We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to visit...”

Titan Missile Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Sahuarita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The guided tour shows visitors how ready the U.S. was for war with the Soviets.
san diego
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to visit...”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Went to this museum and was glad that we did. It honestly was a great place to see, but then again it didn't take to long to go through the entire museum. When you first arrive you'll sit through a 10 or 15 minutes movie that will tell you about the history of the missiles and how they were developed and a little bit out the cold war, if i remember right. After that you'll be walked around a little bit and down into the silo, over all if is great to learn about it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wildhorse629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    184
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
185 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cold War”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Excellent guides! Very knowledgeable staff taking you through a silo that is still monitored by the former USSR,

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GailandSteve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a Blast”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My husband is a nuke nerd. So when we recently visited Tucson, we couldn't avoid - I mean pass up - the chance to see the only Titan missile silo open to the public. We signed up for the "Top to Bottom" tour and spent the morning climbing through the silo. I actually learned a lot...and will admit that I had fun doing it. I strongly advise visiting the silo and taking this tour. If you are lucky enough to get Norm Goetz and Tom McConnell as your guides, then you are in for a great experience. We started topside with a short film and then entered the silo. We got to "launch" the missile, see where the crew slept, push open the blast doors and crawl up ladders to peek in nooks and crannies on every level. We learned that ox blood was used to put out fires and the best part -- got to descend to the bottom of the "W" blast deflector on level 9 and look up. That was the absolutely best part! If you are going to take the special tour, register early. Groups are kept small and ours had been sold out weeks in advance. Also, be prepared to climb. If your climbing days are over, there are other tours. Regardless of what you do, you will leave learning something new and can't help but be impressed with what engineers were able to do with a slide rule fifty years ago. The construction of the silo itself is a marvel. Enjoy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasTexasChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson,arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting...”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I knew nothing about the Titan missile except that we had some. I had out of town guests and I thought this would be interesting for all of us, and it was. Volunteers give the tour which is very nice, as they are knowledgeable and happy to be there. I'd call my visit 100% educational. Not for the claustrophobic, as the area is narrow and the ceilings are low. Steep descent, but there is an elevator for those who need it.

Highly recommended, especially if you don't know anything about these types of weapons (or maybe think you do).

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank nalahblueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No Nukes is Good Nukes”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Very interesting tour, well presented by the guides, with lots of fascinating facts. It's a sad reflection on the Human race that at the end of the day it's all about destruction but it's well worth a visit, highly recommend it if you're down that way.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Titan Missile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Titan Missile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing