We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
Ranked #25 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Clean room, great location, close to downtown. The area is sketchy, so be mindful if walking around the neighborhood. Good for a place to sleep while working the weekend. Customer service could be improved. Only wanted to give out 1 key per room which was a hassle. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is not the Hilton-but was clean and well situated at 1/3 the cost. It was convenient walking distance from the Convention Center.
I chose this Inn because I did not want to be too close to the Convention Center and am happy I made the choice. It is not a perfect location but no threats were felt as a single person walking the 6 - 8 blocks from the Convention Center.

Room Tip: Morning Coffee and muffins available starting at 0630. Unfortunately my conference started at 0630 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renmar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I needed an inexpensive hotel for a conference I was attending at the Phoenix Convention Center. This fit the bill. The hotel shuttle picked me up at the airport promtly. My room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The bed was good quality and comfortable. The new LG flat screen TV was nice. There was a microwave and mini fridge in my room. Also, ironing board and iron there if needed. It was about a 15 min walk to downtown, which I enjoyed as I needed the exercise after sitting in meeting rooms all day. There are plenty of taxis available if needed or take advantage of the local pedi-cabs around town. Jessica and her family (I assume they were all family) were very accomodating, friendly and helpful. My room was fresh when I returned. I prefer rooms off the ground level, and this probably also makes for a quiet stay.Call them for a reservation to save even more as then there is no commission if not using this site.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VICTORIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The location was great. The room was spacious. However, they did not service our room. We left early in the morning and when we arrived at 9:30 pm, the sheets had not been changed and the dirty towels were still were we had left them. I spoke with the onsite manager. He did apologize but did not make any efforts to change us to another room. I had to ask for clean towels. Needless to say, this was a big dissapointment.

Room Tip: You may want to check at the desk to make sure they service your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZDUDES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have stayed at a few of Americas Best Value Inn and it is just that, a clean place to sleep at a great price. This one was newly renovated and the owners are actively working to treat their customers right. We have return business in Phoenix and will use this hotel for our needs as long as this business continues. If you are looking for a clean place to hang your hat for a day or more in the Phoenix area, and you don't need all the amenities of a big hotel/resort, you will be satisfied with this. The only suggestion I would have is that during the renovation, they did not put exhaust fans in the showers which will produce a mildew problem over time for them on the ceiling. The easy way to deal with this is for the owners to have the maids to make sure to look up and wipe with disinfectant periodically. See you next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

I've now stayed here about 5 times. It's kind of on the border between downtown & where it starts getting ghetto but don't let that fool you. If you prefer to pay $70 rather than $200 @ the Sheraton then this is the best hotel I've found. The rooms are recently renovated and are very clean. Flatscreen tvs. New tile & carpet. I feel like I'm at a Hampton or courtyard inn. & its not a far walk to the downtown bars & restaurants. The manager Sam is a really nice & helpful guy too.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwhite007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I very much enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. Bed was cozy. People running the hotel were very helpful and pleasant, going above and beyond the call to make things easier for me. I was told the neighborhood is a little sketchy, especially at night, but didn't have any trouble with this personally.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliebug08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#8 of 174 in Phoenix
836 reviews
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#26 of 174 in Phoenix
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 174 in Phoenix
1,612 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Address: 424 W van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003-1635
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#24 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#43 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £53 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 37 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field, Phoenix Convention Center, US Airways Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica Theatre, Orpheum Theatre, and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant, and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing