We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy, very basic, very remote retreat”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portal, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JamaisVu
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Comfy, very basic, very remote retreat”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We needed a quiet getaway & this certainly fit the bill. We stayed in the Apache two-room cottage on this rambling old ranch between Portal, AZ & Rodeo, NM. Other accommodations here include a motel room-type "cottage" & a small lodge for larger groups. Our cottage consisted of a nicely-appointed, if small, bathroom; there's a tub but the water heater is too small to supply a bath, which was a big disappointment. The small bedroom had a window & large sliding glass doors opening onto a private patio where we sat to watch birds. A combo living room / dining area had a teeny studio-style kitchenette. There was a full-size stove top (at least one heat ring didn't seem to work), a small microwave, a dorm-room size fridge & mini sink, as well as a couple cupboards stocked with basic table- & cook-ware. We had use of a full-size old fridge outside in a shared courtyard as well. Kitchen accoutrements are important to note because there are only two teensy, sad "stores" within reasonable driving distance, & a couple of basic cafes with random hours in the nearby towns. In other words, bring everything you need dining-wise; if you get to eat out, it's gravy. There's a coffee machine & bag-style, cheap coffee, as well as packets of sugar & whatnot, but that's about it. The bed was comfortable enough, as was the single bed in the living room. There's a very small satellite-enabled flat screen attached to a wall in the bedroom, & a CD player in the living room. And there's an outdoor chimenea where we had fires each nite, enjoying the sunsets over the Chiricahua Mountains. The owner provides wood but the little there was was mostly rotten so we gathered our own out in the national forest.
We had only a very brief encounter with Bill, one of the owners, who was nice & informative, & gave us a 2-minute tour of the cottage. I'm sure he'd have been very accommodating if we wanted / needed anything further. We were allowed to walk, with our dog, over parts of their property, but warned away from wandering the neighbors' yard (which seems like the same property, but isn't) or to engage with their horses.
We enjoyed our stay, were mostly comfortable ... & really appreciated the peace & quiet (except for the owners' shy dog who, when the owners were away, came over & barked at us almost non-stop). Potential-wise, if this were my place I'd: provide more basic kitchen / dining amenities; clean, fix & "prettify" the private patio to make it a more enjoyable place to sit; wash the windows; & definitely hang more & more diverse bird feeders (this area is known for birding, & this place could itself be a destination for that). We'd recommend 4-Bar to others, but only those who enjoy an almost uber-camping experience surrounded by beautiful country, hiking & birding.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
We found out that the water heater broke during this guest's stay. It has since been repaired with a new heating element, and once again can supply hot water for a full bath. Additionally, all four stove top burners work. The coffee we supply is Folger's- I guess it's the opinion of this guest that it's "cheap." We have plenty of split firewood in our large woodpile. All guests are told that if they need ANYTHING, to just let us know. I could have brought over plenty of firewood for them. At the Apache Cottage, we have seed, suet, thistle, hummingbird, and jelly feeders. This has been diverse enough for other birding guests. Also, we never had another guest complain about our shy dog barking - Could it have been due to the presence of their dog?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ish34
RI US
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A mont h in the mountains”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a wonderful month of October at 4 Bars cottages. We had been in the area 15 years earlier in our travel trailer. We wanted to come back but no longer had the trailer. We found 4 Bar cottages on line and so glad we did. Bill and Jill are great hosts and we enjoyed their pets Annie and Bella. We stayed in the Apache cottage and it was clean,comfortable and private. We enjoyed mornings on the patio watching the sun reflecting off the mountain and in the evening when it set behind the mountain. The covered porch area was comfortable during the day as there was shade and a breeze. If you're in the area consider a trip to the Wonderland of Rocks and Bisbee as well as the Portal store and café and the Rodeo tavern. If you liked birding and the mountains it's a fabulous place to stay. This is not a hotel and yes we'd recommend it.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley P
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in the Southwest!”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed there last week and were overwhelmed with the gorgeous location and the gracious hospitality of the hosts, Bill and Jill Cavaliere. The cottages are newly renovated with all new appliances and super comfortable beds. For a relaxing time on a working ranch, you can't beat the Four Bar Cottages. I think the best part was watching the sun rise from our front porch and the sun set behind the mountains from the patio area.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff A
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing and accommodating.”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here in May, 2015 for several days. The location is beautiful - at the base of the Chiricahua mountains with a gorgeous view of the valley and Peloncillo mountains to the east. The hosts (Jill and Bill) are just really great and genuine. Bill is a noted historian of the area - particularly of the Chiricahua Apaches. If you like history of the Old West and learning about the hard lives that people had, he's your guy. Jill is wonderful and charming. She is very easy going and very accommodating. She and Bill have a truly authentic southwest retreat. If you like peace and quiet and having the chance to step back and slow your busy life down, this is the place for you.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJS1000
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charm of the Old West”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful set of cottages is located in the heart of the San Simon Valley with a view of both the Chiricahua and Peloncillo mountains, very close to Cave Creek and so a wonderful location for birding, hiking, and exploring. The hosts are warm and friendly, the setting is enchanting, the accommodations new and clean, the desert air fresh, and the nights are so quiet you can hear the quiet...and the coyotes.
Wifi only in the main building. Near the AZ-NM state line.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing