We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coolest motel ever!”
Review of Apache Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apache Lodge
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I live in Phoenix and had to go to Prescott for the night last weekend. I always wanted to stay at this retro lodge. It was built in 1946! This place has tons of character and charm.It's truely a iconic motor lodge on the outside.The rooms have been updated.The front desk guy,John was so nice and always in the office. The room was clean and the bed comfortable .It's close to downtown which made going to dinner easy.There is a great free latte/coffee machine in the lobby so you can grab a coffee for the road on check out.I plan on returning again next time I go to Prescott.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BibiAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have been to Prescott a numerous of times and I have always wanted to stay at the Apache, but we had always had reservations elswhere because I could never remember the lodges name?? Anyhow, we did have the opprotunity to get a room this time (cancelling another hotel reservation) and was not disappointed! I love staying at the older motor lodges because they have so much character. The room was clean, the coffee delicious, the bed super comfy (slept like a baby, fortunantly a very quite night) I had a heck of a time getting up. We will be staying again. Thanks Apache Lodge! P.S, bring toilettries ;)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is an old place, very colorful! They are working to re-decorate and re-do rooms. The place is quaint and the owners were nice and very helpful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzy51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

A fantastically kitchy and rustic motel that has comfy beds and old world charm for a heck of a good price!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank truflmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

What a treat! Funky and clean...all-in-one coffee maker in the office had espresso, cappucchino, chai tea and more...desk man a great guy! Back stairs to J.B.'s restaurant on Sheldon St. a plus...great service and breakfast from menu and buffet. Price for two full size beds was very affordable. Short drive or inexpensive cab ride to "Whiskey Row"...Circle K within walking distance. My wife and three other couples sat in lawn chairs, shared beers and thoughts and didn't disturb a solitary soul (of course we're of an age that likes to bed down before 10:00 PM). For folks used to being catered to, not pampered.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariachibasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed at the Apache for just one night with my wife and 11 year old son. We had just driven from Las Vegas and needed a decent place to spend the night. We checked out several motels in the area but choose the Apache based on price. We drove in about 8 pm and were greeted by a very nice guy working in the office. He showed us a basic room near the road. Unfortunately, you could hear the traffic...plus the room received the neon glow of the motel sign. We made some small talk and then asked if there was another room availaible. He said for a few extra dollars he had an interior courtyard room available. This room had 2 double beds and was much better. It had a small, clean bathroom and TV. The Apache is a throw back to another era. If you are looking for a charming little motel with basic ammenities you will not be disappointed. If you need down pillows, valet parking, or room service...this is not the place for you It's a nice clean hotel with a friendly staff. We also ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant next door. Good basic food. Happy Travels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ricjportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I don't like to write bad reviews because people depend on their businesses for a living. Just the same, I have to warn you off staying at the Apache Lodge in Prescott until they take care of some serious upkeep problems.

This is a drive-up to your room and park right there kind of motor-lodge. The rooms are small, but that's not unusual for old properties. The problems were more the condition and difficulty of using the tiny place. The carpet was very old and coming apart along every seam. The room was very dark and should have had more lighting available.

There was the tiniest bath room that while using the commode you could rest your chin on the sink in front of you - no exaggeration! There was no fan in the bath room but not to worry - they had thoughtfully punched a hole in the roof and put a tin pipe on it. I could sit down, look up at the stars at night while resting my chin on the sink! During the day, any insect or bird could come right on in with the Arizona heat.

Then there was a family in a nearby room who chose to sit outside our window all evening and have a little beer drinking gathering in lawnchairs. Not helping the ambiance, was the the proprietor joining them for a can, leaving us no one to speak to about the lack of privacy.

Thankfully our stay was short at one night. Here's hoping yours is even shorter.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AZDave09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage House Motel
Heritage House Motel
#16 of 22 in Prescott
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#7 of 22 in Prescott
865 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Prescott
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites & Conference Center Prescott
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Prescott
Days Inn Prescott
#15 of 22 in Prescott
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apache Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apache Lodge

Address: 1130 E Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3310
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apache Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apache Lodge is one of the last original 1940's vintage Motor Courts, conveniently located within walking distance of Historic Whiskey Row and the Downtown Square in Prescott. We are dedicated to maintaining the spirit of the iconic Route 66 and "Go West young man" nostalgia. Guests will be pleased with our numerous modern amenities that include: Free High Speed WiFi, Free Business Services, In-Lobby Guest Computer, Complimentary Hot Beverages, Ice and Vending Machines, Coin-Op Guest Laundry, In-Room Refrigerators, Direct TV with its movie channels HBO, Cinemax, Shotime, Nat Geo, both MLB and NFL channel , and much more! Our dedicated housekeeping staff ensures that we are able to offer clean rooms, very comfortable beds and a great night's sleep. We're proud to offer this level of service at affordable, competitive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Apache Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apache Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing