We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food; Great Atmosphere”
Review of Cafe Monarch

Cafe Monarch
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Monarch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,267 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$65 - US$100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Café Monarch, in Old Town Scottsdale, is a family-owned and operated restaurant offering an ultra-romantic setting for your birthday, anniversary, special occasion, or extravagant night out. The four-course menu is altered weekly by Chef Gus Lewkowicz, using only seasonal and local ingredients. All servers are trained and certified sommeliers with extensive wine knowledge. Our sommeliers taste wine weekly to ensure the best pairing for each course. *Reservation Only *Vegetarian, Vegan, and Gluten free restrictions can be accommodated *Due to the high demand for outdoor seating we cannot guarantee or reserve courtyard seating. We will do our very best to accommodate requests when possible. Thank you for your understanding!
Green Bay
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food; Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

One of the finest restaurants I've eaten at (on a par with Beast in Portland Oregon). Fixed menu changes routinely, so you need to have a flexible palate - but it is so worth it. I highly recommend the wine pairing (we were served three different wines that well matched the food courses). Quite pricy ($55 meal; $25 wine pairing), but the quality delivers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreenBayJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    60
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A special place for Mothers day”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This quaint hidden gem produced a wonderful fixed menu with great ambiance as well as great food. We can't wait to go at night as all the candles will be lit and the outside seating will be not only romantic but so scenic. The owners focus on their customer and make it a very pleasant experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great outdoor experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

dear friends , nights in Scottsdale can be magic at Monarch. Above average food with good value and for this nor'eastener we need all the magic that we can get to avoid the winters back home. New chef and owner from last year .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AV_29R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Spectacular in every way ambience and food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We enjoyed a cucumber water puree. Delicious. We both enjoyed Heirloom Tomato-Watermelo Gazpacho, cold smoked lobster, minted almond-goat cheese cumpling, delicious 1st of 5. first Course spring salad, Entree was a choice wild striped bass which my husband raved about and I tried the Rosemary-Brown Butter Seared Rib Eye melt in your mouth. For Dessert we had Key Lime-White chocolate Tart to die for. The server was polite and professional. The atmosphere sitting outside is the best. The lighting plants etc. A must stop for your taste buds.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonesConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Everything about this restaurant is just delightful, from the setting, to the service, to the food! We chose to sit outside, and were shown to our table in the lovely courtyard. You feel as if you are in your own little private oasis...very romantic! Service was efficient but not invasive. The 3 course tasting menu was fantastic, most notably, the stuffed squash blossom...scrumptious! The wine list was extensive, and the staff very knowledgeable. And on our way out, we were invited in to the kitchen to watch the action. We chose to observe through the window instead, but clearly they are secure in their ability. We are too!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PGP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Monarch also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cafe Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing