We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guys golfing had great time”
Review of Legacy Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Golf Resort
Ranked #63 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 April 2008

The sun shone brightly and the Legacy did likewise on most counts. We were a party of four guys out for a week of golfing. We had a 2-bedroom unit which provided two sofa beds in addition to king beds - it would have been nicer to have a better sleeping option. The place was exceptionally well-maintained with beautiful landscaping. The units were spacious and well-equipped. Maintenance was called twice - for a leaking pipe and a dislodged screen door and they fixed both quickly. The housecleaning was a bit sporadic but a phone call fixed that.
The grounds are quite large and the common area can be a bit far from some units. The common BBQ area was a disappointment. There should be more spread around the property. The pool, hot tub and lighted tennis courts are all first-class. We golfed here once and the course is in magnificent shape with truly intimidating bunkers. There is a nice restaurant but we didn't dine there this time.
The Legacy is about 4 miles south of Sky Harbor but the air traffic was hardly heard and there is no road noise so you have an isolated feeling. The neighbourhood is OK and travel is fast as the freeways are within a couple of miles.
We are definitely planning a return trip - the Legacy is a fine resort.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WindshearDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2008

If there was not a need to stay at the resort for the Vision54 golf school, we would not use the Legacy. There is only one restaurant and the beds/pillows were terrible. To call themselves a resort, they need to be more high end -- they need fluffy, large towels, assorted pillows, decent beds. We only paid $119 so at least the price was right. Also, we found out when we were leaving that the resort is located in a bad part of town - scary. If we went back to the golf school (which was fantastic) we'd stay somewhere else and drive in each morning.

Thank GolferIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Great resort with wonderful staff and GREAT golf course!! Was there 3 years ago and am returning this month for a week of relaxation with my family. I really don't know where the previous reviewer is coming from. He really doesn't give a solid base for his negativity. This place is great and I highly recommend the restaurant, staff and accommodations. The golf course has some aspects of a desert track but fairways are generous and all levels of players should be able to enjoy it. I take my teenage girls and wife to play and they love it. Looking forward to my next stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank golfguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

I paid $300 a night for this place? Give me a break! This property is not close to what I would have expected for a rate such as this. Even at $150 a night, you can do better elsewhere.

Pros:
Clean rooms
Nice landscaping
Polite front desk staff
Kitchens in the room (if that is something that you want)
Good food at the clubhouse
Apartment style layout for privacy
Big deck off the room
Good golf course
Washer & Dryer in the room
DVD rentals in the loby

Cons:
Way overpriced for what you get
No two bed configurations (only 1 bed with a sleeper sofa)
Annoying timeshare salespeople
No valet
No room service
No bellman
Cheap mattress, linens and towels
Maids did not come to clean my room until after 3:30pm
Not enough parking close to your room
Location of the property
1980’s cabinetry in the kitchen
No pay-per view

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TR-Den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Nice room. Bed not very comfortable. Location in a not very nice section of town (South Phoenix is heavily populated by gangs and drug dealers). Front desk frequently not attended. Grounds are well kept, but resort is overpriced, as is the food at the only restaurant on the property (a "bar and grill"). Breakfast buffet was pretty good. Overall, a mediocre resort.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank jakethejanitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biewend, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2008

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Legacy Golf Resort.

The Legacy is located in South Phoenix which is home to rich culture, diversity, and history that helped make Phoenix what it is today. If you encountered any sort of criminal activity during your stay, our 24-hour security or the local police would have been happy to assist you.

It is our sincere desire to create a home away from home for all of our guests. I apologize that you did not experience this during your stay and we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Our stay at the "Legacy" Golf Resort was terrible..

There was blood, yes blood in our bathroom, and a long black hair on our bath towel!! :|
When we called the manager, Andrew, he came to our room to verify our claim.. along with the executive housekeeper.. They were both very appalled and look amazingly disgusted as we were, they had house cleaning come up, which arrived at 9:30, and was still cleaning at 11, when we had to check out.. needless to say, we got dressed in secrecy, and did not get to take a shower! when we left our room, she was STILL CLEANING. above and beyond that they did not offer absolutely anything to accommodate for it! but hoped it would not change our opinion of the legacy!

The representative "Kami" with "Shell Vacations Resort" was RUDE & unprofessional. I have never in my life had an experience with such a person.

We regret staying at the legacy, will not be returning, and would advise you not to either!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BitTraffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biewend, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2008

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Legacy Golf Resort.

I would like to apologize about this unfortunate situation. Our resort prides itself on providing clean, comfortable and sanitary accommodations. This was certainly not up to our company standards.

I was happy to hear that the Guest Service manager was able to offer you a late check-out and Housekeeping took the appropriate time to disinfect the bathroom.

I do apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you in your travel schedule. I encourage you to give The Legacy another opportunity next time you visit Phoenix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2008

I stayed at the Legacy Golf Resort to attend the Vision 54 golf class hosted at the site. My studio room was clean, comfortable, and reasonably well-maintained. It also had a nice view out to the golf course. The kitchenette made it very easy to take care of meals, and the resort did a really good job coordinating with the golf school for cart and course usage, mid-day meals, club storage, and more. The golf course itself was in excellent shape and set up to be both playable and challenging for players of all levels.

I did not get a chance to take advantage of all the ammenities that the resort offers, as my time was pretty well committed to the golf class, but there appeared to be a nice pool, shuffleboard, and the concierge service was running regular events and excursions.

Overall, a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoebeSoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#22 of 174 in Phoenix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
#75 of 174 in Phoenix
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Golf Resort

Address: 6808 S 32nd St, Phoenix, AZ 85042-6004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#41 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £113 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy Resort is an oasis of green at the base of Phoenix’s scenic and well known South Mountain. Featuring spacious suites decorated in Spanish mission-style with rich wood cabinetry and earth-toned fabrics and a full kitchen or kitchenette. An on-site 18-hole championship golf course that was named a top 10 Golf Courses to play in Phoenix by Golf Digest. Also a sparkling pool and a deluxe health club, coupled with an endless variety of recreational activities amidst an inviting resort community. Make The Legacy Golf Resort your destination for a romantic getaway, family vacation, reunion or golf outing. We are ready to help you create your legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Golf Hotel Phoenix
Legacy Resort Phoenix
Legacy Hotel Phoenix
Legacy Golf Resort Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing