We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Reviewed 13 March 2010

A charming and quiet place with pleasant views and friendly, helpful staff.  The rooms are clean and attractively decorated. Providing Starbucks coffee for the inroom coffee makers is inspired!   If you are vegetarian, avoid the restaurant  -- there are no vegetarian options.  Instead, try the Mesquite Ranch Family Restaurant in the little shopping center at the bottom of the hill -- love those breakfast burritos! 

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

This hotel has alot to offer due to its location. it is 20 minutes away from the International border and makes it easy to go into Mexico to shop and eat good food 45 minute away from Tucson which is a big City. Wonderful golf course highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concretemaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Recently had the pleasure to stay for a quick weekend get away. We were fortunate to obtain a 2 room suite and found it very quiet and clean. The decor was very nice and the staff extremely attentive. We had drinks at the resort bar and found our bartender "Jaime" wonderful to talk to, a superb host, and full of information about mexico which is only a 10 minute drive down the freeway. We had a chance to use both the pool and spa and found the entire weekend very relaxing. The location of the Resort is perfect...just far enough away from Nogales, Az. and the international border to be very relaxful and quiet but close enough to be there within just a few short minutes (drive.)

Played golf one day at the Resort's golf course and also had a great time. The course was beautiful and well cared for and we got a tee time on Sunday at the exact time we desried. I would recommend this property to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing time and to just "get away."

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aztraveler22928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

My two sisters and I, along with our two teenage daughters had a fantastic long-weekend at the resort. We shared a 2 bed/2 bath suite that had a charming parlor between, and fantastic views of the mountains from every room. Everything we needed was right there, TV/Micro/Mini fridge, along with in-room coffee/tea and plenty of room to lounge and visit. We loved the talavera tiles and the rustic furniture, everything was very clean and comfortable. There's even a very nice nature walk around the grounds. We're already planning our stay for next year!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingfishergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

My sisters, their teenage daughters and I stayed at the resort for 4 nights. We had 2 rooms connected by a parlor with a fold-out couch. The accommodations were quite comfortable, the rooms were decorated in traditional Spanish/SW decor. All the staff we encountered were pleasant, friendly and courteous. Our service was excellent. We ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was quite good, with a variety of offerings. If we hadn't been in Tucson all day every day, we would have eaten there more. The grounds were well maintained and attractive. We would definetely stay there again for our 2nd annual get-together.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Only way to get military discount with this company is if you are staying by yourself. You MUST present your military orders to get the discounted rate. If there are 2 of you (your wife, for example), the price goes up to $100. If you are on a leisure trip, you have to pay the full rate - meaning NO military discount.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank campingmilitaryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplendorsusan, Guest Service Manager at Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2010

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay and for your service to our country. I'm sorry that the rate you paid was not to your liking. As you mentioned, we offer both a per diem rate and a government leisure rate, to accommodate our service men and women, on or off duty and your are right, this time of year, the leisure rate is $100, as compared to $130 to $170. We have been told by the many, many government travelers that this is a very good rate and more importantly a good value when you consider the 170 acres, golf course, complimentary lighted tennis courts, fitness center, nature trails, two restaurants and bar's, guest laundry, complimentary internet, etc. I am very sorry that you did not feel that way. Thank you again for your comments and let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

The Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico is located about 13 miles north of the US/MX border near Nogales and about 50 miles south of Tucson along US Interstate I-19. It is peaceful, and maybe even a bit idyllic. It is NOT like staying in a city hotel. I saw Roadrunners zipping all about.

I stayed at the Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico in early January, 2010. The resort is situated on top of a hill in Rio Rico and provides a very nice view of the surrounding mountains, although housing developments are creeping close to the resort. There is a golf course at the resort, although I did not play. The primary resort building houses meeting rooms, a large restaurant and a roomy saloon/bar. A large patio abuts the saloon and restaurant for outside dining during warm weather. Guest rooms are organized in many stand alone lodges, each sporting a unique name. I stayed in the Horned Toad building this time. On a previous visit I stayed in the Roadrunner building. These two buildings have the best reception for the free wireless internet, although it was weak. Free internet is also available in the hotel lobby, which worked very well. There are perhaps another six guest buildings on site. All buildings surround a large, fenced heated exterior pool. Ample pool furniture is in place. All guest room buildings have two to three floors with doors that open to the outside. Rooms are decorated in a Native American/southwestern style.

A reasonably well equipped exercise room adjoins the pool area. This is a hotel to get away from it all. Breakfast is generally not included in the cost of a night's stay, and the hotel seemed proud of their menu, to judge by the prices.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bahnreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Rico
7.5 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
11.6 mi away
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
33 mi away
Rancho de la Osa
Rancho de la Osa
#1 of 1 in Sasabe
11 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tubac Country Inn
Tubac Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Tubac
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico

Address: 1069 Camino Caralampi, Rio Rico, AZ 85648-1610
Region: United States > Arizona > Rio Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Price Range: £45 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover simplicity, beauty, and understated elegance. The Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico combines the essence of the Old West with spirit of Old Mexico. With its acclaimed cuisine, championship golf, and memorable vistas, Esplendor Resort offers an exciting place for travelers to enjoy the beautiful scenery and history of southern Arizona. The 179 comfortable guest rooms are adorned with evocative Southwest furnishings. Just 40 minutes south of Tuscon, Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico will transport you to another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Hotel Rio Rico
Esplendor Resort Rio Rico
Esplendor Hotel Rio Rico
Rio Rico Resort
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing