We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheffler's Motel
Nearby Hotels
Stanford Inn(Salome)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Parker(Parker)(Great Value!)
US$164
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Parker Inn(Parker)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Inn Parker(Parker)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
4
3
8
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
3
8
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I have literally stayed at this motel over 100 times, while in Salome for business. It used to be the only place to stay for 60 miles. Either had to go on to Wickenburg or back to Blyth. I have stayed at numerous "rural" motels for business and this by far is the worst. I would come home with horror stories for my friends about my "Sheffler experience" and no one would believe me, they though I was obviously embellishing the story. . . until I documented it with photos. You had to put your boots on to walk on the carpet to the bathroom at night. Water pressure? You'll never get the soap out of your hair, expecially if you stay in the rooms farthest from the check in. I saw they gave someone a discount for their stellar review, I wouldn't stay there again for any discount, free room, or even if they paid me. The only reason they are rated 2nd best in Salome is because there is only 1 other motel. That motel unfortunately it only has 3 rooms and is almost always booked up. Believe me, if there were 100 motels it would be rated the 100th.

Room Tip: No matter how tired your are and tempting it is to stop, KEEP DRIVING.
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you're a fan of old-time motel architecture, you'll love Sheffler's. The motel units form a U-shaped arc facing the highway, with the original sign in good condition. A tower rises from the middle of the arc to catch the eye of the passing motorist (I theorize it once bore the word "Salome" on one face and a phone number on the other, but those have worn away.) At night, the eaves are still outlined with red neon and red fluorescent lights. Old-style metal lawn chairs are placed on the covered walkway in front of the units to provide places to sit and watch the (now dwindling) traffic on US 60. Elsewhere on the web, you can find postcard images from the 1940s and 1950s showing the motel, relatively unchanged outside except for the addition of a house for the operators in the middle of the arc.

Inside, the room was in good condition, with working modern fridge, microwave, TV, phone, wall air conditioner, and two upholstered chairs. The operator (and her dachsund) were friendly and helpful. She went out of her way to help me make a long distance call when I didn't have cell coverage. As with any antique, the building shows some signs of distress: the old wooden doors don't fit tightly, there was some cracked plaster, and there was a minor water leak in the bathroom. IMHO, well worth putting up with those in return for the chance to channel the spirits of 1940s motoring.

The cafe/bar across the street also dates to the 1940s and was originally operated in conjunction with the motel, but now appears to be independent; it was closed due to a recent fire when I passed through, but another cafe a short distance away was open.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bicycledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 February 2017

Thanks for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is an older, charming motel that served my needs very well. It had a mini fridge, microwave and coffepot. The room was clean and the owners were friendly and accomodating. The pool was a plus. I would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 February 2017

Thanks for staying..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My truck broke down on I-10 traveling from Northern CA to Houston. Got towed to the nearest living mechanic 18 miles away in Salome, AZ. Think Twilight Zone meets Alfred Hitchcock meets Spaghetti western. The Sheffler's Motel is on the main drag (Hwy 60) and has a classic 1940s look (toilet lid had a date of May 1941). The rooms are bare bones cheapy with that classic motel room smell and my mini-fridge door wouldn't close, the shower tile was shabby etc. but for $43 per night I was ok with that. I slept well although the red lights outside the windows lit the room a bit at night. The owners burnt a copal log outside all day so the air was incensed too. 60s Clamshell chairs outside each room to sit and watch the birds or read a book. So if you are a go-with-the-flow person trying to save $, this place is fine. If not, check out the Westward Motel down the road which is really cool for $60.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danax44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

It should be against the law to offer rooms like this to the public! I would call this "Mold Motel" - mold on baseboards, in corners, in shower, and (ugh!) on the mattress! I was sleepless in Salome too - bed was not much better than laying on the floor! Dirt and dead bugs were on the carpet, AC smelled of mildew, and what beat up furniture, carpet, etc.! No privacy at the window because the blinds didn't close right - had to place a sheet over it! Just an unbelievable, horrible experience - Don't stay at this unsanitary place, no matter what!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilnaturegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews