We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner greatness”
Review of San Cayetano

San Cayetano
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Rio Rico
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner greatness”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Drinks were fabulous (did have to wait a little longer than I liked), and my food was awesome (I had the fish). Hubbs had salad that looked great, and our lunch the next day was amazing (although hubby didn't like his mexican pizza, so we switched meals)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank azpyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Valentine's Disappointment”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I spent Valentine's weekend at Esplendor Resort in Rio Rico. We arrived on Valentine's day and chose San Cayetano for dinner rather than driving to Tubac. We were seating quickly and waited for 10 minutes to order drinks. It was busy so this was fine. They had a set menu (salad, main, dessert) plus an optional appetizer for the holiday. We ordered an appetizer and beverage. We received it 3 minutes later. Shrimped wrapped in bacon... it was way overcooked and not very warm. We didn't receive our salads. After our main course was delivered, the server (not waiter) notice we didn't have salad and delivered them 10 minutes later. We were grateful because it ended up being the best part of the meal. It was obvious that everything was precooked. Our steak tasted like propane from a gas grill and was overcooked, the risotto (it came as a scoop, never heard of that) wasn't ediable, and the broccoli was mushy and limp. There was no point in dessert. Our waiter was odd and not approachable. Considering this was a romantic holiday at a resort, we expected at least a decent meal. We would NOT recommend this restaurant and avoided it for the rest of the weekend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and service”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had dinner one night and breakfast 2 mornings (included in stay). We also had only drinks one other night. At least half of our food during all our visits were cold and had to be sent back. The food was mediocre and somewhat bland. DO NOT get the all you can eat fish and chips! The fish was terrible and so was the tortilla soup. The older male bar tender was very pleasant and did let us bring our own wine (which we received from the resort for our stay) into the bar that last night and drink it with no extra charge. The only way I'd eat here again was if I really didn't want to drive out of the resort or if it was free. Check out Nonna Vida down the street. They were delicious!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmlhigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rico, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good days and bad”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We have eaten here often, the restaurant area and bar area. Usually the food is excellent, the atmosphere is great, but service is never the greatest. Our most recent visit, the female bartender/ waitress was just horrible. She is slow, rude, and doesn't know how to make drinks. The food, last time we ate there was cold. Most of the time when we have a different server, the experience is better. I give them 3 stars because usually it's a pretty good experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank misakotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had the Quevos Rancheros and the Eggs Benedict, more of that great Chorizo, eggs were perfect. Eggs Benny was also good and the service was great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sedonaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Cayetano also viewed

 

Been to San Cayetano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing