We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of HB's Place

HB's Place
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Pine
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Payson, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I know the owner Marilyn personally and she is a wonderful person, she takes great pride in her restaurant and you can tell by the food she serves. Decent prices as well. Just be warned that she takes cash only, no debit or credit cards.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greer, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cute and Clean!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very clean diner. Seemed like it was family owned. The food was really good. Like homemade from scratch food not reheated off the Shamrock truck. Nice patriotic decor. Everything you would love to see at a fourth of July picnic. And did I mention how clean everything was. One tip they only accept cash.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greer_girl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stopped here with a large group (20ish) and they were accommodating. The food was good, but nothing special about it. I had an omelette and make better at home. I guess I just had higher expectations from the TA reviews- it was pretty average. I would go back on a trip through town, but not out of my way to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
“Delicious food, extremely friendly homestyle atmosphere.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Saw this rated on tripadvisor. Stopped for lunch. Great choice. Check when it's open. Closed Wed and Sundays. I highly recommend HB's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Americana at its best”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The place is all red, white and blue kitschy Americana, but not cluttered, and very clean.
The service was very personable and efficient. My French toast was big slices cut from some sort of large round loaf and it was wonderful. I'm a French toast junky, but a half order was plenty. My husband had the three egg omelet which was the fluffiest we'd ever seen - love at first bite.
For years we've had breakfast in Payson on our way to the mountains, but no more. We loved our breakfast here so much that we'll go the extra distance in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to HB's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing