We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service. Overpriced. Will not even Try to go Ever again.”

Esoji Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 222 Restaurants in Prescott
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible Service. Overpriced. Will not even Try to go Ever again.”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

There was 6 of us that ate here. The service at this restaurant was Horrible-never seen before!! From our drink orders right down to the Bill, was all Wrong! They over charged us, got our order wrong and made the 6 of us pay an 18% gratuity which is rare. They did not let us know we would be charged this either. The server started to take drink orders from 2 of the people we were with and just walked away. The same thing happened when she took our food order. She did not not know the difference between large and small saki and it seemed she didnt even know what sushi really was. Our one friend received his last roll when we were paying the bill. Horrible timing and horrible service!! I nicely complained that everything was wrong and the complaint was not even acknowledged! The food was just OK. I will never give that restaurant a second look!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    11
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Deeelish!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The sushi was extremely fresh and the saki was amazing. The restaurant was very crowded though which didn't provide a good atmosphere for our date. It was more of a family atmosphere. Expect a bit of a wait though. It took quite a while to get our food and we only ordered a couple items. All in all it was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelinaL992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in Prescott!!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

If you enjoy Japanese Cuisine including Sushi, look no further than Esoji on Gurley Street in downtown Prescott. We have taken friends who lived in Japan, friends who enjoy the finest Sushi restaurants in the US and they LOVE it!! Esoji offers a large variety of rolls and the bento box is incredible! If you want a special "secret" treat as for the Escolar appetizer which is absolutely delicious! Great service, fresh ingredients and a friendly staff who remembers us always! We dine in or enjoy carry out. Try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetohike1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Japanese in the Wild West”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Esoji offers a sushi bar and good selection of traditional Japanese dishes, as well as Japanese beers and of course, sake. When I visited the staff were friendly and service prompt. I decided to have lunch there after craving a katsudon and some miso. Although they did not have katsudon, chicken katsu was among the offerings. The chicken katsu was generously sized and very authentic - a hearty dish for a cold day!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cawls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We've been here multiple times. Always good. Service is great. Atmosphere is nice, location is stellar. Ate there New Years Eve. Good sushi, good sake, just plain good. Decent prices too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank ChatWithMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Esoji Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Esoji Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing