We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Are You Kidding Me?”
Review of Sheffler's Motel

Sheffler's Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheffler's Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Salome
Tustin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Are You Kidding Me?”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I have literally stayed at this motel over 100 times, while in Salome for business. It used to be the only place to stay for 60 miles. Either had to go on to Wickenburg or back to Blyth. I have stayed at numerous "rural" motels for business and this by far is the worst. I would come home with horror stories for my friends about my "Sheffler experience" and no one would believe me, they though I was obviously embellishing the story. . . until I documented it with photos. You had to put your boots on to walk on the carpet to the bathroom at night. Water pressure? You'll never get the soap out of your hair, expecially if you stay in the rooms farthest from the check in. I saw they gave someone a discount for their stellar review, I wouldn't stay there again for any discount, free room, or even if they paid me. The only reason they are rated 2nd best in Salome is because there is only 1 other motel. That motel unfortunately it only has 3 rooms and is almost always booked up. Believe me, if there were 100 motels it would be rated the 100th.

Room Tip: No matter how tired your are and tempting it is to stop, KEEP DRIVING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    7
    4
    9
See reviews for
2
7
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you're a fan of old-time motel architecture, you'll love Sheffler's. The motel units form a U-shaped arc facing the highway, with the original sign in good condition. A tower rises from the middle of the arc to catch the eye of the passing motorist (I theorize it once bore the word "Salome" on one face and a phone number on the other, but those have worn away.) At night, the eaves are still outlined with red neon and red fluorescent lights. Old-style metal lawn chairs are placed on the covered walkway in front of the units to provide places to sit and watch the (now dwindling) traffic on US 60. Elsewhere on the web, you can find postcard images from the 1940s and 1950s showing the motel, relatively unchanged outside except for the addition of a house for the operators in the middle of the arc.

Inside, the room was in good condition, with working modern fridge, microwave, TV, phone, wall air conditioner, and two upholstered chairs. The operator (and her dachsund) were friendly and helpful. She went out of her way to help me make a long distance call when I didn't have cell coverage. As with any antique, the building shows some signs of distress: the old wooden doors don't fit tightly, there was some cracked plaster, and there was a minor water leak in the bathroom. IMHO, well worth putting up with those in return for the chance to channel the spirits of 1940s motoring.

The cafe/bar across the street also dates to the 1940s and was originally operated in conjunction with the motel, but now appears to be independent; it was closed due to a recent fire when I passed through, but another cafe a short distance away was open.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bicycledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Sheffler's Motel, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Thanks for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is an older, charming motel that served my needs very well. It had a mini fridge, microwave and coffepot. The room was clean and the owners were friendly and accomodating. The pool was a plus. I would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Sheffler's Motel, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Thanks for staying..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My truck broke down on I-10 traveling from Northern CA to Houston. Got towed to the nearest living mechanic 18 miles away in Salome, AZ. Think Twilight Zone meets Alfred Hitchcock meets Spaghetti western. The Sheffler's Motel is on the main drag (Hwy 60) and has a classic 1940s look (toilet lid had a date of May 1941). The rooms are bare bones cheapy with that classic motel room smell and my mini-fridge door wouldn't close, the shower tile was shabby etc. but for $43 per night I was ok with that. I slept well although the red lights outside the windows lit the room a bit at night. The owners burnt a copal log outside all day so the air was incensed too. 60s Clamshell chairs outside each room to sit and watch the birds or read a book. So if you are a go-with-the-flow person trying to save $, this place is fine. If not, check out the Westward Motel down the road which is really cool for $60.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danax44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

It should be against the law to offer rooms like this to the public! I would call this "Mold Motel" - mold on baseboards, in corners, in shower, and (ugh!) on the mattress! I was sleepless in Salome too - bed was not much better than laying on the floor! Dirt and dead bugs were on the carpet, AC smelled of mildew, and what beat up furniture, carpet, etc.! No privacy at the window because the blinds didn't close right - had to place a sheet over it! Just an unbelievable, horrible experience - Don't stay at this unsanitary place, no matter what!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilnaturegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I travel extensively and am sometimes in places with my work that I would not normally visit. This is by far one of the worst places ever! Old beat up furniture, dirty, cold rooms with no safety features. The electrical appliances were all plugged into one powerstrip, the television was not even marginal. All in all staying at this place was more than miserable! I DO NOT recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoKidAz_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Had all we needed, we had 2 queen beds, owners stated 1/2 the rooms had remolded showers, ours did and is was great. Motel had a clean large size pool, awesome, in the room was microwave, fridge, cable tv. BBQ grills outside by the pool. I rate the motel great for being almost 70 year old business. Very cozy place, old style motor lodge from the 40's and 50's. If you are looking for Holiday Inn, keep going to phoenix. Mark R.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank trvaeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Sheffler's Motel, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Thanks for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sheffler's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffler's Motel

Property: Sheffler's Motel
Address: 66730 Hwy 60, Salome, AZ 85348
Region: United States > Arizona > Salome
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Salome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheffler's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheffler`s Hotel Salome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing