We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to Detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Highland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We called in while on the way and Ray helped to select a good room for us. We were placed in the Holiday room, which has a serene blue and green décor against the backdrop of a magnificent old brick wall. The room is small in size but big on aesthetics. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. I liked the attention to detail ... great air conditioning/heating unit that worked quite nicely, interesting accent graphics on the walls, pretty decorative mouldings, chic pedestal sink and claw foot bath tub. Of course I took a bath every night! The only thing I wish they had provided was a travel sized container of bath minerals (bubble bath), which another hotel had thought to do and which I thought was a nice touch. Management might think of adding that in. A hair dryer would have been nice too. I did enjoy the lighted make up mirror and want to get one for myself. Though ear plugs were provided to enhance sleep, we found no need for them. No obnoxious noises during the week. I appreciate their efforts to be "green" and there was even a dual flush toilet (I never knew such a thing existed, but very smart idea!) We don't tend to spend a lot of time in our room, but the time we do spend we appreciate a nice environment and this place had that extra oomph. I do feel we missed out on taking advantage of the services offered as we did not eat the continental breakfast or seek out the afternoon/evening goodies. Next time I would slow down and spend a little more time enjoying all the amenities offered. Besides the historical value of the stay, the location is very convenient to shopping and there are several good restaurants in walking distance. We never had a problem finding parking out front on the weekday and the parking garage was very convenient (and free). The staff was very welcoming and friendly. We would definitely return.

Green Features: Dual flush toilets ... who knew? A really great idea to save on water!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CacheOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    66
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
72
349
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed only one night, but we will return for a longer trip. The hotel really is Grand...staff is friendly, accommodating and available. The rooms are in excellent condition and spotless. The afternoon snacks are a treat and breakfast is tasty and plentiful. We loved being right in the center of downtown and enjoyed sitting at the bay window watching the happenings in town. We were there on a weekday and didn't find it particularly noisy. There is free parking in the garage behind the hotel. It was great to be able to park our car and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdmintucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My boyfriend and I went to Prescott to enjoy a long weekend for his 40th birthday. This Hotel had it all, close to the Saloons, Shops, and Eateries. The rooms were delicate and clean, the staff was friendly and accommodating- We checked in late (10PM) and out Early (1:30AM) even at those unusual times, the staff was extremely pleasant and approachable. Breakfast was fresh and the afternoon cookies made for a great snack. As for the noise, we stayed in the Rough Rider Room, though there was noise, it wasn't anything that kept us awake at night. Highly recommended!!!!

Green Features: I very much appreciated the fact that the hotel had separate waste baskets for trash and recyclables.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishy8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marana, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for the Whiskey Row Marathon and won't consider any other hotel when we return for next year's marathon. The room was spotless clean and in perfect condition. It looked as if it were set up for a photo shoot it was so neat.The location made it accessible to all the Whiskey Row amenities as well as the start of the marathon. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. Despite being in a room close to the street, it was quiet and we had a restful night's sleep.

Room Tip: The rooms are small. This is a boutique hotel in a historic building. If you want a larger room, get...
See more room tips
Green Features: We try to live our life green at home and appreciate staying at a hotel that shares our values.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan95130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had booked this place as a stop off between The Grand Canyon and San Diego. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance from stores, saloons and restaurants. We arrived late in the evening and were quickly checked in. We were kindly given upgrade rooms as I was celebrating my birthday and my partners parents were celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary. We had a birthday card in my room and two chocolate dipped strawberries in our room. There were ear plugs on our bedside lockers also - we figured out at 5am what these were used for - they worked great and blocked out all noise from the work men renovating the adjoining building. Breakfast was great the following morning with gorgeous pastries, muffins, fruit, fresh tea and coffee, orange and apple juice - over our 16 night stay in The States this was the most substantial and delicious breakfast we had and the rest of the hotels we stayed in were of a higher class than The Grand Highland. I cannot fault this hotel and would certainly stay here again. I would like to stay longer the next time as Prescott is a lovely town and has tons to offer travellers.

Green Features: 100% top notch - this hotel is very environmentally friendly and it shows in their signage and notices.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamh6426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here solo for the April 2014 Whiskey Off-road Mountain Bike Race (my wife bailed due to threatened rain). The excellent service started 2 days before my arrival with an email from Rey Rivera (hotel GM) asking if I planned to keep my bike in the room and offered to set up a bike wash station with towels after the race; in my experience, that is unbelievably accommodating! The back door of the hotel is 20 feet from the parking garage and the front was right on Whiskey Row (the race start/finish line).
Staff: very friendly and helpful. They even offered to help carry things from my car up to the hotel. Definitely willing to do what it takes to make a great experience.
Room: Small but beautiful (in a old-timey way) - don't bring kids. The bed was amazingly comfortable; I don't know if I've ever slept in a more comfortable hotel bed. The claw foot tub with shower was a cool touch and the bathroom was large. Plenty of free bottled water.
Food: Typical continental breakfast, but no complaints as you are just steps from all sorts of dining options.

I will definitely try to return here if I ever need to stay overnight anywhere near Prescott. It's truly an experience.

Room Tip: I didn't have any problems with noise, but the event wasn't one of those "party all nig...
See more room tips
Green Features: All eco-friendly soaps, shampoos, etc. They will only replace towels that you leave on the floor.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife & I decided to head up from Scottsdale for a quick overnight stay. Wanted to stay somewhere with great dining & nightlife. This is it! Beyond immaculate, this historic building has been fully & completely renewed in 2013. The staff is great, maid service impeccable. Quality furnishing, awesome claw foot tub. We had The Capitol Suite & enjoyed having the extra room. The other rooms looks small, but so what? Overall, a very fun experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZMT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#13 of 22 in Prescott
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
791 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Prescott
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Highland Hotel

Property: Grand Highland Hotel
Address: 154 S Montezuma St, Prescott, AZ 86303-4718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Highland Hotel, located on Prescott's Historic Whiskey Row, is now open as a truly unique boutique hotel.Guests who ascend the stairway from the sidewalk entrance to this second-floor site, will be charmed by the 12 individually decorated guestrooms, each inspired by an aspect of Prescott's storied history.Exceptional, personalized service is offered in a facility combining preserved architectural features with contemporary amenities expected of quality hotel accommodations. *Complimentary Continental breakfast with fresh fruit, bagels and toppings, variety of pastries, Greek yogurt, cups of fresh berries, Naked juice smoothies, coffee, tea, assortment of juices, and gluten free items on request. *Complimentary fresh cookies, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and fruit infused water in the afternoon and evening. In the rooms: Complimentary bottled water, tea, coffee, and Tootsie Roll Pops. Free WiFi, lighted make-up mirrors, hair dryers, coffee maker, LED candle, ceiling fan, 40" LED TV with cable, luxurious beds, Ipod doc/alarm clock, claw foot tub, efficient Mini-Split heating/cooling in every room. Romance and Celebration Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing