We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Novel Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Apache Junction, Arizona
2 reviews
“A Novel Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Recently stayed at The Motor Lodge in Prescott, Arizona. Located them through Trip Advisor or I would have never stopped. Were traveling with my wife and two adult daughters visiting us from Arkansas. The Motor Lodge was a delight. Funky colors, decorated with garage sale furniture, but lots of fun. One of the owners, Joe, greeted us with a question on our preference on wine. We were served wine on the porch of the daughters cottage; and were given a history of the Lodge. Clean, delightful, and fun. Don't visit Prescott without an overnight stay at the Lodge.

Room Tip: Reservations are easy. Call 928 717-0157
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppyre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    48
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
289
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

OK with all the number one reviews this place gets, what can I add. We stayed there in June, 2011 and came back in July with family. Well, I could say that the TV remote did not work on the first stay, but then again there was so much else to look at with the unique decor, collector items, classic bikes to borrow and friendly encounters with other quests who cares? We didn't even tell the office about it. Or, I could say that all the little individual carports are from the 1950's (or older) and modern cars don't fit well and its hard to get in and out, but then there wouldn't be the character that makes this motor lodge, "THE MOTOR LODGE", and besides, where else do you get a private carport anyway? Or I could say that some of the shower heads coming out of the ceiling are so high they are hard for a short person to adjust the spray, but then how would I explain spending an extra 20 minutes in the bathroom just admiring the craftsmanship of the tile work and wondering how anyone could be so creative in this modern era of sameness. Yeah, what could I say?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthusiast_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Motor Lodge, after having driven by it on previous trips and finding it charming. Only 3 blocks (easy walk) from the town square in Prescott, this motel which was originally built in the early 1900's has been lovingly restored in the last three years by the new owners. A word about the owners - Brian was extremely helpful, friendly, and accommodating. I've never met him before, but it was like we were old buddies.

Each room retains the old drive-in garage from days gone by, but each room is uniquely decorated - you'll find no hum-drum chain-hotel furniture here! Every room also has its own private deck or porch. Our room (#6) boasted a king bed that REALLY is a king bed - the headboard is shaped like a crown, and two crowns decorate the top of the headboard. The place has a feel of the 40's or 50's, but it also has a kind of campy Tim Burtonish flair. I say this with all respect: it's a cross between the Brat Pack and To Wong Foo (Google it if you didn't see it).

Although we had a car, we didn't use it much. The Motor Lodge is within walking distance of some great places to shop and eat (including a VERY authentic Mexican restaurant right across the street).

Finally, when you consider this place, don't think of it as a value-hotel (thought it is a great value), but as a very personalized boutique hotel. I give it two thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bishopkenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

When checking in the owner was so nice, he offered us wine or beer and the kids pop! You don't get that at a chain hotel! He showed us to our unit which we stayed in the one called 'the apartment'. It was so cute and stylish! Loved it. It has 2 bedrooms a bathroom, little living room and kitchen. There are some utencils/cups/pots/pans if you needed (which we did not, but there if you need them). The beds were comfy! There is an air conditioner in the living room area that cooled the whole place nicely. We only stayed one night but had wished we stayed longer in Prescott! We even had a 25' rv and it was easy to park right out front on the main street. When we checked out the next morning and handed in the keys, the owner was so nice, he made us fresh cookies to take on our way! Oh, and they were delicious !!!!! He also asked where we were headed and suggested some scenic routes to go...which we did and would have never done without his advise and the route was very nice! Thanks so much!!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelgnome2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Here is the deal, maybe you can relate. For the past twenty-plus years my wife, daughter and I have been visiting relatives in Prescott. We have stayed in everything from a chain hotel to the guest room in a retirement home. Nothing felt right...especially when it came to the disconnect from enjoying oneself in the plaza area (really the only place we would do the tourist thing) and then retiring to a overly processed hotel property directly off of a motor highway.
This time we wanted our visit to be different, especially as we were anticipating the stay to be rather stressful. Our relatives had been reduce to a relative, my wife's 96 year old god-mother. Once again I went to the listings in Trip Advisor and was pleasantly surprised to find The Motor Lodge. We had driven past this location for years but was unaware that three years ago new owners began to work their magic on the property.
Let me stop yabbering and reduce the experience to one word...FUN!
From the moment we arrived we were treated as friends. When was the last time you can say that about your check-in experience?
The room was wonderfully decorated. You are dazzled by the loving detail that went into each unique room.
I was concerned about having autos parked in the common area but I slept like a baby and didn't notice the activity outside the room.
I could go on but here is the bottom line...for whatever reason you find yourself in Prescott, add to the experience by staying at The Motor Lodge. It just might be the best thing about your visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

My husband and I decided at the last minute to spend 4th of July in Prescott. I checked on Trip Advisor for hotels and found this little gem of a hotel. The owners were awesome - friendly and greeted us with a beer. They also had a map and tons of advice on things to do around the area (we had never been to Prescott before)! It is a very hip, remodeled Motor Lodge that is just a few blocks away from Whiskey Row and the Court House square. We are already planning a trip back to the Motor Lodge in the fall!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethyboo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, ID
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed at the Motor Lodge in Prescott for 5 nights on our vacation and it was one of the best experiences ever. The owners/staff are knowledgeable, friendly, fun. We will be back and we would have no hesitancy recommending this venue.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#8 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
4.0 mi away
Residence Inn Prescott
Residence Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Property: The Motor Lodge
Address: 503 S Montezuma St, Prescott, AZ 86303-4225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#1 Best Value Hotel in Prescott
#4 Family Hotel in Prescott
#5 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing