We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is Americas best value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
Ranked #23 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It really is Americas best value”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

i stayed here for 3days and was very pleased with the room and the service. The front desk was very helpful and the rooms very clean and had everything you would need.
The only thing stopping it getting top marks all round was that the airconditioning unit was quite noisy.
Overall a very nice place to stay in a handy location.

A.M. From New Zealand

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank am1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    325
    79
    11
    7
See reviews for
100
211
103
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The America's best value inn downtown phoenix met our needs just fine, however I'm not sure why it is rated top 6 of all hotels in phoenix!! It must be the motel's proactive approach in pushing customers to write reviews, ie.emailing a link, signs posted at front desk, etc. I travel very often and use tripadvisor each time for reviews before booking. When i see a "top 10" on the list within a city, i assume it must be great. This is a basic motel, so I just want to warn off anyone looking for an ideal hotel or a great bargain for a trip to Phoenix - this is not it! If you need an inexpensive 1 - 2 night stopover, then this would work. OR if you are a budget traveller, this place is probably the better of those in its price range.
We were here for a one night stopover due to full flights - needed a budget place to sleep with easy access to airport. The motel was fine for this.
CONS....The immediate location was probably the biggest drawback for me - the area is not very nice/not appealing and i would not walk alone here at night. If you walk about 6-7 blocks towards chase field/US airways centre, the area gets much nicer. Also, we arrived late and hungry, but the only restaurant nearby was McDonalds! You need to walk about 15min to find better, which is fine if you have time and feel safe in that neighbourhood. The few blocks either side of the motel on Van Buren is a bit sketchy. A couple other minor drawbacks are a Queen instead of King bed and the rooms are very small, more like European size than American. Oh and our bathroom had some mould/mildew and walls needed a clean....These points did not bother us, but would be too small if you were spending more than a couple nights.
PROS....On the plus side, Bed was comfy, pillows OK, sheets were clean, and new-ish flat screen tv. The free internet was a good feature and they might do a free breakfast? Another perk was the 24hr free airport shuttle service or free parking if you need it. The shuttle worked very conveniently for us, although I'd recommend they provide a 1-800 shuttle number with booking confirmation or better yet, add their motel to the "hotel board/shuttles phones" at the arrival section in the airport (This motel seemed to be one of the few that did not have a listing on those free phones which direct access to hotel reservations and shuttle service).
The sink area was good and clean, perhaps new/recently remodeled. It's also nice that they include a fridge and a microwave, although no coffee maker/tea.
I didn't notice road noise, but i sleep with earplugs, so can't comment on that - we did not hear anyone adjacent/above us, so hopefully this means good soundproofing! (but more likely we just got quiet neighbours that nite!!). Check-in was quick, but if they had more than 2 parties arrive at the same time, it would be akward (no lobby or waiting area).

SUMMARY....To summ up, easy airport access, free internet, clean enough but the immediate area is not appealing with no restaurants/shops.
Overall, i'd recommend staying here if you need a night or two with easy access to downtown/airport or if you are a budget traveller and want a decent place. If you are staying for a long weekend holiday or longer, then i'd pick one of the less expensive resorts in Scottsdale (ie. you can get a 4-star with pools for 75/nite).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world_traveller_smo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Overnight trip for concert at the Orpheum Theater downtown. (Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds #1!!!). Very friendly and helpful couple running the property. About 3 blocks walk to light rail. Didn't need a rental car, took light rail from the airport and back. Room comfortable and clean. 10 min. walk to CityScape, and downtown concert venues. Plenty of bus and rail coverage in the downtown area. Felt safe walking the area at night. McDonald's across the street. Only issue would be lack of a swimming pool, the summers are 100 plus degrees almost every day. Would definitely stay again. Maybe for Van Halen in June! Cheers and happy travels everyone!

Room Tip: If you think street noise will bother you, don't get a room in the front building. My room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaHeat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, ME
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Clean and quiet downtown Phoenix motel. Very helpful staff. Convenient to Interstate 10 and other major streets.

Room Tip: Stayed in 2nd floor room. No elevator but probably quieter than the street level. Downtown Phoenix...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had an average exp in this hotel, its good for those who are staying overnight. Also its very near to phoenix downtown. All facilities are fine but only u thing u will face is disturbing road noise at night since its on the main road. If you are a person who cant sleep with road noise, wont recommed for u......

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruchita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Jessica and Sam are THE greatest and were so helpful - Jessica even took us to the Convention Center one morning when our cab no showed! :) The rooms are comfortable and clean and are a great value!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waghaeusel, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Friendly and helpful front desk
quiet room
large bed
HBO inroom

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#7 of 174 in Phoenix
829 reviews
South Mountain
GreenTree Inn & Suites Phoenix Sky Harbor
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#26 of 174 in Phoenix
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Candlewood Suites Phoenix
#72 of 174 in Phoenix
143 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#18 of 174 in Phoenix
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
Address: 424 W van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003-1635
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#24 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#43 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 37 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field, Phoenix Convention Center, US Airways Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica Theatre, Orpheum Theatre, and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant, and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing