We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Portal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portal Peak Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portal Peak Lodge
world
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved Portal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

FABULOUS time in Portal! I feared the worst (we were there for a music week and let me tell you, I've stayed in some pretty down-market locations playing music), but was happily surprised, as the food was very good and the accommodations were much nicer than I thought they'd be. They seem to be upgrading the rooms, from what I can tell. Given the remoteness of Portal and knowing everything has to be trucked in, I was especially pleased with the pizza and the baked goods. The Lodge isn't exactly upscale (try Cave Creek Ranch's Stone Cottage and Ranch House for that) but has everything you need, the housekeeping is good, and it's convenient to the beautiful Coronado National Forest - and there's wifi! (Phone signal is very hit or miss, mainly miss for everyone but Verizon customers, and even that is pretty sketchy.) The staff are friendly and accommodating and cheery. I was sad to say goodbye at the end of the week.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eevrywhere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We booked the Portal Peak Lodge and Cafe to host our first Annual Portal Irish Music week event and they did a fantastic job of hosting us. Meals were on time, the food was healthy, the staff was friendly and helpful. Special diet needs were cheerily accommodated. Mitch and Loni were flexible and made our event a success. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

It was just an overnight stay and spare of the moment trip. The room was clean, but up keep on the lodge was very much in need of work and things updated and replaced. We stayed in 2001 and it was great. We wanted to return and stay, but quite disappointing! The meals were very good in 2001, but nothing to rant about and the prices where very expensive we thought. Probably won't return. Randle and C. Lawson from T or C, NM

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank randlecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed one night at the Portal Lodge and found it somewhat expensive for what it offers (100$ for a double room). In retrospective, it may have been fine if the webpage had not set our expectations a bit high. The pictures look nice but in reality the place is a bit rundown. The rooms are very clean (which you wouldn't expect as you walk to them) but they don't have a view and you need to keep your curtains drawn unless you want everyone who passes by to see you. The air-conditioner was so loud that we had to turn it off in order to be able to sleep. On the other hand the location was great (right by the Chiracahua mountains - we actually saw deer in the parking lot) and the view from the outside is outstanding, so if you consider you are paying for that excellent location you shouldn't gripe too much about the price. What was most disappointing was the restaurant and the food. The two dining rooms do not look clean and the tables were sticky (perhaps it is the linoleum itself but it was kind of gross, especially since there are many flies around). The menu and the webpage make it sound like it will be homemade, special food (there is even expresso) but in reality most of it was processed food (the beans, the hash-browns, the bread, etc) and not even cheap. Only the burger at lunch was OK. It didn't help that, at breakfast, they had run out of milk and we couldn't have our latte. On the other hand, service was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickyinbarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Had fairly low expectations since this is a pretty remote area and the exterior is not promising, but was pleasantly surprised by the room's cleanliness, good upkeep, spaciousness, and great lighting.
Food was great at the cafe also.
Have stayed at the Cave Creek Ranch in Portal area too, and both have their good points. The view from Portal proper is open and sweeping, while Cave Creek has a more enclosed feeling, but has great feeder birds. Next time may stay at Quailway Cottage.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdwatcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

I am a camper at nearby sunny flats campground, but when I want a good meal, I come in to the lodge/store and buy some supplies and a good meal. It's a friendly place, and if you are a nature lover who prefers not to camp, this place is in a wonderful location. They maintain year-round hummingbird feeders, and other bird feeders. Birders, as well as birds, abound. Good company, good food, great surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GS_Humbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

we stayed one night during the fire of 2010. the lodge was contracted to feed the firefighters and even though we arrived at dinner time they were still very super friendly and accomodating and let us have a hamburger and beans. rooms were clean, tv had 3 glitchy channels but that shouldn't matter to anyone, grab a couple beers in the store and enjoy the night. its always nice when you ask "what time is checkout" and they reply, "what time do you plan on leaving?" be sure to head up into the mountains to camp before or after your stay, its beautiful up there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeathRayinCanvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portal
17.1 mi away
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort
10.8 mi away
D.D. Gamble Guest Lodge
8.4 mi away
Mountain Valley Lodge & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portal Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portal Peak Lodge

Property: Portal Peak Lodge
Address: 2358 Rock House Rd, Portal, AZ 85632-9950
Region: United States > Arizona > Portal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular haven for birders, hikers and nature lovers, our family run hotel has 16 comfortable, economical rooms. There are a deck and outside seating area where guests can relax and have a drink, watch the birds, and in the evening sit around the fire. Stop in at our cafe next door for a plate of enchiladas made with local Hatch chiles. For dessert try an espresso and homemade fruit cobbler. We specialize in providing accommodation for birding and other nature groups. For information and reservations call 520 558 2223. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portal Peak Hotel Portal
Portal Peak Lodge Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing