We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for wildlife watching!”
Review of Cave Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cave Creek Ranch
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place for wildlife watching!”
Reviewed 23 August 2009

If you're looking for a posh resort, this isn't the place to go. This is more rustic, doesn't have room service, and should be viewed more like renting an apartment. However, if you're going to southern Arizona to immerse yourself in as much nature as possible, this is one of my favorites.

I stayed at the Cave Creek Ranch for three nights in early August (my fourth visit there over the past six years). The bird feeders, deer, snakes, and other animals were incredible. Reed (the owner) lives nearby and had tons of great advice, even heading out once with me to look for an owl when he wasn't busy.

Every unit comes with a small, remodeled kitchen containing a stove, kitchen, utinsels, etc. I've found it's easiest here just to fix my own meals, use the ranch as a base, and also to spend evenings watching the wildlife all around and speaking with other people staying there. Reed has converted the main house into a larger unit, which might be the best choice for someone wanting a less rustic feel (might be a good choice for a family reunion as well?). The other units are converted from an old hunting ranch and are clean and comfortable (do keep in mind that they are restored from older buildings). The cliffs around the grounds are beautiful, as is the stream running through the east side of the property.

For nature lovers going to southern Arizona looking for more of an apartment rather than just a room to stay in with great wildlife viewing (particularly birds right on the grounds), I think Cave Creek would be a great choice. I'm sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live4VacationTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful place in Cave Creek, near Portal, Az, next door to the Chiracaua National Forest.
The new owners have really brightened up the rooms; ours was freshly painted, and had a full kitchen: range, refrigerator, coffee pot, but no microwave. We also had a separate bedroom with a single bed; this was a great place to dump our gear and clothes. The rooms have no tv or phones, but ours had sunflower seeds in it to fill the birdfeeder which was right outside our room. The rooms also have spectacular views of the rock formations in Cave Creek.
I have not stayed in the rooms in Portal, but Cave Creek is a much nicer atmosphere.
The owned gave us a detailed map of the best places to see birds and hike. There is a main lodge room with a library and a nice porch, with plenty of chairs to sit and watch the deer and numerous birds at the feeders. Lots of hummingbirds!
There is also a restaurant nearby at the Portal Store, which has good food.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGJ1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Cave Creek Ranch in one of the stone cottages. The relaxing environment, watching the wildlife from our back porch next to the creek was an amazing experience. We had a lovely stone fireplace which just added to the experience. I would highly recommend the cave creek ranch if you love nature, quiet, and need a wonderful place to relax and become inspired. Reed the owner was helpful and available if we would have needed him.
We will return......

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cnlcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2006

We visited Cave Canyon Ranch for two nights in late November. Unfortunately, it was unseasonably cold and the gas fireplace in our "Woodland" cottage wasn't working. The one portable electric heater didn't make a dent in the sub-freezing weather and we spent a very uncomfortable first night. Night number two was a little better after the managers brought us more blankets and another heater. They also charged us half price for our second night, along with many apologies. The cottage itself was nicely appointed with a full kitchen and microwave and a small bathroom. Best of all was the big corner window by the dining room table that looked out into the woods near Cave Creek. The managers had thoughtfully left a cannister of sunflower seeds with which we tempted the birds. But the multiple feeders and vegetation near the ranch office brought many bird visitors, and on a walk nearby we spotted a bobcat. Nearby hiking was lovely; the canyon is pretty breath-taking. Days were very quiet and nights offered terrific star-gazing. We packed in our own food, including hot soup that we ate for breakfast, lunch and dinner (to keep warm). Had dinner at the tavern one evening in Rodeo, NM which was typical tiny town cuisine but colorful.

  • Liked — beautiful scenery
  • Disliked — unheated cabin
  • Tips/Secrets — check out the web site
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank centralcoastlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cave Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Creek Ranch

Property: Cave Creek Ranch
Address: 1396 W Piedra Blanca Lane, Portal, AZ 85632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Portal
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Portal
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Creek Ranch is a peaceful retreat from the modern world. Surrounded by spectacular scenery, the simple rooms and cottages are clean and neat. While there is Wi-Fi on our front porch, the rooms are free of modern noise and distractions -- no cell service, TVs, or radios. We do have a small library in every room, and more books on natural history available to borrow from the office. Guests tell us they haven't slept so well in years; we think it's because they can relax and get away from the news. Cell service is available a mile away in downtown Portal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cave Creek Ranch Hotel Portal
Cave Creek Ranch Portal, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing