We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the real "roach motel"”
Review of Hotel Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vendome
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“the real "roach motel"”
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Where do I begin...my wife and I stayed the night of October 10th in room 16 of the Hotel Vendome. I chose the hotel for its great location near downtown. We were lucky"" enough to be assigned a room at the very end of the hall where the electrical service box was located on the outside wall. There was an annoying, pulsating electrical hum that resonated into the room to the point where my wife had to stuff toilet paper in her ears in order to get to sleep. About 1:30 am, my wife was awakened by a cockroach crawling on her face. Needless to say, it took us some time to get back to sleep after I killed the roach. As we checked out, I expected the clerk to ask about our stay at which time I planned to express my disappointment but instead the clerk hummed a tune to himself while he processed the credit card receipt and made no eye contact and didn't speak a word to me. I'm 65 years old and have traveled extensively in the U.S., Canada and Europe and this was the worst night my wife and I have ever spent in a hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — loud pulsating hum from electrical box on outside wall and visit by a cockroach at 1:30am
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TempeArizonaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VendomeHotel, Owner at Hotel Vendome, responded to this review, 3 February 2009
We have agonized over this review. We have even discussed it with some of the other B&B and hotel owners since this same person has given some other awful accounts of staying at their places too. We can't quite figure out the part about the electric box. If they stayed at the end of the hall in room 16, it is on the second floor. Our electric box is on the first floor located in the middle of the building. Our heat and air kick on and off, but other than that, we can't figure out what they were hearing during the night. As far as a cockroach...never has a guest complained about that, nor have we or our housekeepers ever seen one here. We once had a beehive located under an eve, but had it exterminated as soon as it was found. Since then, we have regularly scheduled exterminations as a preventative precaution. University Pest Control inspects regularly and records their findings. We would be happy to share their reports with anyone who asks. Calling us a "roach motel" is about as hurtful as it gets and could damage our family business tremendously. Our greatest concern is that we want everyone who comes here to have a positive experience and try to do everything we can to make it so. We can't figure out who this person was from his description of his experience here. Nor has anything happened here that is similar to what he is describing that makes us recall his stay. We wish we could speak with him directly and would welcome direct and honest communication. We would like to hear about his stay from his perspective to understand exactly what happened. Frank and Kathie Langford, owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    100
    19
    4
    9
See reviews for
79
245
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

This is a hotel with charm. It is an historic curiousity and an intersting place to stay because of that. Do not expect spacious rooms or any of the accoutrements of purpose-built hotel chains but revel in the many other features. The owner and service staff are friendly and will provide information about places of interest in Prescott. The town, itself, has many qualitites. Try to visit the Sharlott Museum for instance. Nearby Jerome is also something not to be missed. The Rose restaurant, recommended by Hotel Vendome, is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I rented two rooms (the one with the ghost and the one in front) and both were clean and comfortable. Room 16 (with the ghost) had a very small bathroom and a square bathtub similar to that in some hospitals.

The other room had a bigger bathroom, with a nice old tub (old but CLEAN). They provide soap made in Prescott, which I thought was nice since nothing seems to be original anymore :-) They also had all the other toilettries.

Breakfast was a little croweded and very basic. Coffee, juice, milk, cereals, and bread.

I liked that it was close to downtown, so we could walk to it.

Like I said, it was just enough.... and we went in the low season, so the price was just right.

  • Liked — The story about the ghost, even though we didn't see it.
  • Disliked — Breakfast selection
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Psykiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

I spent two nights at the Hotel Vendome over the 4th of July weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. I was greeted when I arrived by one of the owner's, Frank, and was quite impressed when he addressed me by name the following morning during breakfast. Frank and his wife were quite gracious hosts.

The location of the hotel was perfect for my needs. Just a couple of blocks from Whiskey Row and the Courthouse Plaza where many holiday events were staged during the entire weekend (arts & crafts fair, live bands at the courthouse, boot races, etc.) and only a couple of miles to the rodeo grounds. The hotel is also located along the parade route. Guests could sit on the chairs or benches on the veranda or in chairs on the sidewalk and enjoy the 170+ parade entries roll by.

While the hotel is reputed to be haunted by former owner Abbie and her cat, I did not have the opportunity to encounter them.

The hotel really does have a bed and breakfast feel to it and I enjoyed getting to know some of the other guests.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Historic hotel, location, and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — In speaking with older guests, the old-fashioned clawed tubs were way too high for them to get into and out of the tub.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Romantic and lovely! I loved this old hotel with all it's interesting features, furnishings and decor. Walking distance to everything. We really had a chance to relax, sit on the porch rockers and have a glass of wine. It's my new getaway. Prescott is a lovely town to spend time in.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, wine bar, front porch
  • Disliked — No restaurant in building, but many were within walking distance
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainMan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2008

This hotel is a historic building right in downtown Prescott. There are old fashioned quilts on the beds, and our room had a clawfoot tub. They have an average complimentary breakfast in the morning. The lobby has a bar, and there is a nice front porch area with benches and rocking chairs. The location is fantastic with restaurants and bars all within close walking distance. The only drawback was that the rooms didn't feel very private, because you could really hear any noise in the hallway.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — didn't feel very private
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kexueli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2007

We absolutely loved the Vendome.

Our room was warm, comfortable and genuinely cozy. The en-suite was clean, well equipped and huge- almost as big as the room itself.

We received a warm welcome at check-in and the small staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast was basic but plentiful with cereals, hot drinks, fruit and pastries.

The Vendome is ideally situated for a stay in Prescott, located in a tranquil side street yet just a stones throw from the heart of downtown.

If you’re looking for something comfortable, convenient and with genuine character, look no further than the Vendome. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Charming atmosphere and comfortable room.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.3 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#13 of 22 in Prescott
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
773 reviews
4.0 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#12 of 22 in Prescott
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Property: Hotel Vendome
Address: 230 S Cortez St, Prescott, AZ 86303-3939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Prescott
#5 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#7 Family Hotel in Prescott
#10 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel built in 1917, the Hotel Vendome still retains much of its original charm. Located in the heart of downtown Prescott a half block from the Courthouse Square with many restaurants, bars, Whiskey Row, galleries and antique shops within walking distance. The hotel has 20 guest rooms with original clawfoot tubs, a wine and beer bar and an area to lounge and take in the beautiful front windows. Complimentary continental breakfast, guest pantry with tea and coffee. Romance/Pamper packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendome Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing