We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even with a fresh coat of paint, its still really old.”
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This was touted as one of the best but for $99 per night its overrated. For starters we had no hot water at 10 pm for a shower. By the way, the bathroom is about the size of an RV or airplane restroom. My shoulders were touching both walls as I stood at the sink. The shower has a big sprinkler can type head directly above your head. Odd. There were no water glasses, just 2 coffee cups.
The motel is U shaped and you must drive uphill to your room. Most larger vehicles had to back in going uphill (too tight to turn around).
Did I say this motel is old? The floor sags to the right in the kitchenette. Yes, it does have a little kitchen (actually bigger than the bathroom). The owners gave us each a welcome can of beer which is kind of nice. Remember Northern Exposure and the B&B, those guys are back.
The bed was soft and comfortable. The bedding was definitely upscale from what you usually get in a motel and the room decorations had a personal (not corporate) feel.
The motel is on Montezuma, a few blocks from Whiskey Row, the main attraction in Prescott, but not so close as too be bothered by traffic or noise.
This would be ok at $69 per night but not 1 king bed that fills the room and no breakfast for $99.
The boys did kick back $30 for not having hot water and having water running in the toilet all night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DahausOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livingspearbj, Owner at The Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2009

Well, we knew it would happen eventually but, OUCH! Let’s start at the top of his list and work down.
We are listed as the 8th least expensive place to stay in Prescott as compiled by Tripadvisor (not bad out of 24). We did provide a $30 refund for the inconvenience of having to wait to take a hot shower in the morning (two rooms do draw off the same new 90 gallon water heater).
The” sprinkler can type” head in the small bathroom is what the youngsters these days are calling a rain showerhead. We opted for them because they give you a bit more room in the shower. Odd, yes…delightfully odd! As noted, we don’t put glasses in the bathroom opting instead for individually wrapped cups.
The Motor Lodge is center facing as many of the “old” motor courts are and somewhat limited on parking. However, even my dear, “old” mother is able to turn her big Ford Expedition around. My mom is, however, a darn good driver considering how “old” she is.
Speaking of”old”, we are aware of the sags and droops in this “old” girl (The Motor Lodge, not my mother). We like to think of them as proof that she has been around a bit and expressions of a life lived. It is all about perception. What some call crow’s feet and wrinkles others call character and charm.
The new toilet did run all night due to a worn-out thingee-majigger in the tank (it has been replaced). I am glad it didn’t bother them since they said that they “couldn’t even hear it with the bathroom door closed”.
We know that we aren’t for everyone and that some people won’t get it and that’s okay. I do hope, however, that “DahausOC” enjoyed the cookies we made for them the morning that they drove home. If the “old” adage, “birds of a feather flock together “ is true, it is for the best that this gentleman not recommend The Motor Lodge to his friends...too many wrinkles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2009

We booked with The Motor Lodge after reading the reviews... Everything is true : The divine beds, super clean, loved my porch, the lights on the trees at night. Also an ample refer for drinks and food. . There are 12 rooms/ seperately built, super charming. Joe,Brian and Chopper are great

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capodaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

If you are looking for an affordable, cozy and friendly place to stay with the most wonderful hosts you have to stay here. I went with a group of riders for Memorial Weekend and we all just loved the warm welcome as well as beer, wine and fresh baked cookies offered by Joe and Brian!! The king size bed was heavenly. I didn't want to leave. It's close to Whiskey Row as well as fabulous shops and restaurants! It will definitely be my 1st choice for future visits!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadkingaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Stayed at The Motor Lodge for a couple of nights before heading down into the Grand Canyon. We fully endorse all the enthusiastic comments in the posts below. This is a really friendly place with good rooms and loads of character.

To be boringly practical the following might be of use if you're thinking of staying at The Motor Lodge:
- there's a store nearby for beer, water, snacks etc; (To put in your fridge and enjoy on your deck!)
- a couple of minutes walk away there's a good place for breakfast (Roosters)
and
- the centre of Prescott is not more than a 10 minute stroll.
And , yes, Prescott does have outdoor shops for those forgotten items and stove gas.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surreyimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Everything in our room was new and up to date. The fireplace really makes it cozy. My wife and I had a fantastic time there for 5 nights. Joe and Brian were great hosts, and I have to mention Chopper " the friendliest dog". Pull right into your front door. No long hallways and no elevators. We are going back this fall.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaTom51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

My boyfriend and I were traveling through Prescott and luckily, we stopped by the motor lodge. They had 1 room left and we snapped it up! The Suite was great. Loved the decor and the charm of the rooms. Very clean, very cute. We will definitely stay here again.
Raymond was the best and we loved Chopper!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msk8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Excellent place. As all other reviewers have stated, you have to stay here! I just got back to Phoenix after 3 nights at the MotorLodge and I hated to leave. Clean, comfy, and friendly differentiates this gem from the impersonal corporate chains.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FastApacheEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#1 of 22 in Prescott
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#7 of 22 in Prescott
870 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Prescott
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Address: 503 S Montezuma St, Prescott, AZ 86303-4225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Prescott
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#4 Family Hotel in Prescott
#5 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range: £78 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing