We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We have never stayed in a resort before so we were not sure what to expect for one with an affordable price, but we enjoyed it. The rooms did seem kind of old but it wasnt run down. We had an amazing view and the restaurant was delicious. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We only stayed one night at this hotel but I wish we could have stayed a day or two longer to enjoy the grounds and facilities. It's true that is not a "new" hotel so the room could have been spruced up a bit but I liked that each room had either a small private patio or balcony with table and chairs to sit outside. Our room was clean and comfortable. The grounds have a resort feel to them. We didn't have the opportunity to try the restaurant but when we passed by there was live music.

My only complaint is the five flights of stairs that we had to drag our luggage up to get to our ground level room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CS192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

His hotel is very nice with the big pool and hot tub, not to mention the views. The food is great, the staff are super helpful as well. One thing I would like to see, is an update of the rooms. The rooms is old and had some dirtiness to it. Just a remodel and this hotel is good to go. At least it's close to everything, so not bad in my opinion.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank zombie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very old!!! the rooms are late 70. the place is a ZERO! we checked in the room was so HOT took two hours to cool down. we were going to stay two nights but found the Tubac Resort and moved that day.

please read this. not worth the deal!!!

Room Tip: ground floor only NO Elevators and no help with the bags. NO ELEVATORS
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sedonahart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went down to AZ for a cousins wedding, I was able to get an early check in at the hotel around 130pm. Which we were really happy about since we had to be at the church at 4. Upon getting into the room the shower curtain was on the bedroom floor and was broken so I was not able to fix it myself. I called the Front desk and was told someone would be coming up but 20 mins later no one had came so I had to send my kids to my parents and sisters room to take a shower. During that time my son found a brown recluse spider right by the bed, it had a web from the bed to the nightstand. I understand its the desert and it happens but it was obvious the room had not been occupied or cleaned in several days. I called the Front desk again and told them about the spider and shower curtain again and was told someone will be up right away. I waited another 20 mins before I called and asked to speak to a manager, then someone was in the room within 5 mins. I was late to the wedding and frustrated that it took so long to get someone in the room and 3 calls later. Other than that incident, i had no problems with the room but was not able to get comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Although this resort has seen better days, it is still pleasant and a very reasonably priced getaway during a hot southern Arizona summer. The setting is spectacular, the staff is extremely accomodating and friendly, the food and drink is good, the pool refreshing, and overall it provides a visitor with a charming borderland experience. Nearby is the charming city of Nogales (AZ, and Sonora, Mexico if you have your passport to return to the USA), Tumacácori National Monument, Peña Blanca Lake and Madera Canyon. Also nearby is the town of Tubac with art galleries, a historic state park, and terrific restaurants.

Room Tip: You get a choice between a pool-view room, overlooking the expansive courtyard and grounds; or a mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatunAhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Picturesque resort setting with numerous amenities including the huge, sparkling pool. First trip was for pleasure & recent visit was for a conference. Friendly, helpful staff, fantastic food & memorable outings abound in every direction. Great birding venue & stunning sunsets from the Sunset Deck.

Room Tip: Mountain or pool views both nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreatsAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Rico
7.2 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
23.7 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Fray Marcos De Niza
Fray Marcos De Niza
#4 of 7 in Nogales
44 reviews
9.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Americana Nogales
14.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Nogales
Fiesta Inn Nogales
#1 of 7 in Nogales
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico

Address: 1069 Camino Caralampi, Rio Rico, AZ 85648-1610
Region: United States > Arizona > Rio Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Price Range: £45 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover simplicity, beauty, and understated elegance. The Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico combines the essence of the Old West with spirit of Old Mexico. With its acclaimed cuisine, championship golf, and memorable vistas, Esplendor Resort offers an exciting place for travelers to enjoy the beautiful scenery and history of southern Arizona. The 179 comfortable guest rooms are adorned with evocative Southwest furnishings. Just 40 minutes south of Tuscon, Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico will transport you to another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Hotel Rio Rico
Esplendor Resort Rio Rico
Esplendor Hotel Rio Rico
Rio Rico Resort
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing