We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old feeling new rooms..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Highland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old feeling new rooms..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Love to stay at unique places and while visiting Prescott we chose the Grand Highland. Remodeled after a fire in the building next door the rooms are small but comfy. Cool old school decor in every room (they leave un-ocupied rooms open so you can peek in!). Saw previous warnings about noise from Whiskey Row late at night but chose front room overlooking the courthouse anyway.. It was a bit to noisey as bars closed and we decided to ask for a center room for the next night. The staff went out of thier way to make us happy... I have never encountered such a friendly staff in all our travels... From answering questions about local restaurants to tourist info all were very helpfull.. With a chance to stay on historic Whiskey Row and be able to walk to anything we needed, we will choose this place again!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the hall are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZQUIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    60
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
326
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Hidden Above The Very Exciting Whiskey Row Is A Wonderful Hidden Hotel Called The Grand Highland...We Only Had A One Night Stay To See A Local Band Out Of Phoenix...But The Service Was Great!!! Between The Online Purchase To The Email Confirmation...WE even got into town 3 Hours Before Check-in...Stopped By To See The Place & Got A Full Tour Of The Building...Plus A Little History About It ...We Actually Got A Room Right Above Whiskey Row Nice Bay Window Updated Bathroom, Great View, And To Our Surprise Even Leaving The Window Open At The End Of The Night Noise Was Not A Factor...The Room Was Handicap Accessible Did Not Realize This When Renting Room It Took The Oversized Doors & The Handicap Rails In The Bathroom To Realize It!!! Over All Great Establishment... Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer, But I figure This Gives Us A Reason To Go Back...I Forgot To Mention It But We Got Our Room Early Too...They Called Us About An Hour After We Got There & Let Us Have Our Room Early...Thx Again To The Staff & The WONDERFUL Service

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark00a85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A group of us stayed at the Grand Highland Hotel this month for a freind's birthday and I was overly impressed with everything about this hotel. The staff here is amazing, they make you feel as if you are staying with family. The rooms are tastefully decorated with such amazing attention to detail. The claw-foot tubs are a nice nostalgic touch. They also provide complimentary continental breakfast with high quality bagels, fruit and even healthy Naked drinks! Very delicious.
The hotel is located right on Whiskey Row, walking distance to all the restaurants/bars and a main little square. The town of Prescott is a beautiful community with very friendly people. We rented kayaks and went with them on Watson Lake which is a small close by (15 minute drive) lake with beautiful rock formations. You will not regret staying here!

Room Tip: All the rooms look beautiful (they leave the doors open in unoccupied rooms so you can peek in and t...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Grand Highland hotel has separate garbage basket and recycle baskets in every bathroom! Don't see that too often...impressive.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peanut30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
444 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We called in while on the way and Ray helped to select a good room for us. We were placed in the Holiday room, which has a serene blue and green décor against the backdrop of a magnificent old brick wall. The room is small in size but big on aesthetics. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. I liked the attention to detail ... great air conditioning/heating unit that worked quite nicely, interesting accent graphics on the walls, pretty decorative mouldings, chic pedestal sink and claw foot bath tub. Of course I took a bath every night! The only thing I wish they had provided was a travel sized container of bath minerals (bubble bath), which another hotel had thought to do and which I thought was a nice touch. Management might think of adding that in. A hair dryer would have been nice too. I did enjoy the lighted make up mirror and want to get one for myself. Though ear plugs were provided to enhance sleep, we found no need for them. No obnoxious noises during the week. I appreciate their efforts to be "green" and there was even a dual flush toilet (I never knew such a thing existed, but very smart idea!) We don't tend to spend a lot of time in our room, but the time we do spend we appreciate a nice environment and this place had that extra oomph. I do feel we missed out on taking advantage of the services offered as we did not eat the continental breakfast or seek out the afternoon/evening goodies. Next time I would slow down and spend a little more time enjoying all the amenities offered. Besides the historical value of the stay, the location is very convenient to shopping and there are several good restaurants in walking distance. We never had a problem finding parking out front on the weekday and the parking garage was very convenient (and free). The staff was very welcoming and friendly. We would definitely return.

Green Features: Dual flush toilets ... who knew? A really great idea to save on water!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CacheOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed only one night, but we will return for a longer trip. The hotel really is Grand...staff is friendly, accommodating and available. The rooms are in excellent condition and spotless. The afternoon snacks are a treat and breakfast is tasty and plentiful. We loved being right in the center of downtown and enjoyed sitting at the bay window watching the happenings in town. We were there on a weekday and didn't find it particularly noisy. There is free parking in the garage behind the hotel. It was great to be able to park our car and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdmintucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My boyfriend and I went to Prescott to enjoy a long weekend for his 40th birthday. This Hotel had it all, close to the Saloons, Shops, and Eateries. The rooms were delicate and clean, the staff was friendly and accommodating- We checked in late (10PM) and out Early (1:30AM) even at those unusual times, the staff was extremely pleasant and approachable. Breakfast was fresh and the afternoon cookies made for a great snack. As for the noise, we stayed in the Rough Rider Room, though there was noise, it wasn't anything that kept us awake at night. Highly recommended!!!!

Green Features: I very much appreciated the fact that the hotel had separate waste baskets for trash and recyclables.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishy8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for the Whiskey Row Marathon and won't consider any other hotel when we return for next year's marathon. The room was spotless clean and in perfect condition. It looked as if it were set up for a photo shoot it was so neat.The location made it accessible to all the Whiskey Row amenities as well as the start of the marathon. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. Despite being in a room close to the street, it was quiet and we had a restful night's sleep.

Room Tip: The rooms are small. This is a boutique hotel in a historic building. If you want a larger room, get...
See more room tips
Green Features: We try to live our life green at home and appreciate staying at a hotel that shares our values.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan95130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#8 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#9 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
4.0 mi away
Residence Inn Prescott
Residence Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Highland Hotel

Property: Grand Highland Hotel
Address: 154 S Montezuma St, Prescott, AZ 86303-4718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Highland Hotel, located on Prescott's Historic Whiskey Row, is now open as a truly unique boutique hotel.Guests who ascend the stairway from the sidewalk entrance to this second-floor site, will be charmed by the 12 individually decorated guestrooms, each inspired by an aspect of Prescott's storied history.Exceptional, personalized service is offered in a facility combining preserved architectural features with contemporary amenities expected of quality hotel accommodations. *Complimentary Continental breakfast with fresh fruit, bagels and toppings, variety of pastries, Greek yogurt, cups of fresh berries, Naked juice smoothies, coffee, tea, assortment of juices, and gluten free items on request. *Complimentary fresh cookies, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and fruit infused water in the afternoon and evening. In the rooms: Complimentary bottled water, tea, coffee, and Tootsie Roll Pops. Free WiFi, lighted make-up mirrors, hair dryers, coffee maker, LED candle, ceiling fan, 40" LED TV with cable, luxurious beds, Ipod doc/alarm clock, claw foot tub, efficient Mini-Split heating/cooling in every room. Romance and Celebration Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing