We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special little gem”
Review of Hotel St. Michael

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St. Michael
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Phoenix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special little gem”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at Hotel St. Michael to be close to an event we attended in Prescott for two days. We had a very warm greeting from the front desk as soon as we walked in. Our king room was perfectly clean and held the roll-away bed for our son with ample room. The window air conditioner kept the room nice & cool. Both mornings we had the complimentary breakfasts in the Bistro which were cooked to order and so good! It was so nice to be greeted each time we came & went from the hotel by the front desk and they were always so quick to offer a smile. A previous review mentioned their tub not draining....ours was slow to drain the first night. I went down for ice and mentioned it to the front desk and in less than 5 minutes an employee was there to make it better. Our 10 year old loved the old elevator and we all truly appreciated the history an beauty of the Hotel St. Michael! Such a wonderful place to stay in Prescott!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lambcru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    99
    38
    22
    28
See reviews for
51
130
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were in the standard king room over looking Gurly street. Very nice room. Nicely updated , but a total blast from the past. The décor and fixtures were all historic. Floors were all uneven and you had to step up into the bathroom. There was the coolest folding chair in the closet. I want one. Bed was super comfortable. Only complaint was A/C didn't work very well, so room was a little warm (had it set at 69 degrees but never reached that). Would have preferred to be able to open the window. Room came with free breakfast in Bistro, and was very good. So total value of room was great. We will being going back for sure!
Was in a prefect location , we walked everywhere.

Room Tip: Room 203 A/C doesn't work very well. Other than that loved our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolx22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Five women stayed at the Hotel St. Michael - three in one room and two in another - rooms were right next to each other. We loved the hotel. The people who work there are so accommodating and friendly. I could not believe what great service we had. It was like a breath of fresh air to get this kind of service. Thank you so much for our stay. We had so much fun Friday evening - dancing and enjoying the live music till after midnight. And then on Saturday shopping, and more shopping. We love Prescott. And we will be back to the Hotel St. Michael.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have stayed here 3 or 4 times and have always enjoyed it. I enjoy the historic charm of older hotels. Yes, the rooms are smaller than newer hotels, but you can't beat the fun of riding up in an old fashioned elevator and checking out all the pictures and walking right into the alleyway of shops. It has been a few years since I have stayed and some things have definitely been updated. There was a flat screen TV, new bed and drapes and the room had been painted an updated color. I was lucky enough to have a nice view of the courthouse park. Many years ago, I remember the breakfast being a roll and juice, but this breakfast (that is included) was a full meal! I really loved the potatoes and the bacon was yummy! Service was very friendly both at check in and check out. And as everyone says, the location is absolutely perfect for exploring downtown. There was a little bit of street noise below as the bars were closing, but not enough for me to close my window as I was enjoying the cool air! Great escape from Phoenix!

Room Tip: Loved the room with the courthouse plaza view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
823 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I love Prescott and have wanted to stay at this hotel for awhile. In fact a few years ago we had reservations but our cat got sick and we had to cancel. So, we decided to do a mini staycation in Prescott in early June and we selected the Hotel St. Michael. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed. Our room was not yet ready but it was earlier than check in, so we expected that might be the case. However, they told us if we came back in 45 minutes our room would then be ready. We thought it was perfect as we had planned to have lunch on the square and that would be just the right amount of time for it. When we came back more than 45 minutes later, our room was ready. We stayed in the suite, room #316. What a wonderful room and so reasonable too. The room is the only suite and it has 1 1/2 bathrooms, a sitting area and of course the bedroom area. It is extremely spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are small but something we did not figure out until we were leaving was that the cabinets actually are medicine cabinets, so they open up and have shelves in them. Not knowing this, we both layer towels on top of the backside of the toilet and put our stuff there. Another great feature are the deep closets in both the bedroom and the sitting area, so you have tons of space to put clothes, shoes and your luggage. Anyway, the room is on the 3rd floor and there is elevator and staircase access. We usually walked up and down but the elevator is a nice option should you need it. The room faces the square and we did find on Saturday night that it was a little noisy and guests at the hotel did not help. There were several people yelling in the hallways and slamming doors all night. This is a historic hotel and therefore not very well insulated. I guess people forget in their drunken stupors that there are others at the hotel who are trying to sleep. So, with that being said bear this in mind if staying on a weekend. Sunday night however was perfect and we both slept really well. The bed is so comfortable and cozy. We loved the location, and felt that the staff were extremely hospitable. We are looking forward to coming back next summer to enjoy the Hotel St. Michael again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank love2traveltogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed over on a Saturday night and really love this hotel. Would definitely stay here again when in Prescott. It's location is perfect. The weather was beautiful and we opened the window when we went to bed and turned off the rather noisy air conditioner...but the noise was really awful so back on with the air. It turned out that was the best route anyway as it got rather warm during the night. I was glad to have air. Our room faced Gurley street and was very cosy and comfy. The bed was great. Couldn't even notice my husband changing his sleep position. Breakfast is eggs, meat, potatoes and toast. Very good food. Included with the room. Parking is behind the hotel and is only $5. Great place to go and stay for a weekend!

Room Tip: It's gonna be noisy on a Saturday night no matter where you are in the hotel. Keep the air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelera826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We were in town to settle our daughter into her college dorm and decided to stay here on the spur of the moment. We absolutely LOVE historical places. This place has original creaky wood floors and stairs, love it . Very well preserved, seemed like we were stepping back in time. We got a room on the second floor with an amazing view of the town square. Very comfortable room. The room was right above Whiskey Row which was quite noisy on a Saturday night. The price of the room included breakfast in their little restaurant. We loved the restaurant and the food! We really liked our stay and will DEFINITELY stay again" (just not on a Saturday night. Lol)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michael

Property: Hotel St. Michael
Address: 205 W Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3611
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Michael 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Prescott's Historic Urban Hotel !!! We're located in the heart of Downtown Prescott offering Western Hospitality with Historic Ambiance. Enjoy comfortable lodging and modern amenities at the center of Prescott's Attractions !!! Experience Prescott !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel St. Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michael
St Michael Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing