We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birding the Chiricahua's”
Review of Quailway Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quailway Cottage
Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Birding the Chiricahua's”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

There are a limited number of places to stay in the Chiricahua's and by the time we decided to go the choices were limited. So on the recommendation of another property owner we stayed at Quailway.

First, the cottage is very nice. The rooms and beds were fine. The kitchen allowed us to save money on a couple of meals and we were able to wash some clothes in the laundry. There was detergent, but no dryer sheets (If you need those.) There is a water feature behind the cottage and bird feed for the feeders. We got the expected desert birds and a couple of migrating warblers. Nice. The cottage is only five miles from the Portal Store so even though were were out in the desert we were also only a few minutes from Cave Creek, etc. And the stars in the desert sky are wonderful.

Second, the place looks abandoned. I'm not sure if the old owners are looking to sell or if the new owners haven't quite moved in yet. We heard rumors both ways. But the main house, the feeder station out near the highway, the gardens, and the tools in the yard all look like someone just walked away. None of that detracted from our experience though. In fact it was kind of nice having the place to ourselves.

Room Tip: The feeders are behind the back bedroom. The first thing I did was fill the feeders from the can by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We loved the location. We were looking for low key place to stay and see some hummingbirds. This was it. The manager, Morgan, was so helpful with everything. She knew about hiking in area and some birdwatching tips. The place itself, was wonderful. While it was basic, it had things most places don't - spices, teas, house keeping supplies, cute dishes, etc. Morgan would keep the bird feeders full and we enjoyed the results even though we didn't know what was what. This will be a place to return to in future.

Room Tip: The sleeping at night was comfortable and so quiet. The birds start early before the sun. We enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEC308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I can't believe this great cottage hasn't received any additional reviews since my original one 18 months ago. Take my word for it, the guest book at the cottage is filled with wonderful comments. Anyway, this was our 2nd stay and as the title suggests, it was a great stay. The new managers are making improvement including wifi access and new bird feeders and bird watching areas. We spend early mornings and late afternoons at the cottage and saw tons of wildlife including daily Javenlinas, cottontails, lizards, and of course birds. This is a great cottage for wildlife lovers and it is really close to Portal. As an added bonus, the new manager is a professional bird watching guide and we spent a great morning with him during our stay. All of the attached pictures were taken on the grounds of the cottage so you can see for yourself how great the wildlife is. If you are staying near Portal and like nature, quiet and amazing stars don't hesitate to book at stay at the Quailway Cottage.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDH_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Quailway cottage is a great place to stay in the Portal/Rodeo/Cave Creek Canyon area. It is clean, comfortable and has everything you need to enjoy a short or long stay including a nice sized bathroom, washer/dryer and full kitchen with microwave. We spent two nights at the cottage recently, but unfortunately our staying coincided with the storm of the year. We had high winds, rain and it snowed in Portal and the canyon. The weather forced us to spend a lot of our time at the cottage itself instead of exploring the area. However, this didn't turn out to be so bad. Kristine and Larry have set up a desert garden behind the cottage that attracts all sorts of wildlife. We had dozens of birds at the feeders constantly even in the rain. The gambel's quail and woodpeckers were our favorites. But, the garden also attracts jackrabbits, cotton tail rabbits, Javelina (peccaries), coyotes, and apparently a bobcat. We saw coyotes a lot but missed seeing the javelinas and bobcat despite all our efforts (and all the rabbits that we thought would attract the bobcat).

The weather did clear enough to spend one afternoon in cave creek canyon and it is spectacular. There are lots of hiking opportunities in the canyon and of course wildlife to spot if you are quiet. We didn't get very far on the south fork trail because it was washed out by a flowing waterfall and stream caused by the recent rains, but we got a good enough taste of the area to know that we need to come back. If you are in to wildlife, stop by the Cave Creek Ranch which is just outside the canyon. They have set up feeders that attract lots of birds and while we were there; coati. We had a great time watching the family of coati pillage the feeders and just have a good old time. It was well worth the $5 visitor fee that the ranch asks for. I can't imagine how much food the ranch goes through on a daily basis since every feeder that didn't have a coati on it had other birds. There was even a nice blue-throated hummingbird hanging around for the winter. But, alas we weren't able to find the Elegant Trogon that sometimes hangs out in the canyon area.

All of the attached photos were taken from the patio of the cottage so you can see a sample of the birds and mammals that frequent the area. In the summer time, add lizards and snakes to that list I am sure.

There are other places to stay in the area but when we go back, we won't hesitate to stay at the Quailway Cottage. It is quiet, peaceful and the perfect getaway for nature lovers and wildlife watchers.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EDH_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyoming
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This cottage is such a jewel of an oasis. Not only is it clean and roomy, but the atmosphere is wonderful. The birds there are a must see, not to mention hearing the coyotes early in the morning. The owners are very pleasant. We would certainly return again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WyomingTrogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

If listening to coyotes howl at night, star gazing, bird watching or just enjoying some quiet down time are on your to do list check out the Quailway Cottage. This three room cottage has a full kitchen with stove top, fridge, wood stove and day bed, bathroom, laundry room and a bedroom with two comfortable beds. As an alternative for birders who might choose the Portal Peak Lodge the Cottage has the advantage of a full bird feeding station (complete with Gambel's quail, roadrunners, and a whole host of other species) viewable from a shaded patio. The Cottage keeps an updated "yard list" of birds and animals seen on the property.

The rooms were fairly spacious and the building was cool in the middle of the day without AC on (although AC is available). We liked having a fridge and cooking facilities available and in the evening had the choice of watching a DVD from the Cottage's library or satellite TV when we were tired of stargazing. Everything was kept very clean.

The Quailway Cottage offers excellent value for birders wanting to explore nearby Portal and Cave Creek Canyon. It is more comfortable and has more character than the Portal Peak Lodge and offers more amenities. We paid $100 + tax for 3 people for one night and liked it so much that we stayed an extra night.

Travel tips:
1. Make sure to buy food and gas in either Douglas, Lordsburg or Wilcox since Rodeo does not offer much in the way of groceries (there is a natural food store to the north of Rodeo that we saw on the way out of town that might be good).
2. Try the Rodeo Tavern in Rodeo for pizza on Thursday nights - you will probably have to wait for your pizza if you don't pre-order. There's also a restaurant at the Portal Peak Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripjimbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Quailway Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quailway Cottage

Property: Quailway Cottage
Address: 152 West Portal Road, Portal, AZ 85632
Region: United States > Arizona > Portal
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quailway Cottage is nestled midway between the Peloncillo Mountains in southwestern New Mexico and the Chiricahua Mountains in southeastern Arizona. It's a desert haven for a variety of birds and wildlife & offers amazing star-gazing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quailway Cottage Portal, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing