We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Good central location, would've been nice to have fridge and microwave. 2 level suite had 2 double beds upstairs and queen sofa bed downstairs. Sunlight shone through window making sleeping in difficult.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear octomama:

We appreciate your business and the compliment. It sounds like you stayed in one of our Bi-level Suites. For your next stay, we do offer lofted (bright and airy) and non-lofted Bi-Level Suite which allow for a closed upstairs bedroom. We hope you stay again and thank you for visiting!

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    475
    259
    102
    79
See reviews for
245
341
80
819
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a room using a discount site. We got a great deal. Really - for Scottsdale.

When we checked in, I heard the clerk ask what kind of room we should get and the other clerk told her the category... which I am assuming is the least desireable. So, not really surprised.

We drove right past the laundry facility to our parking space... and found out the room was upstairs, no elevator. We had to go back and get someone to help us carry our bags up the stairs. I guess I should have known to ask... my partner can not carry heavy bags. The bellman was very nice.

The room was HUGE but a little dated. The bathroom was HUGE. The beds were comfortable enough.
Everything was spotless.
Wifi and cell phone reception was very spotty.
You can hear the laundry going from this room.
Our view was of the parking lot and a large hedge.
There is a shopping center across the street with plenty of restaurants, a salon or two... so you can walk to lots of dining options.

I have a pet peeve with "resort fees" [$24+ per night at this resort] for free local calls [who does that?] and wifi... with all the smart phones - who needs it? It's required. You get a list online of all the amenities, the room rate - and then more $$$ are added to your bill. Why not just raise the rate?

I guess the only problem was the air conditioner which was a window unit. It went on and off constantly and was as loud as a jet plane. At the point when we realized it would be that loud...we were too tired to change rooms. So it's on me that I didn't complain or ask for another room.

SInce we pre-paid, we didn't need to do much to check out, but I dropped the keys at the front desk since they gave us a key to the mini-bar. The desk clerk didn't even look up to acknowlege me.

We didn't eat at the resort, but check out Remington's for the amazing artistry - faux finishes were so gorgeous. I found out the name of the local artist is Rebecca Rush Profeta.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schimmelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear schimmelart:

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the art at Remington’s, it is a true source of pride and your input helps us to continually improve. We sincerely apologize that you had some issues during your stay. We are currently doing several property wide improvements so we do hope you choose to stay with us again and have the opportunity to utilize all of our amenities you are entitled to during your stay.

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a room using a discount site. We got a great deal. Really - for Scottsdale.

When we checked in, I heard the clerk ask what kind of room we should get and the other clerk told her the category... which I am assuming is the least desireable. So, not really surprised.

We drove right past the laundry facility to our parking space... and found out the room was upstairs, no elevator. We had to go back and get someone to help us carry our bags up the stairs. I guess I should have known to ask... my partner can not carry heavy bags. The bellman was very nice.

The room was HUGE but a little dated. The bathroom was HUGE. The beds were comfortable enough.
Everything was spotless.
Wifi and cell phone reception was very spotty.
Our view was of the parking lot and a large hedge.
There is a shopping center across the street with plenty of restaurants, a salon or two... so you can walk to lots of dining options.

I have a pet peeve with "resort fees" [$24+ per night at this resort] for free local calls [who does that?] and wifi... with all the smart phones - who needs it? It's required. You get a list online of all the amenities, the room rate - and then more $$$ are added to your bill. Why not just raise the rate?

I guess the only problem was the air conditioner which was a window unit. It went on and off constantly and was as loud as a jet plane. At the point when we realized it would be that loud...we were too tired to change rooms. So it's on me that I didn't complain or ask for another room.

SInce we pre-paid, we didn't need to do much to check out, but I dropped the keys at the front desk since they gave us a key to the mini-bar. The desk clerk didn't even look up to acknowlege me.

We didn't eat at the resort, but check out Remington's for the amazing artistry - faux finishes were so gorgeous. I found out the name of the local artist is Rebecca Rush Profeta.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a view of the resort...not close to the laundry facility [you can hear it] and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friendlygal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear friendlygal_13:

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the art at Remington’s, it is a true source of pride and your input helps us to continually improve. We sincerely apologize that you had some issues during your stay. We are currently doing several property wide improvements so we do hope you choose to stay with us again and have the opportunity to utilize all of our amenities you are entitled to during your stay.

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My third visit and no disappointments yet. Lovely grounds, nice pool area, good food and drinks. Hertz onsite if you want to venture out to wonderful restaurants or drive to sporting events, golf, shopping, etc. Very large property but golf cart accommodations to and from your room if necessary.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Karen S:

We are pleased that you enjoy your stays and continue to visit us! Thank you for being a part of The Scottsdale Plaza Resort Family and thank you for your kind words. See you next time!

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My daughter's wedding was last weekend in Scottsdale. The brides family is from the Tucson and Utah so we had many guests coming in from out of town. Our wedding planner reserved a block of rooms for our wedding party at Scottsdale Plaza. They were wonderful! They upgraded our room upon checking in which gave us a much larger room in which to host the groomsmen so they could get ready for the wedding. I was able to have the wedding planner as well as some vendors have access to our room so it became "wedding central" All of my guests and family love the facilities and the gracious way they were treated. They arranged for the wedding party to be located close together which made everything easier. Thank you Scottsdale Plaza!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Marianne B:

First of all, let us extend our congratulations to the new bride and groom. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your celebration and memories. Also, thank you for the kind words. Weddings can be busy and stressful and pleases us to hear it went well for you and your group.

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very nice grounds. Like that there were several pools on the grounds. Nice nearby neighborhood to go for a run and easy to get to shopping and Camelback mountain by car. Rooms could need a little facelift but overall good food, and nice location!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lornyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Lornyk:

We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We love to hear that our guest take advantage of the beautiful surroundings Scottsdale has to offer! Hiking Camelback Mountain is breath taking. Also, we are in the process of several property wide renovations and would love for you to experience them next time you stay.

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
183 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We visited as a family in February 2014 and had a number of problems that unfortunately were not remedied. However, when we asked to talk to a manager, he got right on making things right, followed up with calls and texts, and offered us a wonderful two-level suite at a highly discounted price on our next visit to Scottsdale. The second trip was perfect, the accommodations were lovely except for no fridge or microwave, but the second visit more than made up for our first negative experience!!

Room Tip: There are TONS of suites and casitas... in lower season, make sure to ask for an upgrade to one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Naomi D:

We are very glad to hear you were pleased with your second stay. We are dedicated to providing a superlative guest experience and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to make things right. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
1.8 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,605 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
2.1 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#29 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,807 reviews
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Property: Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Address: 7200 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85253-3699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#36 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#43 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scottsdale Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Old West Meets the New Guests arriving at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort find an oasis of tranquility that evokes a sense of home while capturing the essence of Arizona. Graceful Spanish Mediterranean architecture and décor create a cozy, private estancia-style feel. Warm desert breezes and views of Camelback Mountain in the distance settle the pulse. Nearby Cave Creek offers a glimpse into the life of the old west while James Beard award winning Chefs are crafting new specialties in Scottsdale and Phoenix. A Room for Every Lifestyle The Scottsdale Plaza's five distinctive room, suite and lodge options are arranged in intimate clusters that allow for quiet and privacy. Options ranging from larger-than-standard, deluxe guest rooms to beautifully appointed, residence-style lodges and suites and an extraordinary Presidential Suite, we have the perfect room for family vacations, romantic getaways and corporate groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scottsdale Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Plaza Hotel Paradise Valley
Scottsdale Plaza Resort Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing