We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint David
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Down By The River Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Saint David B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We just returned from a short yet refreshing get-away to Arizona. We met friends from Phoenix at this lovely bed and breakfast south of Benson, AZ. Mike and Angie greeted us warmly and obviously care about every detail of Down by the River. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the breakfasts incredible, the serenity and quiet very soothing. Definitely a special place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biscuitgods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We have had other guest that have traveled from different locations to spend time together at our b and b, since it was a half way point. We believe that we offer our guest that little something special to make their stay enjoyable. Hope to have you and your friends make another reunion trip in the future.
Mike and Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We spent 4 nights with Mike and Angie and would do it again in a heartbeat. What can I say that has not already been said by other reviewers? The photos do not really fully portray the experience. You will be pleasantly surprised that rooms are nicer and a little larger than they appear in photos. Yes, the food is great. They seem to enjoy and take pride in feeding guests very well. The common areas are beautifully decorated with Western and Native collections. The location is quiet except for the sounds of hummingbirds and other pleasing country sounds. To access this property, you drive down a long bumpy dirt road that may make some guests uneasy, but this is Arizona. If you want paved roads to your door, stay elsewhere and miss the adventure. While you may not be looking to make new friends, you may leave a visit to Down by the River feeling you have made new friends, like it or not. While small details may not be exciting, they can make or break a stay for some. Bath towels were thick and luxurious. The water pressure and quality were great. The fridge in the room kept things very cold. The floors and bath area were very clean. They served wonderful breakfast on time and as scheduled. This quiet paradise is a nice central base if you want to visit Tucson, Bisbee, Tombstone, and other southern Arizona destinations. This choice was definitely a winner!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickEtnaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBTRBAB, Manager at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Rick
We want to thank you for your kind words. It is hard to show exactly what this place is like from pictures and you are not the first to tell us that it is much better than what the pictures show. Even 4 days here aren't enough to see all of the things in this area. We hope to see you and your wife again at a future date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the B & B with the Hugs. Mike and Angie are gracious hosts and are very involved making sure your stay is first class. The rooms are very clean, the breakfasts are over the top. I especially like the smoothies that they served.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBTRBAB, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you Rob for choosing us at your destination lodging. When you come back we will have another breakfast that you can rave about. Hope to see you again in the future.
Mike and Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My friends and I spent 3 days in Southeast Arizona visiting Bisbee, Tombstone and wine tasting. Down By The River B&B was the perfect place to stay. It is off the beaten path, very quiet. Mike and Angie are the consummate hosts. The breakfasts were gourmet quality. Smoothies were delicious.
The entire B&B is a museum devoted to the Southwest. Antiques are everywhere. Each room has a theme. I stayed in the Prospectors room. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. There was a coffee pot, refrigerator and microwave in the room.
My friends and I are already planning another trip to SE Arizona and will definitely stay at Down By The River again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Karl
We want to thank you for bringing your friends with you to the B and B. We enjoyed your group and we are glad that we were able to spend some time getting to know them all. We now have more friends because you brought them with you.
Safe travels my friend.
Mike and Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the B&B. This beautiful adobe property is the ideal getaway for the local area. Angie and Mike are gracious hosts who are sincerely interested in making your stay the absolute best. All rooms are impeccably clean, the breakfasts are great with menu's changing every day. All rooms are decorated with memorabilia from the southwest and enriched with all types of antiques. Mike is extremely knowledgeable of distance to local sites and will give you lot's of support as you develop your itinerary.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thanks James
We were glad that you came and brought such an interesting group of people with you. We hope to see you again in the future.
Mike and Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Down By The River B & B is a marvelous find, tucked away next to the San Pedro River in southeastern Arizona. The hosts, Mike and Angie, are gracious and hospitable... and excellent cooks! In addition to a homemade treat waiting for you after you first arrive, or return after a long day, the breakfasts are world class. Mike and Angie are also very knowledgeable about the natural features of the area, including Kartchner Caverns State Park, and places to see birds such as Whitewater Draw and the San Pedro Riparian area. We and another couple had a great long weekend at Down by the River in mid-February, and are already planning our return! If you enjoy nature,especially bird watching, and like quiet and not-yet-discovered places of interest...this is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

We are glad that you and your friends had such a good time. We try to keep our birding guests informed on areas that we have gone to such as White Water Draw.
As for the food we like to make sure you are served something you can get at the average restaurant. We like doing things that will make you look forward to having a taste adventure in the morning. If we succeeded in that then we feel that we did a great job.
Hope you will be able to come back and stay again during a different part of the year to see the other birding opportunities in the area.
Mike and Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Angie and Mike are warm, welcoming hosts. They serve delicious breakfasts with a lovely variety of dishes. They are quite helpful regarding what to see and do in the area. The solitude of the B and B is grand. Each of the themed bedrooms are meticulous, comfortable, and pretty. The entire B and B is filled with fascinating antiques of yesterday. Guests have come to stay from each of the continents. We heartily recommend Down By The River. Jill and Lee

Room Tip: Choose a room based on which decor you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you Lee and Jill. It was a pleasure serving you and we enjoyed your company. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and we hopefully will be seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Down By The River Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down By The River Bed And Breakfast

Address: 2255 Efken Place, PO Box 387, Saint David, AZ 85630
Region: United States > Arizona > Saint David
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint David
Price Range: £69 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down By The River B and B. The Lodging Hub of Cochise County, is located at the northern end of the San Pedro River National Riparian Conservation Area, between Benson and Tombstone. The area is one of the best in the United States for migratory bird watching with more than 400 species migrating through the area in a years time. We are minutes from Tombstone and Kartchner Caverns, a wet cave system located in Benson AZ. The property consists of 4 guest rooms set on 16 acres abutting the San Pedro River, the last free flowing river in Arizona. The mountain views and tree lined river views give the B and B a romantic quality seldom found in the Arizona Desert areas. 30+ Wineries are a short drive away. As well a new seating area Down by the River you don't want to miss. See You Soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing