We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Papa's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 218 Restaurants in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Port Hueneme, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The food and service are both excellent! I was disappointed that I didn't get to visit there this visit but will make a point of going again the next time I am in Prescott.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank theaisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    117
    38
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Ate dinner here a few days ago. As soon as you sit down you're served a small bowl of very good minnestrone - a nice touch. Pasta dishes were great. I had a spicy mussel pasta - not a small feat for middle of Arizona. Nice wine selection. Prices were fair. There were many more items I'd have liked to have tried if we were there longer. Will return

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yes, good Italian can be found in rural Arizona”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I'm always skeptical walking into an Italian restaurant outside of a major city or area know for its Italian heritage. For that reason, my dinner at Papa's was a pleasant surprise. There are several authentic pasta dishes to choose from - I had the Pasta Aglio E Oglio which was served as a relatively large portion that I didn't think I could finish, but I did, because I just couldn't stop. They also have a lovely Italian wine selection to choose from - I enjoyed the Barbera option. But the highlight of this meal was definitely the dessert. My first choice was the cannoli, which unfortunately they had run out of as we were one of the last tables at that night's service, but that led to the insanely awesome second option of cannoli CAKE. Oh my. I'm not sure I'll ever recover (but, as great as the entire meal was, I'll definitely go back again just for that).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, TX
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Incredible pizza and excellent service”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Some of the best pizza EVER. We ordered a thincrust large pizza and ended up taking at least 1/2 of it back to our hotel. They put more toppings on than I have ever seen. It was delicious - even the leftovers on day 2 and 3. :-)

We went here upon recommendation from Kim at The Motor Lodge. We didn't have reservations and were seated immediately. The restaurant looks small from the street - but, when you go inside it goes on and on and on. We were seated in the very back room which had primarily large tables (8 tops) and were occupied by groups of retiree couples. It was fine - made us both think Prescott would be a great place to retire. There are other areas of the restaurant that would be much more romantic. My suggestion - make a reservation for one of those areas if you want some ambiance.

Before pizza were were served with some yummy bread. They have a decent wine selection and the waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful. He was able to handle the whole room of large tables by himself without getting frazzled or dropping service levels. Looking at receipt - looks like it was Frank A. - Go Frank!

Our total bill (before tip) was $29.53 - large pizza and two glasses of wine...maybe 3?
Good stuff. Would go back and I recommend with confidence!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, Idaho, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMGosh what a treat!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

we walked by the first night we got to town :-) and we completely delighted!
we didn't have a reservation but were seated quickly in spite of that.
the food was completely amazing!! we were treated to a bowl of the house minestrone at no charge, the food portions are huge!!! did i mention they're huge?!
the antipasto salad was beyond tasty, the special of the night- the rosemary provolone ravioli- was one of the tastiest treats i've ever had :-)
just know that when you come, soup, antipasto salad, and the rosemary garlic bread is a huge amount of food :-) and the entrees are so huge you can share!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdonnaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Papa's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing