We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this old hotel in Prescott!!!”
Review of Hotel St. Michael

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Michael
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The only place I would stay while visiting Prescott. Love this historic hotel in downtown Prescott,like the rooms that face the plaza as we like to be in the center of the action on Whiskey Row. The rooms are the perfect size for a nice weekend get away and are always clean. The bathroom is quaint and clean and the corridors are always kept neat & clean. We love the historic charm of the old fashioned elevator, it adds the character that we expect when visiting the hotel. The staff is absolutely AMAZING, very friendly, and accommodating. The rates are reasonable for a hotel right on Whiskey Row. The hotel provides a discounted breakfast coupon at their adjoining Bistro St. Michael.

Room Tip: Do not get a room that backs up to Matt's Saloon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed here every time we come to Prescott starting way back in 1994, and while yes I agree some updates would be nice such as the TV's and the beds including linens, We wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff is always so accommodating and friendly especially on this last trip the 2 gentlemen working when we arrived and whom we spoke to over the course of our stay were great even going so far as to keep me company while I waited for my husband to run to the parking garage. I’m sorry to say that I can't remember their names to pat them on the back in this forum I will thank them again in person. We stayed recently on May 19 and already have booked for Labor Day weekend and can't wait. Again my favorite and only place to stay in Prescott!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Hotel St. Michael is our favorite place to stay in Prescott. The hotel is historic, quaint and full of charm! We personally like the rooms that face the plaza as we like to be in the center of the action on Whiskey Row. The rooms are the perfect size for a nice weekend get away and are always clean. The bathroom is quaint and clean and the corridors are always kept neat & clean. We love the historic charm of the old fashioned elevator, it adds the character that we expect when visiting the hotel. The staff is absolutely AMAZING, very friendly, and accommodating. The rates are reasonable for a hotel right on Whiskey Row. The hotel provides a free FULL breakfast at their adjoining Bistro St. Michael. The breakfast is delicious, the portions are plenty and the service is great. It is very rare to find a hotel that includes a free FULL (eggs, bacon, potatoes, toast, coffee) breakfast with each night's stay. We love how close the hotel is in location to all of the shopping, restaurants & bars on Whiskey Row. Everything is in walking distance. We look forward to our weekends in Prescott, more specifically at Hotel St. Michael. We park the car & don't drive again until we check out. If you are looking for historic charm & quaintness then I highly recommend Hotel St. Michael. We won't stay anywhere else when we visit Prescott!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighanne_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

If you were to base a review solely on the staff, breakfast and location, this would have been a five star experience - HOWEVER...one does need (a bit) of sleep, a clean room, and a comfy bed - none of which are delivered by the Hotel St. Michael.

Yes (!) It's a cool old building, and honestly, the location is fabulous DURING THE DAY - right on the square. Great for walking to everything wonderful Prescott has to offer.

No (!) The evenings / nights (from dark until about four am) are LOUD! Between the motorcycles, police sirens, bars (and drunk patrons of same) there isn't much to recommend a stay. Having said that, I am no longer the "party person" I once could have been, and perhaps might have enjoyed it more at that age.

No (!) Our room. We faced the square, so nice little view, but it felt neglected and dirty - you didnt want to take your shoes off and walk barefoot on the carpet ...or sit on top of the bedspread (even clothed)...

No (!) The bathroom was tiny, dark, (one of the two lightbulbs over the mirror was out) and the shower was not a pretty sight (although it's not lit, perhaps happily)...the soapdish in the shower was, well, nasty, and, sadly, the shower clogged the last evening we were there, and remained clogged the next morning.

Yes (!) Breakfast (included) was wonderful, in the cool little bistro attached to the hotel. And the hotel and wait staff couldnt have been nicer. Both big pluses.

Final opinion? A getaway doesnt have to be luxurious to be special, but for a "romantic" weekend, or even a weekend with friends, this would have to be a miss.

Room Tip: If you go, ask for an interior room with no walls attached to those the hotel shares with a bar, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hotel St. Michael is a historic building with some charm. It's located on the famous Prescott Whiskey Row. The rooms are good size but the beds are in dire need of replacement. The rooms also lack a small fridge. There was no alarm clock and the TV was an old/antiquated CRT type that had poor picture quality. The complimentary breakfast was good but you basically have only one choice or a $5 credit off any other menu item. The staff was very nice and eager to help. All-in-all I would rate the Hotel St, Michael as average at best. Probably will not stay there again. I should add that if you have allergies beware. Whenever I was in the room my allergies exploded. I'm sure it was from the carpet.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Gurly street. If you have a room on the whiskey row side you probably won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Living in Prescot uk we just had to stay one night! The hotel was extremely dated and rooms basic but clean
Corridors reminded us of the tower of terror ride in Disney lol, but it had a clean bathroom and comfortable bed just not luxury!
Breakfast was included in the price and the restaurant was the opposite of the rooms, quite fancy and was busy as non guests could purchase breakfast so the place was busy which is always a good sign
The breakfast itself was lovely, by far the best we had. Hot food or continental with unlimited tea or coffee with large portions.
Attached to the hotel is a. Small indoor shopping centre with cobbled streets in keeping with the old world theme of the hotel.
Parking was in the street right outside the hotel and was free from 5 pm until 10 am, so no problem
Great location right on whiskey row right in the centre of town!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I recently stayed two nights at the Hotel St. Michael in Prescott, AZ. It's right on the square - walking distance to just about everything. If you are interested in staying at historic places this will fill the bill. It's about one hundred years old. You realize this when you find the small elevator behind a regular-looking door. You open the door to find an old-fashioned gate you have to open and close before the elevator moves. I had a small room with a comfortable queen-sized bed facing the square. It was adequate. There was a window air-conditioner for summer days. A major warning if you book a room facing the square. You are on Whiskey Row! Bars, bars, and more bars! Bring your ear plugs! The hotel bistro serves excellent breakfasts and lunches. Even if you don't stay there, check out the bistro!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathiSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#7 of 22 in Prescott
863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#1 of 22 in Prescott
553 reviews
4 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Prescott
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
525 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
842 reviews
5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites & Conference Center Prescott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michael

Address: 205 W Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3611
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
Price Range: £54 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Michael 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Prescott's Historic Urban Hotel !!! We're located in the heart of Downtown Prescott offering Western Hospitality with Historic Ambiance. Enjoy comfortable lodging and modern amenities at the center of Prescott's Attractions !!! Experience Prescott !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel St. Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michael
St Michael Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing