We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Fairground-Phoenix
Ranked #136 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

I stayed in this property during Martin Luther's King holiday weekend in January. I walked from downtown Phoenix to the hotel. It took me 50 min. The route was safe. However as you approach the motel you get this "weird feeling" that you don't wanna walk much around there because maybe something bad will happen. Again its not unsafe - I walked even at night and nothing happen. It looks like an industrial area. No shops around. A convenience store is a few blocks away ~ 20 min walking. The property itself is excellent. Trust me this Travelodge is good.The building was in good shape and it has a nice swimming pool. While walking in the hotel, in contrast to the surrounding areas, you get a good feeling. Little noisy however. There is train coming by that makes some noise.The hotel clerks were fine also. A Chinese family operates it. I asked them some info about nightlife in Phoenix and they were willing to help me. Rooms were clean. TV was also entertaining: You could watch adult movies for free! Breakfast was average. Typical like any Travelodge. Note however that even though they claim wireless internet, internet WAS NOT available in my room (or any room?). In summary, this place is a good hotel in a not so perfect area. Given the price however I think its a good choice. The only think that I didn't like was that there is nothing around there (at least to the best of my knowledge).

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grevo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    5
    7
    39
See reviews for
11
12
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
explorers09
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

We were on a quick business trip to Phoenix. We had to pay up front upon arrival for the 2 nights we were staying. Only a receipt was given, so no line items to compare. Queen Size bed was more like a Full/Twin. We were in a rush when we checked out, and didn't notice on the printout copy that we were charged daily room safe fees. Upon calling Travelodge, we were told that they have to charge the fee. We did not use the safe, and it was not noted anywhere on our original booking info. They refused to refund the room safe fees. We will not stay at this location again. We did not feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank explorers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

Travelodge North Phoenix (off Black Canyon HWY)...Nasty!
It was a non-smoking room but smelled strongly of stale old cigarettes! The bed
matress was old and sagged in the middle. We could feel the springs. The carpet
was sticky and so had to wear shoes in the room. The top blanket was about 30
years old, tattered and gross...we just stripped it off and threw it on the
floor. We reserved the room due to the lack of them in the city because of the
NCAA games in which ASU was involved. We booked a week and a half prior. I
called the day before arrival to check to see if they had a pressing service or
one that they knew of in the area that had 24 hour service and the man on the
phone was very rude with one word answers. DON'T STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metalartist111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phoenix hotels

los angeles
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2008

I stay at this motel about once a month. This motel is getting better and better everytime I stay. I like this place.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank swla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Comfort Inn West
#123 of 175 in Phoenix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Econo Lodge Airport
#82 of 175 in Phoenix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Ramada Phoenix Midtown
#97 of 175 in Phoenix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Encanto
La Quinta Inn Phoenix Thomas Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Fairground-Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Fairground-Phoenix

Property: Knights Inn Fairground-Phoenix
Address: 1624 N Black Canyon Hwy, Phoenix, AZ 85009-2917 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Fairground-Phoenix 1.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Fairground-Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Phoenix
Travelodge Phoenix
Phoenix Travelodge
Phoenix Travel Lodge
Knights Inn Fairground-Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing