We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but horrible waitress service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
San Diego, California
1 review
“Nice but horrible waitress service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

The grounds were dirty but beautiful views. Room was ok, out dated but for the price it's expected. There was some sort of pool birthday party going on and it made it very uncomfortable for my family to swim. Too many screaming kids running around the pool with out life guard. We tried to have breakfast in the restaurant, there was no one eating or any staff to greet us, after waiting some time a women came gave us menus. She was some what pleasant but we decided to try nickels diner down the road which had plenty of people and good food for a great price. Later that evening my husband and I went for some drinks at the bar. A tall gentleman, Fabiano or Fransico (sorry can't remember) greeted us and made us feel very welcome. He also made terrific drinks and had us laughing. He was busy, seemed like only person working. A young women offered to get us anything but she had attitude. We asked for more water and napkins the wings were very saucy and good. She didn't give us water and tossed the napkins in front of us. My husband thinks her name tag said sandy or cindy. Too bad we can't remember names, the bartender great, women was awful and rude. It seemed as if the waitress was more interested in talking with the bartender than helping the guests. We would recommend this resort and come again. We suggest hiring new staff in morning and evening, maybe staff training for the women there.
Also there was no elevators so pack lite.

Room Tip: Front desk was very nice and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    109
    67
    42
    24
See reviews for
49
149
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was a horrible hotel. First, the grounds are dirty, bird crap all over the place, the wheel place needs a power washing. Secondly, kid pool parties at the pool made you feel you were crashing someone's party. The Kids running around screaming and yelling -- anything but peaceful. Third, the dinner was mediocre at best. What a waste of money. 4. There is absolutely nothing to do close by in the evening, and of course, can’t hang out at the pool. Our balcony had a view of dead branches blocking our mountain view. And of course, the birds flying everywhere near the door because of all the nests over the doors of the rooms. 5. Beds are so hard. We bought a 2 day stay from Travel zoo, and we checked out the second day and drove up to Tucson. Ugh!!!! Never again! We complained at the front desk and all they said was we are sorry.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissy022_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio Rico hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Esplendor several times, the staff makes you feel as though you are family when you stay with them. No hotel is perfect, and the Esplendor is no exception, but the overall ambiance of the place; the rooms, saloon, pool, restaurant, etc., and not to mention the awesome view, makes one forget about any negatives about staying here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Filthy dirty full of bird poop all over walkways. The carpets stunk. No elevators. Had drag luggage up 3 flights of stairs. Pool and Jacuzzi were often dirty. Tennis courts were always locked. Refrigerator didn't work. Would be a nice place if it was fixed up and remodeled. I definitely won't stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We have never stayed in a resort before so we were not sure what to expect for one with an affordable price, but we enjoyed it. The rooms did seem kind of old but it wasnt run down. We had an amazing view and the restaurant was delicious. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We only stayed one night at this hotel but I wish we could have stayed a day or two longer to enjoy the grounds and facilities. It's true that is not a "new" hotel so the room could have been spruced up a bit but I liked that each room had either a small private patio or balcony with table and chairs to sit outside. Our room was clean and comfortable. The grounds have a resort feel to them. We didn't have the opportunity to try the restaurant but when we passed by there was live music.

My only complaint is the five flights of stairs that we had to drag our luggage up to get to our ground level room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CS192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

His hotel is very nice with the big pool and hot tub, not to mention the views. The food is great, the staff are super helpful as well. One thing I would like to see, is an update of the rooms. The rooms is old and had some dirtiness to it. Just a remodel and this hotel is good to go. At least it's close to everything, so not bad in my opinion.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank zombie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Rico
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn & Suites
7.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Nogales
22.6 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico

Property: Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Address: 1069 Camino Caralampi, Rio Rico, AZ 85648-1610
Region: United States > Arizona > Rio Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover simplicity, beauty, and understated elegance. The Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico combines the essence of the Old West with spirit of Old Mexico. With its acclaimed cuisine, championship golf, and memorable vistas, Esplendor Resort offers an exciting place for travelers to enjoy the beautiful scenery and history of southern Arizona. The 179 comfortable guest rooms are adorned with evocative Southwest furnishings. Just 40 minutes south of Tuscon, Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico will transport you to another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Hotel Rio Rico
Esplendor Resort Rio Rico
Esplendor Hotel Rio Rico
Rio Rico Resort
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing