We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite the Kimpton service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scott Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed her for 4 nights, during some beautiful weather. The pool is beautiful and there are so many places to sit and enjoy the shade or sun. Having water readily available is also a nice touch.
Wine hour is such a nice treat and the outdoor fire pit areas are perfect to enjoy the evenings and sunsets.
We always try to stay at a Kimpton when traveling to the USA as we enjoy the exceptional service we always receive. Unfortunately, this particular trip just didn't meet my expectations. I had stayed at this location several years ago and enjoyed it enough to come back with friends, but I'd say it is starting to feel a little worn down. The front desk staff were average...when I asked for a paper on day 2, I was asked if I was a loyalty member, which I replied yes, and was told to go online to fix my request myself by updating my profile. I never did receive a paper. The front door staff were ok...I requested a cab to be available at a certain time to only encounter more incivility.
These are really only minor problems that I am sure this hotel can resolve, and it didn't take away from my very relaxing trip. I was mostly embarrassed for the hotel, as I had told my friends what a great place it was and how amazing Kimptons are.
This hotel is in an excellent location, has bicycles for guest use (which is perfect) and the onsite restaurant is fantastic. I'd say we received the best service from the staff at the Taggia Restaurant.
The loyalty program I think is wasted on us, as we only stay at 1-2 Kimptons a year and never seem to get the additional perks that come with it.

Room Tip: Request a courtyard or pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplecat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

I appreciate your feedback and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations! This is surprising and embarrassing to me, as my staff normally excels in customer service. I will be sure to look into what happened and conduct retraining where needed. Again, I hope you give us another chance, we would love to have you back! Again, my apology to you.
Cheryl
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,868 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here with our 14 year old granddaughter and loved it. We had a relaxing time. There is a free shuttle to the mall which was great. The beds are comfy and the rooms clean. We will definitely be returning. Our granddaughter felt pampered here. Its smaller and more intimate than the larger more expensive resorts and we liked that better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for the review. Great to hear that you and your granddaughter enjoyed the FireSky and our amenitities! Our boutique resort is quite special and I am happy that you felt our pampering! Our goal is to get you in the door once, then your memories take over and you plan a trip back to us.

Cheryl
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We used this hotel for our wedding guests and it worked out great. The resort is ideally located two blocks north of Scottsdale Fashion Square, the Waterfront restaurants and the Old Town shops & restaurants. The hotel also has two complimentary SUVs that will take you anywhere within a three mile radius for just tips - which we utilized many times throughout the weekend. Our guests loved the swimming pools and especially the sandy beach pool. We would like to give a special shout out to Sarah Schmutz in sales and Ryan Nelly in reservations for being so great and helpful this year while we continually added rooms to our wedding block and guests made reservations etc. They are both so pleasant and easy to work with. Sarah went above and beyond for us and really helped make our wedding day extra perfect :) I also wanted to mention Jessica at the Front Desk because her huge smile and helpful nature was extremely appreciated. Thank you all!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aleks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

I am so happy to hear that you and your guests had a blast celebrating such a special occasion with us! Jessica, Sarah and Ryan are all great people and I will be sure to recognize them in our staff meeting today! THEY make the difference! Come back and see us again!
Thank you,
Cheryl
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We booked our stay through expedia and were handed a room wheelchair accessible room overlooking a dumpster upon checkin. When we asked about moving they said we would have to pay more to move to the 500 block. We agreed but it was quite clear that we were second class guests during this stay. The hotel staff was friendly, the wine reception is nice and our new room is way better. The lobby is the nicest feature of the property. This is a tired resort that is showing it's 50 years of service. Might suggest the jw marriot if you are going to spend this type of money per night.

Room Tip: Stay out of anything in the 200 and 300 block of this property facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for the review. My sincere apology if anyone made you feel like a second class guest. That is not my goal and we are normally so much better than how you felt. We will match online rates so next time, just give us a call at the resort and we can confirm what rates you are seeing and you can book direct with us so you know what type of room you are reserving. I appreciate your feedback.
Warm Regards,
Cheryl
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was our second trip this year. Had our Anniversary there this May, and took our friends for Birthday, and we had the best time. From booking our reservation with Ryan, to Gary the valet and meeting Cheryl (GM) while I was walking the grounds, everyone was fantastic. This is a very relaxing resort with impeccable attention to detail. The grounds are beautiful, and we loved sitting by the fire Pitts at the end of our night. Very close to shopping, old scottsdale and great restaurants, you will not be disappointed, you can't find a better place to stay, it has it all!
We. Will defiantly be back.

Thanks again everyone at the Firesky.

Room Tip: We like 2nd floor, anywhere with a court yard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2JRs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

What can I say, but Thank You! Make sure you stop by and say hi on your next visit! Really appreciate the wonderful review!
Cheryl
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights during the 2nd week of September 2013. Staff was very helpful and friendly including the very patient concierge. It has a unique internal design of the lobby, with the rooms buildings around the swimming pool. The room was nice and clean, close to the swimming pool and the lobby. The restaurant was excellent. The shuttle service was very helpful. Interesting diversity of guests, young couples, families, business men

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the nice swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolZeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thanks for the review! I am happy to read that you had a "great experience". Plan another trip back soon, the weather is getting absolutely gorgeous while the rest of the country is preparing for winter. HIgh of 86 today.
Cheryl
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I had been here once before for lunch and enjoyed the setting and the food was delicious. so when I was trying to find a place to take sister for a fun place to stay not too far from home, I thought of Firesky. Check in and out were effortless. We enjoyed the wine reception. The room was spacious and clean. Attention to detail was nice. My one concern was the fact that we missed breakfast in the morning. Apparently no food beween certain hours. Staff, however, have a free shuttle service into Scottsdale, so we went to a breakfast place recommended by the hotel staff. Hotel staff were gracious and helpful.The grounds were beautiul--walking through a well-tended park. We both enjoyed the spa. I am looking forward to my next visit here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thanks fellow Phoenician! Appreciate the nice review and so happy to hear you choose us for your Staycations! The weather is absolute PERFECTION right now! Sunny and 84!
Cheryl
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
3.9 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,498 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,693 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#35 of 75 in Scottsdale
271 reviews
2.1 mi away
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
#17 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scott Resort & Spa

Address: 4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7610 (Formerly FireSky Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#28 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £134 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scott Resort & Spa (formerly FireSky Resort) is truly an oasis in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. This luxury boutique hotel is remarkable for its La Vidorra Spa, unbeatable location, exceptional service, sumptuous amenities, and Cuban-inspired dining at The Canal Club, Bar and Pool Bar. The area boasts more than 250 golf courses, the Scottsdale Fashion Square, Waterfront district, Phoenix Art Museum, Taliesen West - the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture and nearby Sedona and Salt River Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Scott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firesky Resort And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Firesky Hotel Kimpton
Firesky Resort Kimpton
The Scott Resort & Spa Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing