We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic local color”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheldon St. Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheldon St. Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Prescott B&B and Inns
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic local color”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

A friend and I stayed here recently on a ladies’ weekend getaway. We were both very pleased with the accommodations and the location. The room was an Old West-Victorian mix with a woman’s touch—lovely, comfortable and clean with a nice sense of history. The bathroom was quite small, but it was well appointed and immaculate. The only real issue was parking. There are plenty of spaces, but getting into and out of the spots when traffic is flowing can be a bit tricky. As another reviewer recommended, backing in makes things much easier. Overall, however, I couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay during my visit to Prescott. It is very close to the historic downtown and has a unique charm that reminds you of where you are.

It’s clear that great attention to detail and concern for guests’ needs have gone into the redesign of this place, from the wine glasses and hot cocoa mix in the kitchenette to the deck of cards and chess set in the attached sitting room and the fire pit-centered lounging areas outdoors. I’ve traveled the world and stayed in some very fine bed and breakfasts, inns, and hotels/motels, and Sheldon St. Lodge is one of the best examples of local character that I can remember.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank rebzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irishgirl1111, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent jaunt through Prescott. Your kind words about our little place Is truly appreciated. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area. We know that there are many options in downtown, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the "old west" flare we offer. If you want a taste of old-time Prescott, we really try to deliver. Thank you again for taking the time to post this lovely review. Wishing you both a beautiful Spring!

Kind Regards,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    11
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
22
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Whether you wear grown up or baby spurs, you'll love to roam about this mini Western spread. Just drive up to the hitching posts out front, walk 10 feet and your immediately into your tastefully decorated, well manicured little Western palace. Cozy and homelike from the start, you're greeted at the front desk by the motel concierge "Frick", a respectful chubby feline. Then onto the owners/caretakers Tom and Colleen, whose professionalism and attention to detail mirror 5 star hotels. The suites are fully functioning equipped with kitchenettes, baby fridge, sink, ceramic coffee cups/wine glasses and microwave. Rooms are impeccably clean, small yes, but truly cozy and warm. Much attention spent on hand-milled woodwork and commitment to a South Western vibe. Fresh fruit available in lobby for breakfast along with muffins and bottomless pot of coffee.
Location, location, location-Sheldon Street Lodge, sits directly across street from Walgreens and small retail mall. Walking just 3 blocks, took us to the historic Whiskey Row for antiques and best food options. Don't miss the Palace Saloon; meals are to die for and check out the bullet holes in ceiling from cowpokes/card players who got a little tipsy and trigger happy. Palace Saloon staff are history buffs and eager to educate their patrons. Prescott, Az is a most charming, visitor friendly town with Sheldon Street Lodge leading the herd in South Western pleasure. Virginia from Columbia,Il.

Room Tip: Suites #9 and #6 my pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gar1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irishgirl1111, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,
What an adorable review! Thank you so much for your kind words about our little lodge. We are so happy to hear that your experience staying with us was exactly what our goal has always been! A small taste of "Old West" Prescott that is not found just anywhere! You are so sweet to take the time to express your thoughts on our location, rooms and our "concierge" too.Although you might have given "Frick" a big head! (He might have his own web-site before you know It..Ha ha!) I do hope that your trip to Arizona was a delight & we are so thrilled we could be a part of your memories. We hope to welcome you back again if you are ever passing through our little town. Wishing you a very happy & prosperous 2014! Thank you for staying at The Sheldon Street Lodge and making me & my staff smile :)

Kind Regards to you & your family,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was one of those experiences where you just squeal with delight when you discover what a good choice you have made!! No this is not a luxury hotel - but I can truly say it is the best value I have ever gotten for my money. The hotel is beyond charming - the lobby decor is to a T. Our room was very very cute as well. And I was not expecting a kitchenette! All I can say is this place is truly special. And I loved how close it was to Whiskey Row. To think I almost stayed in a chain hotel near the shopping mall part of town. If you want a true unique Prescott experience, this is the place for you. I actually found this hotel through Yelp - didn't see it on Trip Advisor because I was only using the "hotel" search. Though this is not a true B&B, they definitely give you that B&B feel with the personal attention and touches from Colleen. We stayed in December and were given a Christmas ornament upon checkout! If you go here with realistic expectations (keep in mind this IS a redone motel, but also that you are still paying motel prices!), I think you will be as delighted as I was.

One caution though: this hotel is near the road and the noise in the morning is quite noticeable. (I think our room was the very closest one to the road though.) If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. But don't skip this hotel because of this - I promise you be glad you didn't!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatMarieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irishgirl1111, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for writing a review of your experience during your stay. Taking the time to post your thoughts means so much to me & our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you found us to be a great value and that you would return again if you were in our area. We know that there are other accommodation choices in Prescott and we are so glad that you picked us! We hope that your next visit is even better than your last, as we are always a work in progress and always trying to improve our guests experience. We have done a lot since your stay, and hope you will come and see our newest accomplishments! We hope you had a wonderful holiday season and we wish you and yours a prosperous New Year in 2014!

Take Care & Happy Travels,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The boyfriend & I stayed at the Sheldon St. Lodge for a long weekend/leisure getaway - it was absolutely perfect! Feels more like you are staying in a friend's or relative's guest bedroom than in a motel! Definitely not a generic, chain hotel - very cozy, charming and uniquely decorated, our room had a small entryway/sitting area as well as a kitchenette, and a very nice sitting area on the front porch right outside the room if you happen to smoke. Yes, the bathroom was a little small, but CLEAN, plenty of fluffy towels, and everything worked perfectly (and really, who spends that much time in a motel bathroom?). Colleen at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating - we arrived in Prescott a little earlier than check-in time but it was no problem, (and no extra fee for early check-in), and she made a point on our second day there to make sure everything was OK and if there was anything we needed. Very conveniently located - we could walk to the town square or the city park, there is a Walgreen's & Albertson's right across the street, and very reasonably priced. Don't be put off by the busy street location (but DO back into the parking lot if you can), once inside our room we didn't hear any street noise at all. We'll definitely stay here again next time we visit Prescott

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so happy that you found our little place unique, comfortable & that we suited your needs. Thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience during your stay. We value your comments & look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Prescott. Wishing you both a lovely season and Thank you again for staying at the Sheldon Street Lodge.

Kind Regards,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed at the Sheldon lodge for two nights last Christmas, and were thrilled with our stay! The rooms were tiny, but so well equipped! Not even in big hotels did we get our own fridge, microwave or kitchenette! The bed was comfy, the room impeccably clean, and the staff super friendly. We loved the central location, and that we could walk to the old town center in just minutes, with all those lovely restaurants and antique stores along the way! We will definitely be staying there again when we are next in Prescott :)

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the main check-in desk, since the noise is a bit much during the busiest ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmfraumeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your complementary review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit at our little place. We take pride in being a downtown business during the holidays. Prescott is the "Christmas City" in Arizona and we really try to go all out with our lights, making our little place stand out and feel festive. We LOVE Christmas at the Sheldon Street Lodge and are very happy to hear you were comfortable, found us a good value and loved our location. Wishing you and your family a very beautiful & fun summer and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards & Happy Travels,
Colleen Milam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We were in town for a friend's birthday. Stayed here this past weekend. The accommodations themselves are great, other than the overwhelming smell of varnish in the room which gave us all headaches. We shared a suite with some friends. Unfortunately, the staff made us feel completely unwelcome. The final night a few of us sat out front waiting for friend to get picked up. The following morning the old guy who runs the Lodge informed me he got complaints. First of all, we were not loud or disruptive. Secondly, I am unsure as to why he waited until the following morning to tell us. There was barely anyone there and if we in fact caused complaints I would think addressing it right away rather than waiting until the morning we left to tell us would be more appropriate. He said if we wanted to do that he would prefer we do not stay there anymore. Pardon??? I guess they must be so busy they can turn down business? On top of that the other guests there were shady at best. We will never stay there again. There are plenty of places to stay in Prescott and we come up every year. This place will NEVER get our money again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank princessktw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to hear that you found a member of our staff to be rude. Being firm about rules for the protection & security of all guests, can sometimes come across as rude when you are the one being approached. We try to be polite and to the point when there is an issue. I am also very sorry to hear that other guests did not have a good night sleep while staying with us. It is not always easy to please everyone, but we sure try our best. Unfortunately, it wasn't until the next morning that we received two complaints about the noise that occurred between 12:15am & 1:45am. This issue may not have been addressed to you (as yes, it was after the fact), but after viewing the security camera & staff cleaning up multiple opened beer bottles & cigarette butts from the ground where the four of you (along with 4 other unregistered guests) had partied the night before he felt that he should mention it. I myself enjoy "Blue Moon" beer also, but would never leave a mess of bottles for someone else to clean up after me. There was a trash can near by. We run a small lodge that is quiet and safe.We are in a great location to enjoy a night out in downtown & "Whiskey Row". We have no problem with a quiet "nightcap" or two on one of our porches or deck when returning from your fun night out. However, inviting other people (to the tune of 8 including yourselves & a dog) and disturbing others is simply not tolerated. We always want our visitors to enjoy themselves & have fun, but some guests do not party late into the night. We must have rules to keep everyone happy. We had a full house on the Saturday during your stay. It's funny how the "Shady" folks you mention in your review were not viewed in our security camera disrupting others in the middle of the night. The room you stayed in has custom, handmade western furniture and we had varnished 2 of the pieces a few days earlier. I do apologize if the smell was still lingering in the room, as they could have been removed if something was said. We are glad that you chose the Sheldon St. Lodge for your weekend stay. I know there are other options and we do appreciate your business. But if you feel that another motel in downtown Prescott would not have minded this scenario, then we encourage you to stay with them for your future Prescott visits.
Kind Regards,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Average at best, if your new into town or visiting you can do much better for the same money. Rooms are very small, bathrooms are even smaller, some bathrooms don't even have there own sinks. Breakfast consist of day old doghnuts and weak coffee. Check around for better prices and values.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billsmith9638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to hear that your experience with us was not satisfactory, nor did you find us to be a good value. We feel we offer much more than your typical budget chain hotel & always hope our guest leave happy. However, we do have an old building that (most say) has lots of "character" & "charm". Every room is uniquely different in size and yes, have very small bathrooms. It's a fact that historic buildings were not built in thier day with our modern conveniences in mind. We try to make the best of the space in each room to accomodate the needs of our guests. Our mission is to make each room as comfortable & cozy as possible (working with what we have). It sounds as if you were in one of our (smaller) economy rooms. Our other rooms are twice the size & some even larger. Most come our way to experience Prescott & the Downtown area and stay with us for our convenient location. Our guest seem to want a clean room close to all that Prescott has to offer. That is what we pride ourself on and feel we deliver. We do not offer breakfast or advertise such. However we do recommend the "top" breakfast restaurants in our area for a great meal and a sure value. Starbucks is located directly across the street for a great cup of joe too. We do have coffee & something sweet in the morning, just to get you started. My grandma always said "Never leave the house without something in your stomach" so I take her advise and offer our guest a little something for the stomach before they head out. At the end of the day, we do know that we are not for everyone. If you are looking for extra large rooms & bathrooms, a "cookie cutter" chain experience and want to pay more for our location, then there is other options & we are not for you. I am sorry that we were not a match for you during your visit to Prescott. We welcome you back to try another room when you are in the area, or we wish you the best luck with finding your perfect match. Thank you for staying with us.

Kind Regards,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
0.4 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#1 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#8 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheldon St. Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheldon St. Lodge

Property: Sheldon St. Lodge
Address: 115 E Sheldon St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3113
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small motel with an "Old West" theme in the heart of Downtown Prescott Arizona. Located two blocks from the historical Courthouse Plaza and Whiskey Row. We offer the privacy of a hotel, convenience of a motor lodge (parking outside your door) & historic charm of a B&B. We have nightly rates and are a short stroll to fine dining, antique stores, performing art Theatres, grocery store, fast food & Starbucks. Our location can't be beat and everything you need is only steps away. We are pet-friendly, close to both colleges, hospitals, shopping and central to all that Prescott has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheldon St. Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing