We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Western Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phippen Museum

Phippen Museum
Ranked #9 of 69 things to do in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fine arts museum that features exhibits and educational programs related to the American West.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Western Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a beautiful venue with both permanent exhibits and temporary exhibits. We saw great examples of western architecture in the temporary exhibit. The permanent exhibits include both two and three dimensional pieces. I have always loved the west. Probably because of all the TV westerns I watched as a kid. Whether it's bronze art, period pieces of memorabilia, pencil drawings, theater posters, or paintings, this museum has a great collection. There is plenty of parking with beautiful views of the surrounding grassland and granite formations. Allow no less than 90 minutes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    32
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
931 reviews
353 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Prescott, AZ offers SO much; this is worth the side trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

While we have been to Prescott, AZ several times, we had never made it to the Phippen Museum until this past week. It is north out of town a few miles but is worth the trip and i wish we could stay and go to their juried art show next weekend but that doesn't work for us. The museum has rotating exhibits and several studio vignettes from different artists. While Phippen was quite an artist in his own right, he started the Cowboy Artists of America, which is a well recognized group today. The museum shows the works of several bronze sculpture artists as well as painters and pen and ink artists. Currently one of the exhibits is of architecture showing both wall art, miniature rooms, and architectural models. It is well worth the drive and the time when you are in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Western Art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you enjoy seeing quality western/cowboy art this museum would be a good choice. They alternate exhibits often and have options of styles. The Cowboy Artists of America (CAs) represent here as a number of them happen to be local. If you are visiting for a rodeo drive out to the edge of town and take a look, you won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum displaying outstanding Western art of many kinds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This museum turned out to be much more than I expected. The current show was of paintings representing some of the architecture or buildings of the West. It is an impressive collection, and acquainted us with some outstanding current and recent artists.
In addition, the museum has many lovely small bronzes--with Western themes, of course--exquisitely done, movie posters, sketches, and letters and books from the work of Will James and a whole reconstruction of the artist's studio of Ray Swanson.
Then there are displays of cowboy equipment and paraphernalia.
On the grounds outside the museum, there are a number of life-size (or bigger) sculptures of horses in various styles and materials.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taos nm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Phippen kept us enthralled for an entire afternoon. Western art, but of the best quality we've seen in one place. An excellent exhibit of western architectural painting and engaging outdoor sculptures of horses made from disparate materials.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gray169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phippen Museum also viewed

 

Been to Phippen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing