We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My hidden get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sophie's French Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sophie's French Bistro
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Camelback East
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“My hidden get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

I treasure Sophie's as my quiet lunchtime get-away as well as my perfect place for dinner with friends. Thomas is my favorite waiter who has excellent timing of the courses. The onion soup is more onion than broth but everything else on the menu is better than imagined. Had the Coq au Vin today for lunch - what an indulgence. The prices are high for Phoenix but you're paying for the experience, quality ingredients and a change from the typical Mexican cuisine that is typically Phoenix. Go to Sophie's - you'll love it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyKinPhX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Restaurant.com Rip Off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We purchased the restaurant.com certificate which was valid for lunch or dinner. When menus came to the table, the waiter proceeded that only the dinner items on the menu were valid for the restaurant.com coupons. The prices started at $19 and up. We went for the lobster bisque and they had no soup. What a disappointment. I think they need to redo their coupon on Restaurant.com to state that only the dinner items are valid. Service was extremely slow and there were only 4 tables filled at lunch time. I won't return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyBethPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect little Bistro Ala France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Sophies is a hidden Gem in Phoenix ,Az the food is to die for service is excellent wine list is great and the decor and vibe is small french bistro in Paris. We tried a little bit of everything from Escargo, to great soups, salads, and fantastic deserts topped off by a great expresso. The wine list was very good and during happy hour 4pm to 6pm daily is outstanding wine, apple martinis, and much more for $6.00. very romantic setting or great dining for friends and special nights out. This is a very down to earth Bistro were regulars go and people who know food will continue to go too. We have eaten in french Bistros all over in Beverly Hills, San Diego, Miami, St. Martin, and in Paris and enjoyed this place as much Highly recommend a visit for lunch or dinner or just happy hour. Also not overly expensive the owner is French and that is a plus for a french bistro.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We really enjoyed the Lobster Bisque and both had salads - the bread was something you could each all night and likely not finish your dinner!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“French food without the snobbery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our party of four tried Sophie's for a special occasion after many years of hearing good things about this restaurant and we were glad we did. With paintings on the wall, linen tableclothes, and cloth napkins in quirky napkin rings, it's a fun place to eat without that overly formal feel. You'll want to wear nice clothes, but you won't feel you have to wear the height of fashion, or order the priciest wine to impress the waiter. The server we had was very nice and answered all our questions. When one person ordered steak and fries, he didn't blink an eye. He also paced each course perfectly. Our meal began with a tasty roll we could dip in oil and vinegar--and not the kind that seems stale on the outside. We were glad to split one brie appetizer among four people (the cheese and pastry are as creamy and rich as you would desire). Skip the baguette slices--save your carbs for that roll or the dessert crepe. The garden salad's dressing will spoil you for other dressings, as it tastes pure and homemade. For the main course, my scallops were tender not chewy. They came with a faintly-licorice flavored fennel slaw that complemented the scallops perfectly and the whole meal arranged elegantly on the plate. Midway through the meal we were already planning to return and try the quiche and crepes. My husband's steak and fries were not as pretty (no garnish of rosemary there), but the bite of steak I tried was deeply tender and cooked to perfection. Complimentary port in honor of the occasion was a fun way to celebrate, too. Whatever variety it was, its sweetness and warmth made me vow to celebrate other occasions with an after-dinner drink now and then. The dessert crepe was a gorgeously glamorous affair, set afire by the waiter with our choice of grand marnier liquor. It tasted light with a sweet sauce--but not cloyingly so, and the perfect ending to an absolutely fun and fantastic meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sophie's French Bistro also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing