We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could ask for.."hey mom, where's the....”
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2010

"We were in Prescott for a workshop and wanted a nice, pleasant, clean place to stay. The Motor Lodge delivered that and more. Brian answered our called about availability. We travel with a service dog and had just been rebuffed by a local B & B owner. So rather than have another unpleasant incident we wanted to check with the Motor Lodge's owner's before making the reservation. Brian could not have been kinder and more welcoming when we called and followed through when we arrived.

He and Chopper, the Motor Lodge mascot, greeted us as we drove up to register. Chopper greeted my service dog and there was no question that we were welcome to stay. Chopper is a wonderful friendly dog, who gave me the feeling that she protects Brian and Joe, the Motor Lodge, and all the guests staying there.

The room was retro funky, with the most comfortable King size bed and wonderful down comforter. The kitchenette was greatly appreciated. Even though we like to eat out, it is nice to have a kitchen and a refrigerator for left overs and snacks. Even a full size coffee maker for that first cup of coffee in the morning. What a better way to greet the day, but to sit out on our deck with a cup of coffee.

Did I say clean? Yes and very very clean. The bathrooms were stocked with thick full sized bath towels, yummy soaps, shampoos and conditioners, as well as hand and body cream. Again...clean clean clean. And not that antiseptic smelling clean, but a fresh mountain air clean.

Brian and Joe had wonderful suggestions of where to eat, listen to music and shop. Every suggestion hit the mark, from breakfest at The Rooster Cafe, to dinner at 129 1/2: An American Jazz Grill. Thank you for all the great ideas.

After a wonderful 4 day stay, we are packing up and getting ready to hit the road. We will definitely return to The Motor Lodge. It is a great reason to visit Prescott!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foster7204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2010

I loved my stay at the Motor Lodge. I came to Prescott from the Pine Forest side and said to my self, I want to stay there - The Motor Lodge. It is super cute, well cared for and a one of a kind jewel.The owners definately pour their heart and soul into the place. They are so close to town, walking to town and go shopping worked really well. I can't wait to come back. I was soooo happy, the rooms were nicely decorated, a little retro cool thing going on. It is so worth the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radley19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

What a great place and great owners. We came in late from a long day and the owners had two cold drinks and a welcome note for us in the room. The beds are really comfortable and the comforter is soft and everything smells like it just came out of the dryer - clean and fresh. Got a separate room for the teens and we were all happy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

At the motor lodge Brian & Joe make you feel like you're a special guest by giving you such a warm welcome and caring for you, you feel great from the first minute on.
This place is just charming, they furnished the cozy rooms with lots of taste.
We'd love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tixxxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

If you read most of my reviews I will at one time or another express my disdain for 'mcrooms'. I tend to stay in places that are a little more funky, retro, hip or otherwise off the charts of the typical american traveler.
Having said that, The Motor Lodge fits my bill PERFECTLY. What was once a 100 year old stand of cabins has been transformed into a hip, funky, cool and comfortable motel/inn.
I was met at the front desk with a glass of wine, which automatically increased their rating by two stars no matter what else would have happened, and about an hour after I checked in was surprised by a knock at the door at which time I was presented with hot fresh chocolate chip cookies. Seriously. These guys know what they are doing.
The room I was in was smallish, but remember the 100 year old cabin part, and it also had a kitchen and a bathroom. The bathroom was by far the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. I could barely fit in the shower and I barely fit in to see the mirror. Everything else was so awesome I really cant complain. I knew what I was getting and I really dont care. The place was so fun!
Also, I am a bed guy, I MUST have a good bed. These beds while not my own, were pretty darn comfortable.
It is a short walk to Whiskey Row and the guys gave me a great suggestion for dinner. Although I almost didnt make it as most of the town closes at 8.
If you are a travel prima donna and require the W dont stay here. If you want a fun, welcoming and comfortable place to stay you couldnt do better.

I am currently gathering a group of friends to drag up to Prescott for a fun weekend and will make them all stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Already plenty of positive reviews about this place so I´ll keep it short. This is a classic old-style motel upgraded to the high comfort zone. Idiosyncratic, intelligent and interesting, it is the kind of place that stands out from the normal run of anodyne chain motels, and one you will always remember. We had a de-luxe room which had a gorgeous bed and a fab gas "log fire": just too cosy for words. The space limitations of the motel building leave the shower as perhaps the weakest link (hard to negotiate without wetting the floor), but hey, if you want a great big shower with a curved rail then find a Marriott or Hilton. The welcome from the two owners far exceeded reasonable call of duty: how do they do that with all these strangers knocking on the door every day? You can use their tandems and bikes, and they will recommend good places to eat and drink within walking distance in lovely Prescott. An easy drive to the Grand Canyon (3 hours max) and Prescott is so much nicer than other towns we saw in Arizona. Try the walk around Watson Lake to the Granite Dells.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bicholisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

I loved my stay at The Motor Lodge! The owners are very warm and inviting...I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Prescott!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#8 of 22 in Prescott
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
815 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#13 of 22 in Prescott
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#10 of 22 in Prescott
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Address: 503 S Montezuma St, Prescott, AZ 86303-4225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Prescott
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#4 Family Hotel in Prescott
#5 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range: £90 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing