We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and excellent place to relax”
Review of Cave Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cave Creek Ranch
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Lovely location and excellent place to relax”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Cave Creek Ranch was far better than I had anticipated. The location is superb, being well within the canyon and has great views of the canyon.
The ranch has excellent accommodation which is spacious and the well equipped.
There are feeders for the birds and local wildlife which are well used, plus the cottages have their own supply of food for the birds, which are frequented by many Acorn Woodpecker.
Plenty of hummingbirds and woodpeckers but also rarer birds such as Mexican Chickadee, Arizona Woodpecker, Red-breasted Sapsucker and Yellow-eyed Junco.
Plenty of good mammals around as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you're wanting to get out into the wilderness without a tent (we do NOT camp) this is just an amazing place. I loved the feeling of being disconnected from TV, the constant barrage of advertising in the cites, cell phones and the internet etc... I felt like I was in a Disney movie with birds flying around my head (really, that happened, not a lie), deer and a Javelina eating 20 feet from where I was drinking coffee. The property is ethereal beautiful. We aren't bird watchers but were amazed at all the birds, and understand bird watchers come here from all over. Come prepared... there's nowhere to shop or eat except at very specific times. We stayed in the Stone Cabin. It was very clean and comfortable, if a little bit "frayed". Not luxurious at all. But everything you need is there. The owners are extremely helpful and warm. One of my favorite vacations, very romantic :). Will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaytwowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was my first time to Cave Creek Ranch (Oct. 11- 14) and my girlfriend and I had an absolutely wonderful time. The variety of birds and animals was amazing. The room was comfortable and the bed firm like l like it. But best of all was the gorgeous scenery. I'm a runner and the road into the park is beautiful with little traffic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pissarro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, TX
Level Contributor
244 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at the Cave Creek Ranch when we were in Portal Arizona for a birding trip. There are several buildings each having several rooms and one stand-alone cabin. We stayed in an end unit by the creek; not luxurious but very comfortable. Very relaxing stay and you can watch the birds when Reed Peters, the owner and manager, puts out bird seed early in the morning. There is no restaurant at the ranch so you either cook your own meals or go to a nearby general store and cafe. If you go into the birding areas, some of the roads are not paved, and it is very dusty.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

It should tell you something about the place that there is a token entry fee for people who are not *staying* there to come in and visit the grounds. It's one of the birdiest places in a very birdy place. CCR has feeders of several kinds that invite in all sorts of birds (as well as deer and javalinas, for those interested in other wildlife). And it's hard to beat birding from the comfort of a bench on the front porch of the main office, with other birders from all over the country -- and beyond. But you can also enjoy birding from the privacy of the front and/or back porch of most of the cabins. Hummingbirds, orioles, grosbeaks, buntings, Mexican Jays -- all kinds of birds!
Cabins are not fancy but quite comfortable -- clean, well equipped, with comfy beds.
Manager Reed Peters is a nice man and a great birder and can offer all kinds of advice. The office has a little shop -- support the local economy by buying a t-shirt! -- and a great natural history library.
Shop for basic food needs in the Safeway in Willcox. But be sure to have at least one dinner at the American Museum of Natural History Southwest Research Station just up the road. (Needs 24-hour advance reservations!) You must be there on time! The company is always interesting, and you can take wine or beer to accompany your dinner, if you like. (You can buy same in the little shop on the grounds.)
Be sure to walk the grounds at Cave Creek Ranch, and settle down by the creek, to see what birds will come in. Be sure NOT to take the wrong fork in the road and end up on private grounds beyond the property line -- dangerous dogs on the loose there!
Spring and fall are the best time to visit. Oh, yes, and take binoculars!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This lodge is quiet, comfortable, and great for nature lovers, birders and hikers. We saw every bird we'd hoped for, plus many more. Our species count was over 70 by the end of the week, which was astonishing to me for a North American birding site. My husband and I stayed in a nice cottage with well equipped kitchen, and enjoyed dining under a tree full of ripe mulberries, which drew in over 100 birds per day. This lodge is NOT intended for luxury-seekers, and if you're not into nature-viewing you may be disappointed. On the property you'll find lizards, snakes, many birds, javelina, deer and possibly big cats. Reed (the owner) is very helpful in pointing you toward the wildlife you seek. Bring plenty of food, fill your gas tank before arriving, and plan to do some hiking. Nature tours through http://www.naturalistjourneys.com/portal are highly recommended.

Room Tip: We took the Woodland cottage. We recommend any cottage with a fireplace. The nights are cool, even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horsey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I spent four nights here in April. The units are clean and comfortable but it the setting that makes this place so special. I was up early to watch the color change on the mountains as the sun came up. I could stand 3 feet from the hummingbirds feeders as the birds arrived first thing in the morning for breakfast--6 different species when I was there. There were many other species of birds at the other feeders. And then there were the deer and the javelinas and the stray cows. The surrounding mountains are just waiting to be explored. It is a beautiful place and I will be back.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cave Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Creek Ranch

Property: Cave Creek Ranch
Address: 1396 W Piedra Blanca Lane, Portal, AZ 85632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Portal
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Portal
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Creek Ranch is a peaceful retreat from the modern world. Surrounded by spectacular scenery, the simple rooms and cottages are clean and neat. While there is Wi-Fi on our front porch, the rooms are free of modern noise and distractions -- no cell service, TVs, or radios. We do have a small library in every room, and more books on natural history available to borrow from the office. Guests tell us they haven't slept so well in years; we think it's because they can relax and get away from the news. Cell service is available a mile away in downtown Portal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cave Creek Ranch Hotel Portal
Cave Creek Ranch Portal, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing