We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Patio and Tapas”
Review of El Gato Azul

El Gato Azul
Ranked #4 of 215 Restaurants in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Southwestern, Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An Eclectic Mix of Spanish Inspired Tapas, and Southwestern Entrees.Quirky, fun atmosphere with outdoor patio dining, live music, full bar and extensive wine selections, bottled beers, as well as draft.Locals favorite for Happy Hour.Open Daily at 11 except Sunday, when we open at Noon.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Patio and Tapas”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stumbled across this place while walking around the historical district of Prescott. It was about 7 PM and it was very crowded which was a good sign. We were lucky enough to get the last table in the beautiful patio area. They seem to specialize in tapas and have a very large variety from seafoods/meats to vegetarian. My wife and I shared 4 tapas and it was more than enough for our meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    203
    47
    34
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful atmosphere, food and service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The restaurant's atmosphere is very charming. While the inside is small, the patio is cozy, bordering a small creek and a woodland walk. We had the beautiful sound of Cicadas serenading us during dinner. What a treat!

The hostess and our waitress were extremely nice and helpful. We arrived before Happy Hour ended, so we got $2 off drinks and tapas items over $4. Other reviews recommended the Sangria, so we went for that. Good Sangria--I've had better, but it was quite tasty, nonetheless.

Where they outdid themselves was the tapas. Two words for you: Cajun Corndogs. If you get no other tapas, don't pass on this one: HUGE Tiger Shrimp wrapped in bacon, dipped in corn batter and fried, then served with an apricot dipping sauce. I bit into one and almost had a religious experience! The other tapas items were equally yummy, hearty, and filling. We had planned to start with tapas and have dinner, and quickly realized the tapas would be our dinner--it was just that good.

We were in Prescott to specifically visit family, and we were so impressed with the blue cat, that we took him there for dinner the next night. No inconsistencies the second time around. The tapas was just as delicious and well-prepared. This time I ordered the Margarita, which was slammin' I ordered the Paella along with tapas, and it was quite delicious, flavorful and filling.

It is definitely on the list of places to return to the next time we are in this area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
185 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great for a drink and small bites”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is close to whiskey row. There is patio seating along the creek and entertainment usually on weekends. Great for happy hour when the tapas are discounted. It is great to order a variety and share. I love the fried avocado.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelercb212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food, Fun Time”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing food and drink, great service, totally awesome atmosphere! We had a great time, ate more than our fill and absolutely enjoyed the homemade sangria! Joe from The Motor Lodge recommended for us and it was everything he said it would be! The Motor Lodge and El Azul Gato, great combination! Both highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I ate dinner at this restaurant on Monday 7/21. We arrived about 5:45 and the place was almost full. We we were told by a local to eat there and sure are happy we did. Both of our dinners were delicious. We are gourmet cooks and couldn't have done a better preparation of food than we had. Our only complaint was that the service was slow but understandable. Prices for this quality of restaurant were more than reasonable.
Wish this restaurant was closer to home as we would be regulars.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gato Azul also viewed

 

Been to El Gato Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing