We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and Forgettable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Phoenix - North
Ranked #43 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average and Forgettable Stay”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Hyatt Place location takes a little bit of paying attention to reach as you need to access it from a local highway that runs next to the main one. This was a last minute stay and the check in was smooth and painless. They advised me that they don't have room service but you can order food and then pick it up in the lobby. When I asked for a menu they told me it would be in my guest room, which it wasn't, luckily after declining the offer to have me walk back down to the front desk, they sent one up. I ordered some food since it was late and there is nothing in walking distance to eat and the food was decent if a bit under-seasoned. The same can be said of the free breakfast which was under-seasoned but highly attended by hotel guests, requiring jockeying to get any food as the hotel staff struggled to keep food replenished. The room was a bit drab and the bed did sag significantly, but that being said, I got a solid night's sleep. Strangely, this hotel does not have central air conditioning but instead has individual window air conditioning units that can get quite noisy. Not a full service hotel but if you need an inexpensive night near major freeways it fits the bill.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    195
    94
    49
    27
See reviews for
201
170
49
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is your standard Hyatt Place (converted from Amerisuites) property: Nice rooms with sofabed, mini-fridge, comfy Hyatt beds, large flat screen TV, free breakfast (with hot mini-bagel things), free wifi, comfy lounge, free computers, exercise room, small pool and some food options round the clock.

If you stayed at Hyatt Place properties before and had a good time, this would not disappoint. Some notes from hour visit:

1) Body Lotion is not standard, but you can ask at the front desk for it. Also available are toothpaste and toothbrushes and other incidentals.

2) Recycle utensils are standard in some Hyatt hotels, but not yet at this location.

3) No covered parking -- which is a PAIN in Phoenix when it gets hot. Covered parking would raise this to 5 stars!

4) Very helpful staff. For example, many front desk people would rather interrupt their conversation with a live person in front of them when the phone rings. This did not happen!! They put the phone on hold. Kudos. On the first day we arrived, there was only one staff member on duty who was busy looking something up for another guest. So the front desk was empty for a few minutes when we arrived and wondered if there was anyone home -- but hopefully that's not normal.

5) It's located right off Rt 17 so easy access to the freeway to get away to Flagstaff or Grand Canyon. Yet only 20 minutes from downtown Phoenix.

6) Nearby -- there's an In/Out burger, Chipotle, Olive Garden, Sizzler and other chain restaurants. We got take out and ate in the lobby/lounge (where silverware and napkins were always available for use).

7) Gas is cheaper here than in downtown Phoenix. Actually cheap gas is one exit away at the QuickTrip on W Cactus Road (8 cents less than the QuickTrip down the road from the hotel and 15-20 cents less than downtown).

8) No iPhone compatible radio, for those who really really need it.

9) Flat screen TV was huge. With the sofabed, a room could fit 5-6 people so a good option for larger families.

10) HVAC was individual units which was noisy -- especially if you set the temperature in the sweet spot where the fan kept turning on and off every 10 minutes. Just set the fan to always on if you want to avoid the fan noise coming on and off.

All in all, a great option. We liked it so much -- we stayed there twice on our trip (at the beginning and at the end).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side facing away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALTippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for one night between Diamondback games. Have stayed here in the past and have a future reservation as well. Always has been a good value through Hotwire. Front desk clerk was very friendly and professional as usual. The room was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed. Bathroom is a bit cramped, but I see the hotel will undergo renovation next year to fix that shortfall. Breakfast was good, but wish they would have had offered bananas. Will stay again ...

Room Tip: Rooms on east side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guestAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okarche, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Great location. Sound proof room. Nice sectional in room that was great to lay on to watch TV. I have to agree with BluejayOne totally. I would highly recommend it for business travel or families. Hiking nearby and people were very friendly. 1-17 runs along side of hotel and not a problem for noise at all in rooms or at the pool. Plenty of towels at the pool. We enjoy Westin hotels because of the friendly people and great pools. What the Hyatt lacks in the pool area was made up in their breakfast. I felt it was a very healthy alternative to the continental breakfasts. Very friendly staff. The gate to the pool was tricky which I inquired about and they sent maintenance to work on it. The bathroom is a bit small and the carpet could be replaced and it would be nicer but would not keep me from staying or recommending it .

Room Tip: we stayed across the hall from electrical room and never heard any sound from it.
See more room tips
Green Features: I would have recycled our recyclables if there had been a recycle bucket.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 669tswife79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas R, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Place Phoenix - North, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had positive interactions with our hotel associates. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our AM Kitchen Skillet breakfast. I did want to let you know that our hotel is scheduled for a full hotel renovation in the early parts of 2015 that will address the size of the bathrooms in every room. Thank you for taking the time to comment on our property. We greatly appreciate it and we hope that you will be our guest again in the near future.

Cade A.
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Phoenix-North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay was great; from the wonderful breakfast with eggs and bacon to the super-friendly and helpful staff. Room was with a King and a hide-away couch. Room was very clean and very spacious. Price was super reasonable at $100/night with taxes... this hotel was on-par with many I've stayed at for $130/night! Staff was VERY helpful, and it was evident they enjoyed their jobs. They went out of their way to help, and did it with a smile. DEFINITELY would stay here again... also, practically next door to my favorite all-time seafood restaurant, Pappadeaux's!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BluejayOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Had a full prepaid reservation for two rooms.
They bumped us because they OVERBOOKED. Why did they give me a reservation!
They paid for a nearby hotel for us to stay in but neglected to insure king beds were available at that hotel and breakfast was included. Service was horrible in explaining the overbooking. It was a cheeper hotel and they were pocketing the change. I made them return my money and went to the Residence inn-Tempe
NEVER NEVER NEVER staying at a Hyatt !!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank iScienceGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas R, Manager at Hyatt Place Phoenix - North, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First I would like to apologize with your experience with our property. It is unfortunate that oversell situations do occur with a disposable product like hotel rooms and airline seat. They are a situation that we do try to handle with the utmost care and respect. We also do our best to put our displaced guests into close compariable hotels so as to make the transistion easier. We do recommend that in the future you book directly through the Hyatt.com website instead of a discounted 3rd-party site. If you have further questions please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Cade A.
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Phoenix North
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix
Candlewood Suites Phoenix
#70 of 174 in Phoenix
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Phoenix North
Courtyard Phoenix North
#47 of 174 in Phoenix
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix North
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Metro Center
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Phoenix North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Phoenix - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Phoenix - North

Property: Hyatt Place Phoenix - North
Address: 10838 N 25th Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85029-4746 (Formerly "AmeriSuties")
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > North Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#55 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Phoenix - North 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Phoenix - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Phoenix - North Hotel Phoenix
Hyatt Phoenix
Phoenix Hyatt
Hyatt Place Phoenix - North Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing