We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new level of customer service”
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A new level of customer service”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Most of the reviews already posted here outline just how wonderful a place the motor lodge is to stay however the majority of the reviews have been written by American visitors so we felt we ought to put in a review from an international travellers perspective. My wife and I have just returned from a 2 week stay in Phoenix Arizona as we are looking to relocate there and wanted to find out more about the area and surroundings. Firstly Prescott itself is a fantastic advertisement for the USA with a lovely local feel to it and amazing national parks right on the doorstep. We arrived at the motor lodge fresh from a Grand Canyon excursion and were immediately welcomed as if we were old friends by Joe with an offer of beer and wine refreshment. We stayed in room 9 which was a delightful mixture of vintage chic and contemporary style and the bed was without doubt the most comfortable we stayed in on our whole trip. Joe immediately put us at ease with recommendations of where to eat (check out the tapas place el gato ezul) for great food at very reasonable prices. Whiskey row has a number of bars and traditional saloons to try some of the local microbrews in and everyone we met was so friendly. We were so impressed with the motor lodge and Prescott as a whole we decided to extend our stay for a second night ( luckily our room was available) and spent a second day hiking in the Watson, Goldwater and lynx lake areas which are all very different but equally as picturesque in their own way. We ate at the Gurley street grill on our second night which was also a great dining experience and breakfast was consumed at the lone star cafe on both days at Joe's suggestion for an authentic Amercian breakfast experience. Joe did warn the portions were large and he wasn't exaggerating but qualiity was in no way sacrificed for quantity and we were wished well by the staff there with a t shirt, hat and coffee mug souvenirs of the experience as soon as they discovered we were British. The motor lodge takes customer service to a new level and there are many good reasons why the reviews on here are so impressive. Nothing is too much trouble and we also met the delightful Kim who was so helpful in providing us with local area knowledge for our hiking and even sending us on our day out with very tasty cookies. It is no exaggeration to say that our experience at the motor lodge has played a large part in making our decision to relocate to Arizona and we will definitely be back once we become proper Arizonans.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    51
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
298
37
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Motor Lodge is always our favorite place to go when wanting to get away. Joe and Brian, the owners, are the most gracious hosts! We have enjoyed getting to know them over the years. They are always working hard on the place. We always look forward to seeing what new things they have done since our previous visit. Currently they are working on "The Hideaway". It's going to be a little oasis, close but still very private. We are looking forward to seeing it upon completion. This visit we stayed in Room 6, which we have nicknamed "The Stardust" room. The bed is actually from the Stardust Hotel in Las Vegas. Our daughter stayed in Room 2. All rooms are uniquely decorated. Hospitality is beyond words. Wonderful place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiedavemesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a great place in a very nice location, just south of old downtown Prescott. After a great Memorial Day weekend stay, I liked this place so much that I figured I'd sign up for Tripadvisor just to put in a good word. Let's go over the positives...

First, really nice ownership. Wonderful people running the front office. The owner/manager when we visited was really friendly and helpful! The prices are reasonable, too.

Second, creative and cool decor. If you like vintage stuff, you're going to be in your element... every room has all kinds of antiques and vintage goodies, from furniture, to lighting. Oh, and one more fun bit is the bicycles on offer. I didn't use them this time, but I will next time... downtown Prescott is a really pleasant place to go for a ride.

Third, comfortable beds. This counts for a lot!

Fourth, walking distance from good places to eat. There's a great place for burgers and beer just a few doors down, a good tapas place around the corner, and you're just a 5-10 minute walk away from Whiskey Row.

Fifth, just a ten or fifteen minute drive (at most) away from excellent places to hike, including National Forest trails, and Prescott City trails (I'd recommend hiking at the dells near Willow Creek or Watson Reservoirs).

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay somewhere quirky, fun, and unique, while still on a light budget. Great value and a lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We loved our stay at the Motor Lodge. The motel is from another era, but has been delightfully renovated. It's stylish, warm and fun.

Our room, room 8, was perfect for our family of five (kids ages 3, 5 and 8). The kitchenette enabled us to serve of kids cereal for breakfast, and the separate bedroom enabled mom and dad to retain their sanity. The shower stall is small -- which we expected given the age of the building -- but it was absolutely manageable, even with small kids.

The owners are absolutely delightful and you can see all the care and attention to detail the have put into The Motor Lodge. This motel is a fun, boutique experience far superior to any chain motel or hotel. We have stayed at the Prescott Resort on previous trips and, while its adequate, it doesn't have the character, charm or spaciousness of The Motor Lodge.

We found The Motor Lodge's pricing to be in line with other establishments. in fact we felt we got a lot more for our money at The Motor Lodge.

I would highly recommend The Motor Lodge.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casa grande, az
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Pleasantly surprised when the hotel called, without any prompting, to say that my room was ready and had been upgraded. They had scheduled work to be done in the original assigned room. Received beer for me and wine for the wife on check in. Each room had a bicycle assigned to it but you could check with the office and use any that were available. Firewood stacked in the garage/car port, but the fireplaces are all gas burning. Quirkiness all over the property, yellow rubber tug boat in the shower, porch chair made out of shopping cart, no homeless guy in the area. Evening fireplace on the deck of the office for all to use that want to socialize. All in all a great experience. Only 5 short walking blocks to Whiskey Row, old Courthouse Square/park where something is ALWAYS going on.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be about the same. Some have carports, those that don't, have a marked park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I was lucky enough to stay one night in The Motor Lodge,because my daughter had recommended it.After driving for eight hours from New Mexico,I was so pleased to find that all my daughter's ratings were 100% true.The Motor Lodge is not only the coolest motel I have ever stayed in for the money,but also the most comfortable.Everything in room is very attractive,as well as being to quality.The bed was super deluxe,as was the bedding was exceeding comfortable.I loved the duvet,I swear I could use it ,if stranded in the Arctic,and I would still be warm.The owners,Brian and Joe,were delightful . Brian even let me use his cell phone ,so I could call my wife in an emergency.in summary,I highly recommend ths lovely Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Imagine a road trip across Arizona in 1954 with the landscape dotted with small motel courts. That is what this place was/is!
Great king size beds, tv and all the now amenities with the style of the '50.
Individual patios with a view of the butter...who could ask for more, but there is....beer in the refrigerator and fresh cookies in the morning! This is a must stop.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the south so you can see the butte
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PChumbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
773 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#13 of 22 in Prescott
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Property: The Motor Lodge
Address: 503 S Montezuma St, Prescott, AZ 86303-4225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#1 Best Value Hotel in Prescott
#4 Family Hotel in Prescott
#5 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing