We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see along this trail”

Granite Mountain Trail 261
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots to see along this trail”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Intermediate level hike --not easy in some parts, not difficult in others. We hiked with friends at the latter part of April, a great time to go--comfortable temperatures.
We counted about 18 different varieties of wildflowers, and saw a few small animals and birds.
Probably the most interesting part of the trek was seeing petroglyphs (in two places). One of these is right next to the trail, the other viewable down a small side trail. It is good someone knowledgeable was with us; we who were just visiting, would never have found it on our own.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must-see for the tourists of Prescott”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have always loved hiking and being in the nature as much as possible so once a friend of mine suggest us to go to Granite Mountain Trail 261, all I could do was to say “hell yes” and pack my backpack. The whole walk took a bit under three hours. Luckily for us, the weather was really pleasant – not too warm, not too cold, so we could fully enjoy everything this trail had to offer. And it was truly rich. Rich in several breathtaking views (my camera is full with pics from the trail now!) and of course the diversity of the nature there is really amazing. Now I can say for sure – if you are interested in exploring wildlife and nature – this is a great spot to visit. Will take my family and other friends the next time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LopezSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“I like to hike and this is HIKE”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It's a trail, rocky not a smooth path and a climb but well worth it and the vista is worth the trek. Wear appropriate shoes/hiking boots and consider a hiking pole

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lyfeworksjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hike through the Granite Mtn. Fire Burn Area”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Granite Mountain recreation area suffered a major fire early in this past summer. The 19 firefighters who lost their lives in the Yarnell fire, fought this fire successfully and saved many houses in the American Ranch area. The first section of the hike is relatively flat and easy, but after you pass the junction with trail 39 it starts up a series of switchbacks that are much steeper. We got a late start and could only go half way to the top, but it is such a nice trail that we will make it a point to go again and get started before noon and possibly even have lunch on top.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granite Mountain Trail 261 also viewed

 

Been to Granite Mountain Trail 261? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing