We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the pv location”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Canton Dragon

Canton Dragon
Ranked #80 of 214 Restaurants in Prescott
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartsville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than the pv location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Food is better but the inside is old. Bathroom is ehhh. Short older lady jumped price on side order when doing take out and had a bad attitude.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Food is so fresh and prepared and served very quickly. Service is professional and friendly. Lunch menu is diverse. Lots of food for the money.

Helpful?
Thank Juanita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

No matter why we have traveled to Prescott, we stop here for lunch. As a matter of fact, we have driven the hour and a half from our house just to have lunch at the Canton Dragon!

It's fast, fresh, friendly, great quality and reasonably priced! It always comes out hot and the portions are great! I always have something to take home as a late night snack!

I have never walked away disappointed and neither have the people that either went with or recommended the place to.

Go order the Chicken Chow Mein! Then try the Moo Goo Gai Pan! After that get the Coconut Shrimp! MMMM!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“one of prescott's very best - but you have to know the tricks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This restaurant stands way above the rest. We have eaten there maybe 20 times and have this to say: We have been massively disappointed with the food offerings in Prescott. The food tends to be unmemorable and the prices at least 20 - 60% overpriced. Canton Dragon stands almost alone (there is also Plaza Bonita's Mexican that is good and reasonable) as a place that serves both great food at fair prices. Now let me first say that i am a totally stuck up NYer born and bred and so with such choice, and so many chinese spots... i have become picky. Canton Dragon has been trying to figure out the Caucasian market now for a while and as such have changed some of their recipes to try and fit our tastes. For example, they are not dumping loads of salt (I hope its not MSG) into the recipes and the first night we tried that, we found the food inedible. The hostess told us the trick to ask for the food without additional salt... and since then we've been exceedingly pleased. Without that trick, your food will be WAY over salted... but with it... you will eat food that rivals any of the excellent (but not outstanding) Chinese restaurants of Manhattan and surroundings. My family has visited many times and they have all agreed. Now we are basically vegetarian so we have to adjust their menus... but we have found some great concoctions: Their menud eggplant and tofu is amazing (but a bit on the salty side). Their non-menued: fried tofu with lobster sauce (white variety) is a delicate, tasty excellent choice. their soups are great, their egg rolls are veg and quite good. We can't speak about the meat dishes but for veg fair, we have found the place to be our favorite restaurant (by far) in prescott with few others even coming close to second. Four hungry adults and two children can leave for under 50$ (without tip) with doggie bags so the price, by comparison to other Prescott places, is excellent. In summary, a GREAT restaurant with good (but shy, Chinese) service, a decent non-distracting ambiance, GREAT food (if you ask for the low-salt options) and GREAT prices (by Prescott's outrageous standards). our favorite spot and only review we have written about a restaurant in town because it is out-standing in those qualities.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RunAndHide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Edible, but nothing more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

My wife and I went to Canton Dragon for lunch. The egg foo young my wife ordered was actually a deep fat fried fritter of some sort. It was covered with what appeared to be chicken with frozen peas and carrots in a commercial chicken-base sauce. My eggplant dish was in a sauce that appeared to be nothing more than vinegar and sugar, perhaps thinned out by water. The egg rolls and fried rice were completely nondescript. The egg drop soup tasted of commercial chicken-base. Overall, there was nothing about any of the dishes that tasted Chinese. Rather, they tasted like commercial American cafeteria dishes. On the upside, the service was quick and pleasant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canton Dragon also viewed

 

Been to Canton Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing