a casita, even one of the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A lovely hotel in a great location full of welcoming helpful staff. The hotel is well designed for the heat of summer with plenty of shade and courtyards that funnel the breeze and the grounds are impeccably manicured. The hotel staff are without exception delightful. The bar was nice and the live entertainment on friday night enjoyable. Breakfast at T. Cook's was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great staff, calm surroundings, amazing design and connection with environment...
Lovely beach and good food.
Location is great, near Scottsdale that is the place to be in Phoenix, and is close to the desert.

Room Tip: Suite near the pool
See more room tips
Green Features: Really notice and admire the eco friendly style and activities, but did not have the chance to enjoy.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first time experiencing Royal Palms. Our first impression and entire stay was perfection. This is a perfect place for a romantic getaway and did not disappoint. The location was terrific, situated just between the Biltmore Center and Fashion Square…very convenient! The Bar “Mix Up” was perfect for a casual dinner for two. The bellmen/valet were attentive and prompt…we had frequent errands outside of the resort and the valet always had our car pulled up front with the AC on ready for us. The pool & cabana were very relaxing – the pool has a great feature for hot AZ days…a cool stream of water is looped in for a refreshing dip. The cabana staff was very attentive and friendly. We can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,160 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing