We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Golf and great stay!”
Review of Legacy Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Legacy Golf Resort
Ranked #52 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Golf and great stay!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I made a last minute vacay plan for golf in Phoenix before Christmas. We booked a one bedroom condo at the resort. Aside from the timeshare lady trying to get us to join them for a breakfast or lunch the stay was great! Very spacious condo for a great deal! Cheaper then a hotel by far. We love the option of cooking while staying and do not need a maid so best option if that is what you are after. The golf course was right out side our door! We booked a tee time and were off! Amazing deal for golf as we payed $100 each and had unlimited golf for the day, lunch provided and a dozen balls, cart included! Because we played on the shortest day of the year we did get two rounds in barely. The food in the clubhouse was great and service on the course was amazing as well! Can not say enough good about it! The only downside we found was that it was far from any other restaurant and shopping and the hot water takes a while in the shower but overall it was amazing and I would highly recommend if you are looking for a great golf resort! It also has a pool, hot tub and tennis courts.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a golf view room and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myra G, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you, Dallas, for sharing your observations from your Legacy vacation!
... We’re genuinely delighted to learn that your golf-side accommodations, unlimited play and on-site dining combined to make yours a great vacation experience!

We appreciate you choosing The Legacy and hope to welcome you back again in 2014!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    211
    89
    43
    22
See reviews for
165
232
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We exchanged a week at the Legacy, one bedroom on top floor, the rooms are large and well equipped, dark to sleep and very quiet. The bed is comfortable. We asked to be near the pool which they gladly provided (about 60% occupancy). Resort is spotless. The staff at the resort and golf course were very friendly. Beautiful golf course in perfect shape, just overseeded in October. Great golf academy with the latest technology. One casual restaurant at the golf course but not a big selection of restaurants in the surrounding area of the resort, you need a car.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
What a nice review, Louise! We really appreciate your taking a few minutes during this busy season to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Our associates take great pride in providing exceptional service, and we are continually looking for ways in which to improve.

On behalf of all The Legacy team, we wish you Happy Holidays .... and look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

anyone looking for a quiet night in a dark room should look elsewhere. we had two rooms that were not adjoining, and we heard most every word spoken in each of the adjoining rooms. We assume they heard our every word as well. you know the walls are REALLY thin when your college student son who is currently living in a dorm comments on how loud the TV in the next room is. we had two rooms at this 'resort', and there was party going on in the room adjoining our other room. The party woke me up even though I had earplugs in.

we heard a (drunk) couple screaming at each other in the 'resort' parking lot at 12:30am. the windows don't appear to have any soundproofing either. the whole place appears to be 1970s vintage, except the TVs which are probably only 10 years old (smaller low-def plasma or lcd)

There is door length window next to the front door of each room that allows the porch light into your room, so your room will glow all night and it will not be dark. Rooms have some sort of blind on this window, but it is not opaque enough to be effective.

when we checked in, were directed to another desk across the hall to get our parking pass. the lady at that desk hands me a postcard sized form to fill out asking for our name, address, email, household income, and other highly personal information. I told her I declined to fill out this form.... twice.... She continued to plead. Finally I told her under no uncertain terms that I would not provide personal information to get access to a room that I had already paid for. She then tried to make me feel guilty by telling me that her manager was at the end of the desk and that she would get in trouble if she failed to get my personal information. We both looked to the manager, who merely shrugged, then I was finally allowed to get my parking pass without given them my household income and whatever other information they were inappropriately requesting. This entire experience was bizarre and totally inappropriate. Perhaps the bluebloods who normally frequent this place have no problems following orders and handing out their household incomes, but I did and you should.

I stumbled onto this place while trying for a priceline deal in 'north tempe'. while this spot is on pricelines map for 'north tempe', it most certainly is not in 'north tempe' and is in the middle of nowhere south phoenix.

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank HeywoodJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your observations, Heywood. We take the comfort of each of our guests very seriously, and were disappointed to learn we did not meet your expectations.

We are sorry for your experience, but do appreciate your candor.

If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, please feel free to call me directly at #602.305.5510.

Sincerely,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had a bachelor room that had a half kitchen in it. Freezer in half size fridge did not keep things frozen even turned high however froze everything in fridge when turned high. We had room on main floor and it was very noisy from guests in room above. Would not stay in ground floor room again. Some rooms are very far from pool area. Bed was comfortable and nice linens. Decor very dated . This is a vacation club so only had housekeeping once in the week. Only restaurant on site is casual at golf course otherwise you need vehicle to go out to eat.

Room Tip: Would not choose ground floor as sound really carries from guests above. If those are children, it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you, Kimberly, for your feedback following your stay at The Legacy last month.

While we appreciate hearing that the bedding and pool facilities were to your liking, we were greatly disappointed to learn of the malfunctioning refrigerator and noisy neighbors! Oftentimes, the best part of one's vacation is relaxing, and we regret that your enjoyment may have been compromised. In the future, if such an unfortunate issue were to arise, please report any excessive noise to the front desk so our 24-hour Security team might follow-up.

As always, we appreciate your feedback, and wish you Happy Holidays!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Love this resort! We are vacation ownership travellers and this is our 3rd time back! Excellent Phoenix location close to everything! The resort is beautifully cared for and spotless! Golfing, walking, tennis, swimming and fitness all on site.
The rooms are large, well furnished and equipped as you would have at home!
Love it and recommend to fellow vacation ownership exchangers or nightly rentals!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your impressions and recommendation, CaboHeather!

Our commitment to being responsive, respectful and deliver a great experience is central to our success. We enjoy contributing to your great vacation memories, and sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty.

Thank you again for your nice review. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in 2014!

Warm regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Legacy for two weeks in October to celebrate a birthday and our anniversary. We loved the unit – the granite, the wall paper, the art work and the space – we had a great balcony and had our morning coffee and our evening drink of wine out there and watched the sun set.

It was great to have a safe in our unit so that you did not have to lug passports etc. around with you on a daily basis.

We had a few issues and without going into a lot of detail found that the front desk did not always follow up with the staff that would be resolving these issues so spent a lot of time on the phone to get things done. Once the right people were contacted, things did get resolved quickly. Kyle at the front desk was great, so were Brian and Steve and Security (who were a great help when our shuttle showed up almost an hour late on the day we were leaving). A special thanks to Paul in guest services as well.

One of the things that we found very strange was that they would not allow you to take a cooler into the pool or hot tub area stating that this was Arizona state law or words to that affect – when we spent the previous week also in Arizona this did not apply – so wondered whether this was just a cash grab as they had a bar in the pool area. Also, as mentioned in another review, you were charged for 1-800 calls, which included the use of your long distance card.

We do not appreciate the fact that resorts now try different approaches to get you to go for a timeshare presentation – if you are there on a timeshare, you are not likely to buy another one.

The traffic is horrible - drivers darting in and out at great speeds – I was the back seat driver and spent a lot of time with my eyes closed!!

We discovered a great grocery store on this visit – Basha’s. They had great specials – when everything is so expensive especially for meat this was a great find – preferred it to Fry’s. Also, you do not have to get a special shopper card – you just have to say that you are traveling.

We would return to the Legacy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winedancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to speak me personally, allowing me the opportunity to address your experience in more detail.

While we can’t comment on other hotels’ practices, it is an absolute expectation here at The Legacy (and State law!) that no alcoholic beverages can be brought into the pool/spa facilities.

I was delighted to share your nice comments with our associates; in particular, Kyle, Brian, Steve and Paul ! The Legacy team takes great pride in providing exceptional service and are continually looking for opportunities to “wow” our guests.

We hope to see you again in 2014 and perhaps have an opportunity to enhance your next birthday or anniversary!

Best regards,
Michele A. Caminidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at Legacy end of October, overall the resort met our expectations. Front desk employees were very helpful.The room was clean and fully equipped.The only thing is that they use a cleaning substance for flooring that has a very strong chlorine smell. I had to keep the door open for some time to get rid of the smell. The resort is about 10 min drive to the airport, nothing exiting in near vicinity. There is a shopping outlets in Chandler about 10 miles away and 2 casinos and Rawhide town/steakhouse about 12 miles away. We bought our groceries and other stuff in Walmart and Walgreens about 1.5 mile away from the resort. We enjoyed the pool almost every day.The pool is heated,that was nice, because the nights were a little chilly.

Room Tip: Ask for casita closer to the pool if you don't like walking long distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torontasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us, Torontasha.

I'm so sorry to learn that the cleanser used on your flooring was uncomfortably overpowering. We not only want to hear the good, but the not-so-good ... to better improve everyone's experience! Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We appreciate knowing you had an enjoyable stay, and I hope you and your family will give us another try on your next visit to Phoenix!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#17 of 174 in Phoenix
771 reviews
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
Orange Tree Golf Resort
Orange Tree Golf Resort
#51 of 75 in Scottsdale
582 reviews
Scottsdale Links Resort
#54 of 75 in Scottsdale
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Golf Resort

Property: Legacy Golf Resort
Address: 6808 S 32nd St, Phoenix, AZ 85042-6004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy Resort is an oasis of green at the base of Phoenix’s scenic and well known South Mountain. Featuring spacious suites decorated in Spanish mission-style with rich wood cabinetry and earth-toned fabrics and a full kitchen or kitchenette. An on-site 18-hole championship golf course that was named a top 10 Golf Courses to play in Phoenix by Golf Digest. Also a sparkling pool and a deluxe health club, coupled with an endless variety of recreational activities amidst an inviting resort community. Make The Legacy Golf Resort your destination for a romantic getaway, family vacation, reunion or golf outing. We are ready to help you create your legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Legacy Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Golf Hotel Phoenix
Legacy Resort Phoenix
Legacy Hotel Phoenix
Legacy Golf Resort Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing