We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papa's Italian Restaurant

Papa's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 215 Restaurants in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We come to Prescott often and had heard of Papa's but had not had an opportunity to eat there. We were definitely missing out!! Dove was our server. Her recommendations were spot on. I would disagree that the calamari was the best in town......would say best ever! I had the spicy baked gnocchi - very good. Our friends had the spaghetti - clean plate club and the shrimp fradiavolo, which was excellent. This place is definitely worth several return trips.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAPA14, Owner at Papa's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Mary,

Thank you for your delightful review! We are flattered that you rate our Calamari the best ever... Grandma would be proud! We are blessed with an amazing staff and I am glad that you put your trust in Dove & her recommendations for you and your friends.
The Papa's family looks forward to having you in again when you are back in Prescott!

Regards,

Andrea at Papa's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    113
    36
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level Contributor
197 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Easy to see why it's #1.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

From the minute you walk in you are made to feel welcomed. The staff was super friendly and attentive (it seems that they share some of the work when it comes to cleaning your table and refilling drinks, so there was always someone attending to our table). The decor is very charming and even the bathroom was whimsical. The owner walked around to all the tables and thanked them for coming (nice!). The complimentary minestrone soup was very good and when paired with the complimentary bread, I was actually almost full. We ordered linguine with clam sauce and eggplant parmesan. They were were delicious and the portions were very big (had to take half home especially since we wanted to try dessert). Had a cannoli and tiramisu and both were quite good. We were shocked (in a good way) with the bill. It was extremely reasonable! We will be back the next time we are in Prescott.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aztraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAPA14, Owner at Papa's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Arizona traveler's!

It was a pleasure having you in our restaurant for dinner. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience. The Papa's family looks forward to cooking for you when you are back in Prescott.

Ciao til we meet again!

Sincerely,

Andrea at Papa's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“OMG - Simply Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Papa's Uptown - Rated #1 by Trip Advisor and I certainly can see why. This is the place for authentic Italian food. You are looking at over 100 years of history in this restaurant .Donna the owner is a sweetheart who greets you with her homemade Minestrone soup that is absolutely wonderful. What a way to start out your dinner. From there I ordered the Pasta Aglio E Oglio - Sauteed garlic, olive oil & seasonings topped with fresh Parmesan. This is one of the best I have ever tasted. My husband had the meat lasagna which was layers of pasta, seasoned beef, sausage, rocotta and mozzarella cheeses baked in Papa's hearty meat sauce. WOW!!!! And for dessert we could not pass up the Cannoli. If you are in Prescott this restaurant is a must if you want fresh Italian food. Simply the best I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ6979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
537 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Quaint, fun restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife's family is Italian and this is one of their favorite places to go in Prescott. The ambiance is terrific and the staff is wonderful - very friendly, accommodating, attentive, informative, and fun. The food is reasonably priced and the portions are ample. The complimentary bread they bring out along with the garlic butter disappears shortly after it is placed on the table. No worries, they bring more! Be careful not to fill up on that because the meal is extremely tasty. Plenty of authentic Italian flavors, herbs, and spices permeate the meal. Ten of us dined that night and every dish was perfectly wonderful. Usually, there would be some leftovers but the food was so good that everybody pitched in and ate all the orders. Definitely a place to go when craving authentic Italian cuisine in Prescott.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kencatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George's, Grenada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expected to see Dean Martin come around the corner any minute...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This restaurant lives up to the reviews we read beforehand - excellent service, welcoming and charming atmosphere, and great food. Our waitress, Dove, and the rest of the support staff were very attentive and courteous. The ambiance, the exquisite aromas of the wonderfully prepared food made this a memorable evening and we will definitely be going back. We ordered the calamari appetizer, a sausage pizza (which we were able to get with an extra thin crust), the zucchini roma, and the incredibly delectable 3-three cheese tortellini. We finished off with the decidedly decadent chocolate cassata cake. Six enthusiastic thumbs up!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nourae233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Papa's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing