We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful lake nestled in the pines.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goldwater Lake

Goldwater Lake
Ranked #10 of 69 things to do in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fountain Hills, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake nestled in the pines.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Clean, well maintained with lots of benches and picnic
Areas. Playground for the kids. No swimming though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    47
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Parking fee and trails need maintenance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We paid the parking fee so we could hike the trails around the lake. Some of them need maintenance. With so many places with free parking where we can hike near water, we have not been back since.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Choose its name”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Whether you call it crawfish, crayfish, crawdad or mud-bug, this pest can be had by the bucketful at Goldwater Lake. I use a two-ring crab trap and a chicken neck, secured with thin wire. Whenever I haul in the trap every five minutes, there are up to 20 critters in it. Immerse the batch in boiling water jazzed up with crab boil for six minutes, and you'll have a feast...provided you relish labor-intensive picking of the meat, since the cephalothorax is discarded, and only the abdomen is eaten. The exercise alone will make you crave for more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JEANPIERRE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
276 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice lake in the forrest of the Ponderosa Pines of AZ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This lake is open for canoes, kayaks, fishing and an occasional respite for a doggie paddle swim. It is a peaceful setting accessed by one of the hiking/biking trails that feed into the lake. If coming via a car and brining a small boat there is a fee to park once you enter the main entrance to the lake. The water level of the lake is dependent on the snow/rain fall. Meaning it's always a good idea to check the current status of the lake before arriving.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lyfeworksjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small lake, but nice hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Nice picnic area and play area for kids. I don't have a boat, but rentals are available. Lake is small, but scenic and nice for a short hike.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goldwater Lake also viewed

 

Been to Goldwater Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing